Image of Iberostar Varadero Hotel

Iberostar Varadero Hotel

3 of 25 hotels in Varadero

5 out of 5 from 8 reviews
5 stars
Varadero, Cuba

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Puddleduck2
8 years ago
From the moment you check in to the moment you check out the staff are what make this hotel truly wonderful. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, they make you feel like you really matter.
The hotel is spotless - there are staff working around the grounds at all times of the day. The maids do a great job, the animacion teams work long and hard and the "star friends" do a great job of hosting the daily activities from water polo to dancing lessons - if you have a mind to there is something here to keep you occupied from dawn until dusk.
You can eat and drink more or less 24 hours here. There are various places to eat throughout the day. There are various snack bars, a beach grill (great burgers) and buffet restaurants. There are also 3 a la carte places -
Cuban - good portion sizes but the place is so hot as it's all open air and there is no through-breeze.
Mediterranean- smaller portions but wine perfectly chilled and service good
Japanese - great fun, plenty of food but drinks service very slow - we had to ask 3 times for another glass of wine.
The pools are lovely - the main one is where all the main activities take place during the day such as water aerobics and daft games etc. The pool bar is also located here. There's also another pool that's quieter and only used for water polo twice per day. Finally there is an adult only pool by the gym that's small and extremely quiet.
There's a gym and spa - both well equipped and air conditioned. Tennis courts, archery etc. too.
The beach, although not very wide is really soft and the sea so warm.
There's an air conditioned night club too.
Our room itself was well appointed with the all important air conditioning unit. There is also a safe, iron and ironing board and mini bar (only beer and soft drinks). The bathroom is a decent size with a separate shower cubicle. It was our wedding anniversary and they left a bottle of fizz in the room to welcome which was a nice touch.
I can't recommend this place highly enough - we stayed here as a part of a 7 night tour, 7 night beach stay booked with First Choice and it was just the chill out place we needed after a week on the road.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
MarkJ HT Mod
8 years 1 month ago
Described as the best 5 star hotel in Varadero Cuba, we have just returned from spending 14 nights at this hotel.

ACCOMMODATION
=============
We stayed in the normal catagory room which is spacious, clean and comfortable. Ample room for storage, mini fridge (filled every day) provided, iron and ironing board, bath with seperate shower cubicle.

CENTRAL FACILITIES
==================
All kept spotlessly clean. Three pools, direct access to beach, pool bar, lobby bar, cigar bar, 2 beach bars , a pool swim up bar and a disco providing all inclusive drinks (international top shelf brands) with waiter service throughout. Three a-la-carte restaurants (1 Cuban, 1 Medediterrean and 1 Japanese), one buffet restaurant plus one beach snack bar all providing a large choice of food of good quality.

STAFF
=====
Other than the staff at the swimp up pool bar which we found to be rude, all other staff were very friendly and acommodating. Service is second to none. Never had to wait too long for a drink. A special mention to the Star Friends team of entertainers that work tiresly through the day and evening to provide entertainment if you wished to participate in it.

ENTERTAINMENT
=============
Plenty to do during the day. Volleybal, archery, shooting, numerous games provided by the entertainment team. Evening entertainment was varied (we've never seen the same show twice during our 14 days) and of very high standard.

CAVEATS
=======
Whilst there were enough sun loungers provided, prime shaded positions needed to be reserved early in the morning. The dreaded "towelling" problem is unfortunately very prevalent at the Iberostar Varadero. Watch the prices at the hotel shops. Very expensive and you're better off going off the resort to make purchases.

Overall, one of our better holidays and we will definately be returning back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Viv Jackson
9 years 5 months ago
We stayed at the Iberostar Varadero, and we found it to be a fantastic hotel. The hotel and grounds were spotlessly clean. The food was also very good, the Japanese and Med restraunt were particularly good. Varadero is a tourist resort so there is not much to do outside of the hotel, but the trips were all very good. The staff, from maids, waiters, bar staff and entertainment staff were all very good and could not do enough for you. In particular the entertainment staff during the day and night were excellent and put so much time and efford into everything they do. The Cuban people are some of the nicest we have ever met, and we have travelled all around the Carribean. Most of them are also very intelligent, they are teachers or students still at University, trying to make a decent living. We are going back this year.

Havana is a must, we went on the 2 day visit. The Tropicana night club is also worth going to, don't think there is anything like this anywhere else. The catermeran and jeep safari's are also good value.

We met some of the nicest people from all over the world at this resort and we can't wait to go back and see our Cuban friends.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Don't really know where to start with this review as the place is faultless.
We were first time visitors to Cuba and we were not disapointed.
On arrival (after 3 days in Havana)we was greeted by friendly staff, given a cold, much needed, drink and a chocolate. we was offered a lift to our room but decided to walk while our bags were taken to our room.
We was in block 16 and faced the lake with a side view of the sea which is found just behind the block. The blocks are only 2 storys high and painted in different colours. The room was huge, spotlessly clean and fantastic air con (very much needed). The bathroom is big with a bath with a shower, and a seperate shower cubicle. The toilet and bidet are in a seperate area of the bathroom. Plenty of towels provided and changed daily. You also have a card that lets you get a pool towel which you just change whenever you want to. Very large balcony with a table and 2 chairs and little place to hang your wet costumes. In the info given by the hotel you are asked not to hang towels over the balcony and I must say it is lovely not to see towels hanging everywhere.
The food is fantastic. Loads of choice and I'm sure even the fussiest of eaters will have plenty of choice. For breakfast eggs are cooked for you as you want them, and the omelettes are great. There are pancakes, pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, and the usual bacon etc for those who want a 'full english'. A choice of bread and rolls.As much juice as you can drink and smoothies made fresh. The staff will get you coffee and fill your cup often. Tea is also avaliable and perfectly ok.
Food is served all day in different places, from burgers to chicken, pasta, pizza etc.
The evening meal is everybit as good as breakfast. Loads of choice. salads, pizza, pasta. Different meats, veg, and some things are cooked as required, steak etc.A huge choice of deserts from ice cream to pastries, cakes and fruit.
The beach is very narrow in places and we saw sunbeds nearly on top of each other, and when you walk passed them you have to walk in the sea. But just walk along the beach for a bit and it widens and there is loads of space. If you are in blocks at the back there is a path that leads directly onto the beach and you will be amazed at what you see when you walk through. It looks like something from a magazine !!.
We only used the pool once as we both love the beach, but there was plenty of beds and loads of room as the pool is huge, with a swim up bar. A very small moan is that there is not much shade on the beach and a few more sunshades would be great as the ones there get taken very early. The sea is warm, crystal clear and calm. Very shallow for quite a way out so safe for little ones and non swimmers.
We only saw a little entertainment as it was too hot to sit and watch it. It did seem very repetative, and just looked as if only the costumes changed not the format. Saying this the entertainment team work so hard its a shame to critisise them.
There is lots going on during the day, but no pressure to join in anything.
There are 3 themed restaurants, Cuban, Mediterranean and Japanese. you can eat in these once a week during your stay and they need to be booked.
The staff are fantastic, polite, and helpful. I needed to see the doctor (only a minor thing) and I was given a through check up (more than I get back home ).I feel I could go on and on about this hotel and it would be all good.
First Choice reps were helpful, booked the catamaran trip, well worth the money. And there was lots of trips to do.
Not a holiday for shoppers as there are no shops nearby,just a couple in the hotel. Went to the local flea market, usual tourist stuff, but worth a visit. Locals let you look without bothering you.
The staff appreciate any little gifts you give them. we also left some clothes, flip flops, toiletries etc behind when we left.
Please visit, the Cubans are fantastic people, they love a chat and are friendly and well mannered.
What did strike us about this hotel was how quiet it was. even though it was full and there was lots of children the place has a quiet feel about it, the same with the beach. I hope to visit again one day, but the world is a big place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Ian
9 years 11 months ago
This is a very well run hotel which fully deserves it's high rating.
Do yourself a favour and book it - you won't regret it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Voyager

Recommended
Dennis
10 years ago
Found the whole experience first class especially given the restrictions on the Cuban economy. Basically I would give this hotel and service very high marks if based in Europe / USA.

We were able to immediately change our room from ground to first floor on arriving. Rooms large but mostly 2 large separate beds. Newly Weds get the Doubles!!

Room cleaned daily though sometimes late afternoon.

Located close to the beach, bit narrow, but warm sea and clean sand. Clears at lunch time so can get a better position.

All staff approachable and I wished I could speak better Spanish. They work hard 6 days a week apparently. We gave our spare cash to the resturant staff. Beware, little food availablity very early on so when doing a tour hunt out your breakfast...

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice Airways

Recommended
Dave And Nicky
10 years 8 months ago
What an outstanding hotel this is. I really and truly cannot think of one complaint, excellent variety of delicious foods and drinks, clean and well maintained, in both the rooms and grounds. Polite and hard working staff, nothing is too much trouble. As for the entertainment, it was thourougly enjoyable, varied and well staged. Would I visit this hotel again, in a shot!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
13 years 1 month ago
Lovely hotel, would highly recommend. We visited this for our honeymoon and had a great time. The hotel only opened just over a year ago, so everything is lovely and brand new. The hotel is split into several blocks most of which are located round a large pond. On arrival we were met by a porter who took us to our rooms on a golf buggy. The room was large with a Kingsize bed and they had left us champagne and fruit. There is a TV, Iron & Board, a Safe which is free and a mini bar which is stocked with beer, juice and water.
The bathrooms are very large - the toilet is in a separate room. There is a bath and a separate shower cubicle.
It is air-conditioned throughout.

The hotel is right on the beach there is also a large pool,pool bar, beach bar, snack bar, lounge bar, buffet restaurant, cuban restaurant, mediteranian resturant and japanese restaurant . There is also a gym.
All the restaurants are lovely, never had a bad meal, you have to reserve the speciality restaurants but we never had a problem. At lunch time the buffet restaurant is open and the cuban restaurant also serves light snacks. The main buffet was great with all meats, salads, pastas, pizza and lots of fish.
The staff throughtout the hotel were very helpful and friendly.
As this was fairly new when we visisted I can only expect it will get better. Can't wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum