Image of Melia Cayo Guillermo Hotel

Melia Cayo Guillermo Hotel

4 of 4 hotels in Cayo Guillermo

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
4 stars
Jardines del Rey, Cayo Guillermo, Cuba
Situated on the idyllic Cuban island of Cayo Guillermo, this is a wonderful tropical getaway. Sway lazily in your hammock, sample the fine food and enjoy the stunning sea views.

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the melia Cayo Gulliermo for 2 weeks, we had a great time the room was very clean, it was not 5 star but hey this is cuba, you could always find something to eat and they had 3 restaurants which you had to book for the evening the best one was the international. The staff were amazing nothing to much trouble for them and they always had a smile on their face they worked very hard and long hours. The beach was great it was tidal so sometimes had seaweed on it but it was quickly cleaned up. Pool was great and the pool bar even better.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cooke

Recommended
Helen Minett
10 years 9 months ago
I had also heard some bed reviews for this hotel which i can only put down to the hotel next door been called the sol cayo guillermo melia....

this was the most perfect holiday that i have ever been on and i would not hesistate to go back.

the food was really nice with a very extencisive choice of food which for breakfast you can have food cooked in front of you or choose from the buffet section. Lunch was either an italian with fantatic pizza's and aa bbq beach hut. toasties are availble all day and pizza after midnight, there was 2 al a carte restaurants for evening meal and a very extensive buffet restaurant for evening meal, you could never get board of the food and all are catered for.

This hotel is unbeliveable clean, you can get a bus to the other hotles in this group and use their facilities which is good, but this just brings it home how clean this hotel is, the staff work really hard to keep all areas really clean.

This island is purely 4 hotels you can not walk anywhere and it is a long drive to the mainland. We went on a trip to the mainland which was fantastic. The beach and the jetty outside this hotel is propably the best on the island, if you dont mind been out in the sticks its perfect.

WOW...We fell in love with the staff, they made our holiday a dream, from gardeners to cleaners waiters and entainers were just lovely and cared so much that you enjoyed yourself, they loved our baby and as we got married there they made it perfect, i would reccomend it as a wedding destination to any one.

Entertainment was excellent trough the day in the evening it was to short it was very good but they dont seem to be given enough money to use on improving the equipment but it was very very good for the low budget they clearly had, Astar, and disco after till 2 and then 24 hour bar, the entertainers also take you to other hotels for disco nights which are well worth a go.

I would love to go back and we will be doing in a few years.

Also this is a very poor country and the workers really appreciate pencil, pens paper crayon and other bits that cost very little to us, we took some of these things and it made them so happy (and you get even better service)

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Mrs Greet
11 years 5 months ago
We arrived at this hotel after an 11hr flight and we were made so welcome on arrival.

We had 2 rooms our kids stayed in 1 room and we stayed next door in another room. The rooms were very clean but my kid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Johnson
11 years 9 months ago
Hotel room on arrival smelt damp and had a leaking pipe in ceiling, were told it was repaired but when we realized it wasn't upon complaining were told the problem couldn't be fixed and was told we could change rooms, which we did.

Hotel cleanliness was fair but the poolside toilets and toilets beside entertainment were smelly and we tried to avoid them.

Hotel is set on beach but have a little walk to get a cold drink sometimes the waiters came to the beach to serve cold drinks, but not all day.

Some of the staff were very friendly but not all, some of them seen you waiting but just took there time before coming coming to serve you.

Lobby bar had someone playing a piano some nights, but was very warm inside with no air conditioning or fans.

Entertainment during the day was fine but at night-time there was a house band on some nights for about an hour the evening shows were mimed musicals which were a bit repetitive but the hall was very hot with no air conditioning which made it uncomfortable.

The food was adequate but lacked variation.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Firstchoice

12 years 3 months ago
I went to the melia guillermo on 01.03.2006. I had read a mixture of reviews and went with an open mind. The hotel is on a beautiful beach but is very narrow until the tide goes out. The beach is about 5 minutes walk to the nearest bar where you are given very small cups- therefore i recommend as we did take large plastic cups with you to use so you don't have to do loads of trips. The pool was never cleaned and was always very cold as was the whirlpool. Beach towels are included in this hotel which can be changed daily so do not need to take your own.

The rooms are spacious, clean and tidy daily maid service . The hairdryer is not great so advise to take your own plenty of electric sockets to use. Safe in room with no charge use the key to your room to activate. Great air conditioning and large balcony quite safe for kids. Water pressure and hot water plentyful. If you want your towels changed leave in the bath and they will be replaced.

Food- there is the main buffet restaurant which has a vast selection- breakfast bacon eggs, omlettes toast fresh bread ceral fresh fruit. luch and eveing meal loads to choose from soup, salads buffet selection of vegetarian and meat options and also a grill where you can choose to have meats cooked in front of you but sometimes have to queue for sometime for this. There is an Italian restaurant which you can for lunch have pasta or pizza which is waitress service, and also get take away pizzas at lunch this restaurant is pre bookable at night 1 reservation per week but has the same menu as lunchtime. The other pre bookable restaurant is the laguna- seafood 5 course meal and must !!The bars are great no wait to get served.


Tipping- it is reinforced at your welcome meeting how poor these people are and are greatful for anything- however we found that it was expected to give a tip everytime and the staff try it on with new arrivals. Don't feel intimidated we tipped for good service and tipped at the end of our holiday. Also take out american dolars as cuba has a closed currency and you will get more for your money.

The entertainment was limited in the day and a show for 3/4 hour in the eveing but you don't go to Cuba for entertainment.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Martine
12 years 10 months ago
I was at the Melia Cayo Guillermo, in Cuba, from July 31st to August 7th 2005, and I wish to make you aware of my experience. This was also communicated by written form to the Director of this hotel on the day of my departure.

My experience at Melia Cayo Guillermo clearly shows that there is a big problem at the management of this hotel.

Before my arrival, I have paid a considerable sum of money in order to reserve a room with an ocean view. At my arrival at the hotel, employees at the reception gave me room no 1307 and confirmed that there was an ocean view, as requested, and that there was 2 beds in the room. It was not true.

I came back to the reception saying that there was no ocean view and that I wanted to get another room. They requested that I come back on the next morning at nine o
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Air Transat

DE
13 years 1 month ago
This hotel is in a gorgeous location (although another 40 minutes further from the airport than the Cayo hotels). The beach is the nicest of the hotels at Cayo Guillermo and the gardens the biggest and most developed. The gardeners are out every day watering and dead-heading and the beach is also cleaned every day.

After eating in restaurants in Havana, we had an understanding of how limited and expensive food can be in Cuba if it has been imported. However the hotel provides a wide variety of choices, including popular stuff like chips and pizza. If you eat the locally sourced food the quality is actually better -and there is lots more choice of e.g. seafood and fruit. In either case at any meal you can always get food freshly cooked as you watch, in the way you want, which was great.

As for entertainment, the nightly show was good, but nearly always dance-based. The disco was disappointing because the DJ didn't have much choice of music. But at least it was air-conditioned and didn't disturb us when we didn't go, even though our room was close-by.

Finally the staff were great. All of them.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
rum
13 years 8 months ago
We had a wonderful holiday at the Melia Cayo Guillermo.,

The staff were exceptionally friendly, even the staff who maintained the gardens would always say hello to you!

Good variety of food, especially the sweets!!!!!

The entertainment staff were wonderful, very hard working,

The beach party is a night not to be missed, lots of fun.

Rooms good size and clean. Can't wait to go back!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Sarah And Alex
13 years 10 months ago
The hotel was poor by any standards! There was no air con in the main lobby so don't think having a drink in the evening will be enjoyable.

Our room was smelly and the bed felt damp to the touch. On complaning to reception about this, and the fact we had been placed above the entertainment area, which was awful and noisey, we were moved to an equivelent room on the other side of the complex (above the dinning are - just as noisey).

On booking this holiday - which by the way was our Honeymoon, we were also told we would be up-graded to a sea view room, flowers on arrival and fruit in the room.

Well give them credit we were given a tatty basket with a couple of apples in it!! They also advertise a gym - don't bother trying it, most of the equipment is broken or the wiring is hanging out and you wouldn't want to risk it.

Breakfast good, but every other meal bad, including the snack bar. Hotel staff good IF you tipped - but spoke no English.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Helen
14 years ago
We stayed in the Melia Cayo Guillermo. The rooms were very clean - we stayed in 2 as we went on the 3 day excursion to Havana. The food was good, plenty of choice so even if you didn't like one thing, there was plenty more to choose from. The location was very quiet - something which I was a little concerned about before we went as I'm 26. I needn't have worried, it was wonderful. The staff were fantastic, especailly the entertainment staff. They went out of their way to be nice and made us feel extremely welcome. There was a show every night at 10 - some shows were better than others. The dancers were excellent. We are going back in January 2005, that's how good it was.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum