Image of Breezes Puerto Plata Resort Spa & Casino

Breezes Puerto Plata Resort Spa & Casino

2 of 2 hotels in Sosua

3 out of 5 from 19 reviews
4 stars
Carretera Cabarete, Cabarete, Dominican Republic

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Laura
9 years 5 months ago
The hotel was clean, The food was below average, thank heavens for pasta, eggs, fruit and french fries. The location was as I expected. Only the serving and housekeeping staff were great, the front desk staff were useless and kept passing the buck to the non-existent supervisor whom I could not speak to. Guest services did not even have a record of my daily complaints that my phone didn't work, and my toilet backed up every night. I was without a phone the entire stay, they replaced it on the third day and it still never worked. The entertainment was low budget grade school caliber. They did not even take my name and address to send an apology.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Nolitours

Ryan And Kaz
9 years 10 months ago
The best places to eat on this resort are the restaurants, jimmys buffet bar has alot of variety but the food is not all that! And beware it is very hard to book the restaurants, so if you dont get a reservation then its jimmys buffet bar, and after a while we went without dinner because we couldnt face jimmys anymore!! (we found the mexican restaurant and the french to be excellent). The cleanliness of the hotel is good, maid service everyday, clean towels etc. My partner used to leave a tip inside our mini bar and the maids used to stock us up with extra water and sprite. You do not need to bring beach towels to this resort because they are all provided.
The location of the resort is a bit naff, you have to take a bus ride to get to the nearest towns and they only run 3 times a day, a taxi to the nearest town cost about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Lauren
10 years 10 months ago
Hotel was spotless.Water in pool was checked 3 - 4 times aday.i was impressed no other hotels i have been too did that.Hotel food, they was a great selection fresh all cooked , fresh refreshing fruits and drinks Your glass of water was never empty.Staff are all friendly not afraid to say hi they all have a conversation and the are not afraid to tell you about their life and culture.Entertainment was amazing you never wanted to take your eyes off the show.The staff made you laugh.Even when it rains you still have fun as the staff entertain you with bingo, having conversations etc.I would definitly go back to the hotel they where quick at fixing problems the rooms where clean constantly.We did have a few problems with the room but we told the services and fixed quickly.The rooms are basic but it dosnt really matter as you just only sleep in them and get ready.Make sure you go on the atv buggies they where amazing you will get dirty so make sure you dont wear WHITE!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Hill
10 years 11 months ago
This hotel on an all inclusive basis is fantastic with plenty of options and always something to eat. Jimmys buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Four a la carte restaurants Italian, Japanese, mexican and french, sadly didnt get chance to eat in the japanese but the rest were great. Beach bar serving snacks 24 hours. All the bars were good too, offering international to local brands.
The hotel grounds were kept very clean and there was always someone either sweeping up leaves, to cleaning pool and regular chemical checks were done on pool too. Rooms very adequate with many extras that i certainly wasnt expecting including hairdryer, iron and ironing board, cable tv. When i did have a problem and phoned guest services they responded very quickly to sort problem and phoned afterwards to make sure everything was ok.
The staff here are very friendly and couldnt do enogh to help us.
Having a 14 year old son there was not a problem, plenty for him to do and the animation team, trapeze guys, dancers etc worked very hard and ensured he had a great time. There was a trapeze, trampoline, rock climbing wall, kids competitions in and out of pool, pool tables and so much more.
I would highly recommend this hotel and was worried after reading some reviews that i had made a mistake, but there was only one thing i could moan about and that was the locals do visit at weekends and it gets a lot busier. Apart from that we had a fantastic holiday and if i return to dominican republic (well there are so many other countries to see) i would definately stay at this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Albert
11 years 3 months ago
At the recommendation of our travel agent we opted for a superior room. Although the room was quite spacious, I do not see why I paid extra. It was old, poorly lit, and needed a fresh coat of paint. We had a huge bed. What they called a bed for my child was actually ugliest hide-a-way I've ever seen.....old, dirty, no sheets, badly rusted.....I refused to let my daughter sleep on it.

Not wanting to appear snobby, we accepted this and had my daughter sleep in our bed....but the bathroom ceiling that leaked whenever the people upstairs showered pushed us over the top. Hats off to the front desk though, they did accomodate us nicely in a new villa the following day. Had this been my first room, I would not have much to say. These rooms are definately not luxurious, but they are kept clean despite the fact they need a major makeover and I found the AC to be very efficient.

The food was OK...not much selection in term of volume, but I found the quality to be pretty good overall...the deserts were actually quite good as everything had its own distinct flavor. If you like fries, the restaurant by the beach has the best..

Location- not a problem...close to the airport. Minutes from Sosua.

The people are very nice...The staff was excellent.

The Miniclub people were outstanding and very dedicated to the kids. Normal hours were from 9-12 and 2-5pm but most days the kids had lunch and supper, then did some type of show at night..so ultimately they were gone 12 hours...talk about a holiday.

Entertainment was home made and OK...it killed an hour if anything before going to bed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Air transat

Ken & Teresa
11 years 9 months ago
Super Club Breezes what can I say? Well lets start by dropping the super and replacing it with dump! This hotel only needs one thing doing to it to improve it. Demolition!

Where do I start we went here for our honeymoon and yes we were given a massive room with a massive bed with sea view but unfortunately for three days no hot water which meant that my new wife was not at all impressed! After three days we were moved to block 10 the so called new block I am not sure when it was new but it looked old and tired but it did have hot water and a hairdryer that worked but it was dangerous ant took 2 days to get repaired!

As for the food that wasn't too bad, yes there are birds in the restaurant but it is open sided and people would insist on feeding them and there were some flies but have you ever eaten outside and not seen flies I think that the people who complain about the food making them ill should look at the drinks they are consuming first.

As for the so called entertainment it seemed to consist of some young people who thought that miming to records and walking about waving their hands in the air was meant to be dancing the rest of it was getting the paying guests on stage to be humiliated for the entertainment of others.

We would not go back here again and would advise others not to go in the first place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Mrs Amor
11 years 10 months ago
Just come back from Breezes and to say I am disappointed would be the understatement of the year. We all went to Jamaica last year and thought we would try another Caribbean place this year, bad move!!!

Before we went we read some reviews and decided to change the holiday but First Choice were less than helpful and wanted up to 12,000 to change a holiday that was already costing both families 8,000. So we thought oh well maybe some people are just being fussy and went with it...please if you never listen to any other review listen to this one.

When we arrived we were given drinks and the lobby toilets were very impressive so we thought yes this looks good. then we found our rooms!!!!! A total nightmare smelly, dirty, damp, no wardrobes holes in the wall, our friends didn't have enough beds. I thought this is a wind up and both my friend and I went to complain I thought I don't live like this at home and I am certainly not living like it here!!! The man at reception was helpful and asked if we could wait 5 mins for the supervisor, when he came we said our fears and that we had read about the first block in reviews and that they were nice, he agreed to give us keys to go and take a look it was block 10 and they were much better. I even had a pool of water on bathroom floor from a broken toilet and it was still better than the last.

My family is a party of 2 adults three children, with the oldest being 14 so he had to have a room of his own I was promised it would be next door as they didn't have interconnecting but it wasn't it was 3 doors away!

The rest of the holiday didn't get much better we are all really ill with food poisoning and the runs, the flies and birds racing to eat your food before you was the most gut wrenching experience I have had. Jimmy's buffet we didn't eat in after first week as I just couldn't face it. My two and five year old have lost weight on this holiday due to lack of kids stuff, granted my five year old is fussy but this was ridiculous. We all eat out twice costing us a fortune but we didn't care because it was in an air con restaurant, stunning food and no flies. It was in Sousa called La Roca, if you do go which I really hope you don't, go there it was fab.

I had to have medical treatment as my back is bad and I will say hotel doc was very nice.

The kids club was a joke and because of boredom as she did nothing with them other than walk them round pool in 100 degree heat they obviously didn't go again, which made things really hard for us parents trying to entertain 5 kids in total.

If someone had offered me tickets home I would have taken them after the first two days. I am not one normally to moan but I am so gutted the holiday wasn't cheap by far and ended up being the worst holiday I have ever had.

The pool was so dirty I again had to complain as I have thrown out all the kids bather's as they turned green and so did they hair. The swim up bar was disgustingly dirty with a rubbish selection of flat pop for the kids.

Every person you spoke to in that hotel had complained and was not happy and couldn't wait to get home. They did sort the pool out the day before we left mind, never mind the expensive bather's we've all left there in the bins!! I could go on all day but I would be here all day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Karen Hunt
11 years 11 months ago
The hotel looked nice from the outside, reception area good, rooms to be desired - and we was put in block 10! There was a damp and musty smell and as there was no doors for your wardrobes/hanging space and no drawers your clothes got slightly damp and musty.

The air-conditioning was noisy and caused brown condensation in my daughter's and son's room. Our balcony door did not lock properly but luckily we had no unwanted visitors although my son had his trainers stolen while he played pool - he decided to play bare-foot! so if you are thinking about coming here keep all your clothes on even when swimming!

Food was ok and edible and yes you will get flies about, Im afraid that nature and that goes for the birds too although they are easier to shoo away.

The entertainment was not to our taste, but some people enjoyed it and you cant please everyone - I personally would liked to have seen more outside and professional acts.

The pool I thought was fab, yes it did get dirty at times - leaves from the bushes and trees (cant) be helped) and cups where others have not bothered to dispose of properly. There are plenty of sunbeds - no shortage there.

The ice-skating rink was never open, when we arrived we was told it was closed for repainting for a couple of days! we never saw it open for the whole 2 weeks we was there.

The location did not appeal to us, it was in the middle of nowhere so there was nowhere else to go for a change of scenery unless you got a cab - we like to walk.

The restaurant staff were brill and so were the ladies that waited on your tables in the lobby bar area in the evenings, some of the bar tenders were friendly and some not (miseries).

Entertainment (although not our taste) staff were friendly and chatty, room staff were good and helpful and so was some of the reception staff while others were unhelpful especially when we reported my sons trainers were stolen.

All in all we expected a fab holiday as it was our first time in the caribbean and was disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Rachael Astin
12 years ago
I visited this hotel in 2003 and everything was excellent.

I returned in June 2006 and the standards have slipped incredibly. The room was grotty, unmaintained and not cleaned at all during my stay. The maid did make the bed everyday but she didn't seem to clean.

The drink and food choice was shocking. There was no fizzy wine and the red and white wine served at the bars was undrinkable. I cannot describe the red wine but the white wine tasted like cooking sherry/vinegar! The wine also came out of a large cooking oil plastic carton!

The food was left standing a long time in Jimmys buffet restaurant with lots of flies and birds flying around them. I had stomach upset for 2 weeks although not bad enough to see a doctor - lets just say I had a lot of 1 minute toilet warnings!

The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. It seemed to get good service you had to leave a tip before you were served or at the beginning of your holiday.

The entertainment in the evening was excellent and the swimming pool was excellent particularly for families. I am afraid these are the only 2 positive things about this hotel. I believe the 4 star rating in the brochure should be reassessed!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Rachael Astin
12 years ago
I visited this hotel in 2003 and everything was excellent.

I returned in June 2006 and the standards have slipped incredibly. The room was grotty, unmaintained and not cleaned at all during my stay. The maid did make the bed everyday but she didn't seem to clean.

The drink and food choice was shocking. There was no fizzy wine and the red and white wine served at the bars was undrinkable. I cannot describe the red wine but the white wine tasted like cooking sherry/vinegar! The wine also came out of a large cooking oil plastic carton!

The food was left standing a long time in Jimmys buffet restaurant with lots of flies and birds flying around them. I had stomach upset for 2 weeks although not bad enough to see a doctor - lets just say I had a lot of 1 minute toilet warnings!

The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. It seemed to get good service you had to leave a tip before you were served or at the beginning of your holiday.

The entertainment in the evening was excellent and the swimming pool was excellent particularly for families. I am afraid these are the only 2 positive things about this hotel. I believe the 4 star rating in the brochure should be reassessed!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
What's nearby