Image of Sandals Royal Hicacos Resort & Spa

Sandals Royal Hicacos Resort & Spa

12 of 25 hotels in Varadero

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
5 stars
Carretera Las Morlas Km. 15 Varadero, Cuba,, Cuba

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 3 months ago
Having recently returned from Hicacos a few days ago following a two week break (last week in Nov/first week in Dec)I thought I'd post a report...

Sara and I were returning for our second visit, having got married there 5 years previously

Anyway, how are things 5 years later?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Nat & Craig
10 years 1 month ago
We travelled here on Honeymoon and would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Could not fault the food, so much choice for every meal. Staff bent over backwards to please you.

Room spotless and clean.

One thing to mention, the Hotels in Cuba are slightly lower in standard than some hotels in the Carribean, and all hotels are owned by cuban government so the Hotel might not be exactly the same level as another hotel in the group.

Weather red hot 28-30 degrees most days, couple of cloudy days but it is their winter.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mark
11 years 9 months ago
After reading the two reviews below, I just had to supply an updated review as it appears that things have changed.

Went on a very last minute deal for 2 weeks at the begining of May. When we were there, we found out that it was "rainy" season and it only rained the once all day. Hotel was at about 40% - 50% occupancy.

We were allocated a room with mini-bar that was checked every day, but only restocked when almost empty. The room was in great decorative order and the maid service was better than excellent - flowers and towel animals left on the bed every day, goodbye letter and a CD of Cuban music to ermind us of Cuba. Maybe a standard issue to everybody, but it is a very nice touch from the maids

The resturants seems to have picked up a lot - the food always seemed fresh, well cooked and varied. We never had to wait to be seated and the resturants were never crowded.

The staff was fantastic and always very helpful. We even had a gardener talking to us about the finer points of chess in English!

The only thing to grumble about was that the beach is a little on the "thin" side and I would expect that it is very crowded during high season.

The pool area was large and I saw cleaners going round emptying the bins and picking up glasses almost on an hourly basis.

This is one place that I would recommend to anyone who just wants to chill out and relax.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Kate
12 years 9 months ago
Hotel cleanliness was fine. Room cleaned daily. However, although as a honeymoon couple we were entitled to daily minibar (alcohol)refills we had to continuously complain to management this was not happening. On our 8th (out of 10)day this was rectified. There were insects in our decantors. Food was absolutely atrocious - we were horrified by food hygiene standards. Restaurants were often closed without notice. Long queues to be seated at the ones which were open.Poor variety of food. Menu remained unchanged for 10 days.Some staff pleasant other begged us for money and hassled for tips, sun glasses, our clothes. Security guards asked us for sunlotion and money. Entertainment occasionally good but don't go low season. Never ever would we visit again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

Franek
12 years 9 months ago
Room cleaned on a daily bases.

If I could score the food at zero I would. No variety with the menu, same dishes day in day out, dishes were often unavailable & the food that was served rarely resembled the discription on the menu, portions were ridicously small, ingredients basic, bland and on many occasions just plain inedible.

Location was good for beach, but outside the resort very little to keep you occupied. Three hour drive from airport.

Bar staff excellent (only good thing about the resort) Waiting staff generally looked fed up, security staff always expecting a tip for no reason, and the majority of the management staff, when you can find them, were apathetic, (in some cases rude) & did not really seem interested.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin

13 years 3 months ago
Stayed there Nov/Dec 2004. Got married on dec 1st.

Couldn't fault Sandals in any way, they did all that they promised - and then some more!!

Cleanliness, first rate - the cleaners are around the public areas from early morning until late in the evening, the maid did our room late morning, with a special surprise on our wedding day!

Food great, even at the buffet, but remember that they have difficulties getting some supplies from time to time, so be a little understanding if there isn't lettuce or certain fruit juices at times...

Location, great, the beach is endless and slopes gently away into the sea, resort only about 45 mins transfer from Varaderro airport, much longer from Holguin.

Staff, so friendly!, but please remember your manners, it's por favor and gracias, not gimme.....

Entertainment, not great, even verging on the tacky at times, but it's what you make of it....Disco can be better with more people in, but they'll play whatever you want.

We would definately go again, but remember that although this is a Sandals resort, it is the cheapest in the group and those of you that have stayed at others may be slightly disappointed...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mr Shaun Shergold
13 years 7 months ago
Royal Hicacos Sandals in Cuba. Hotel and bedrooms were very nice and clean except for the mosquitos.

It had a lovely large swimming pool and a few spa pools. There was daily water sport entertainment and an evening show. However found most bar staff not to be helpful at all and behaviour was awful almost to the extent of being rude.

The seafood restaurant served wonderful food and was the best restaurant on site for both food and service which was top class. Unfortunately none of the other 3 restaurants were any good and by the end of two weeks it became difficult to fancy anything to eat therefore overall we rated the food poor.

Swimming with dolphins was not as good as a previous holiday elsewhere - the water was disgusting and dirty.

All in all very disappointed with Sandals.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson Lunn Poly

Debbie
14 years ago
We had our wedding at this hotel last year - the marriage licence was arranged for us before we arrived, we just had a meeting with the wedding co-ordinator to discuss flower colours, music and cake flavour etc. Then carried on with our holiday until the morning of the wedding.

It was so hassle free that it didn't even seem like our wedding day as there was nothing for us to do except remember not to sleep in.

This hotel had only been open a year so everything was fresh and new, there's only one word for the bath - WOW - my hubby and I were able to lie side by side in it and there was still plenty of room.

The maid tidied the room, refilled the fridge and left clean towels everyday.
There are 3 pools (2 small on each side of complex and the big main one in the centre) which were lovely or you can sunbathe on one of the most stunning beaches I have ever seen.

The food was stunning - the main buffet restaurant had such a huge choice that even fussy eaters like myself couldn't complain. There's also 4 ala carte restaurants (usually needed to book a couple of days in advance, but there wasn't any extra charge for eating in them)

There's also quite a few bars and all drinks are included in the package (you can even get bottles of champagne over the bar) and a nightclub which we only went in once as we were usually tucked up in bed by 11pm after all that fresh air.

There was good entertainment too - there was a quiz by the pool in the afternoons, dancing lessons, volleyball matches, there was a singer on the outside stage each night, usually something happening in the nightclub too or you could just relax in the piano bar.

The trips were great value too - we went to Havana for the day which included a tour of the city and 3 course lunch for approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum