Image of Sosua

Sosua Holidays

3 out of 5 from 22 reviews

Hotels in Sosua, Caribbean

Image of Breezes Puerto Plata Resort Spa & Casino
2 of 2 hotels in Sosua
19 Reviews
Image of Casa Marina Reef Resort
1 of 2 hotels in Sosua
23 Reviews

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Jones
6 years 5 months ago
the resort is nice i carnt complain about that its the way its run on a little as possible shoe sring.one other thing if you got teens with you they will be bored to tears mine asked to go home after 3 days but no flights .prostitution is high here its the main place for it so dont be shocked when girls of all ages ask you for there services.(if going outside)thomas cook realy let us down here and i have been with them for 7 years.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Laura
9 years 5 months ago
The Disco was a big disappointment. The Casino is not run by the resort, apparently it is privately owned and had many machines out of service. The shops onsite gouge you, I paid $8 for a pack of cigars that cost $3 in town. Take the shuttle into town and get the same items for less than half the price they ask. At least we had great weather and came back tanned. I would never recommend this resort to anyone.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Ryan And Kaz
9 years 10 months ago
There was always somebody cleaning something. DR itself ,we think, is a dirty country but the resort itself was generally clean.
The resort entertainment wasnt much, when it rained, and believe me when it rains it rains!! there wasnt anything to do apart from bar football and table tennis, there was a casino there but nobody went in it because nobody ever won anything! we were warned by other holiday makers not to go in the casino because basically you lose your hard earned cash! The spa is nice and friendly and reasonably cheap, we all found that all you do is tip there! although this is your choice to tip or not to tip, you felt mean if you didnt coz everyone tipped, and the more you tipped the better the service you got.
The beach looked lovely but very rarely could you swim in it because it was very rough and the red flags were always out. Basically the DR wasnt for us it wasnt the paradise haven we all imagined, the resort was nice and the staff that worked there were lovely and helpful, if your planning a wedding in the DR then this resort was superb and made our day a very special one
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Sue And Tony
10 years 1 month ago
As previously said. Keep away if you want a relaxing holiday as this is not the palce to visit. Butlins in the sun with club 18/30 included. We thought it was going to be a tropical relaxing resort.(Wrong)!!. Its so very noisy with no peace at all. Why the staff have to shout through mics to tell everyone about games is beyond belief. Then it's also on the beach as well so no rest there. There is another beach which is far better, but the climb down to it from the steps is a workout on its own if you have any walking diffilcultys. We need another holiday to get over this one.Most couples we spoke to had had enough after one week and we soon found out we knew what they meant.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Emma W
11 years ago
The place whire casa marina is situated is sosua. This is a nice little town with a few shops and bars,which you are in as soon as you exit reception, but we only ventured out once to the shops, where they do hassle you a bit, but a firm no sends them packing. If you are buying, definatly haggle, suggest half thir price as he tried to charge me 1000 pasos, which i quickly got down to 500. I would reccommend strongly that you get used to pasos, which at 1st, confused me slightly how many paos were how many pounds, which did nt benefit me as i ended up paying full whack, for suncream, thinking it was cheap! It is not a particularly dangerous place, but as in all froreign countrys just keep your witts about you. Sosua in approx 10 mins transfer from the airport which i was thankful for after a long journey! Sosu is aprox 10 mins from playa dorada also, which had alot of hotels grouped together, as we seen on the way to paradise island, with a shopping plaza and bar situated in the middle of them all. If i came back to the dominican (or when!) i would stay in the casa marina again, or the playa dorada for the simlple reason of rhe plaza and bar. This is my boyfriends second time to the dominican, his 1st staying in the dorada. He said the hotels in sosua ans dorada are of the the same good standard, but the dorada beach is slightly better, but not much, hope this helps?! however, on or quest for a cheap hotel, the casa marina wins.
All in all, would recomend this hotel and would visit again, but would maybe like to visit the dorada also. Great holiday!!!!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Steen
11 years 4 months ago
Only went outside hotel twice do not like being harresed by the locals I know they have to make a living but not nice.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Kayleigh
11 years 4 months ago
The resort was cleaned every morning. The entertainment was amazing espically the shows at night and the disco i went to after the show. The beach was well looked after and also the best part was that they allowed the locals to visit so you had a mixture of tourists and locals. This was easier to learn bout there culture and different places around and the near by places
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Karen Hunt
11 years 11 months ago
Can't report here as we did not venture into the nearby resorts except to get to Ocean World which although expensive was an experience out of this world.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Rachael Astin
12 years ago
The resort was ok - however being All Inclusive I did not really leave the hotel so I cannot really comment.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Mr/Mrs Harris
12 years 1 month ago
Resort close to hotel and appart from shops local to the hotel we didnt go further afield. My husband found the nearby internet cafe very good and inexpensive. We enjoyed the monster truck trip and the catamarran. Be warned you will need high factor suncream although the thomson reps run a sun screen swap system if you need a different factor than you have come with. Very handy as it is quite expensive to buy.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Casa Marina Reef Resort
Casa Marina Reef Resort
Sosua, Caribbean
Not a good experience
Image of Breezes Puerto Plata Resort Spa & Casino
Breezes Puerto Plata Resort Spa & Casino
Sosua, Caribbean
The hotel was clean, The food was below average, t…
Other popular destinations
Image of Playa Dorada
Playa Dorada
Dominican Republic
Image of Puerto Plata
Puerto Plata
Dominican Republic
Image of Varadero
Varadero
Cuba
Image of Punta Cana
Punta Cana
Dominican Republic
Image of Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco
Cuba
Image of Rio San Juan
Rio San Juan
Dominican Republic
Image of Costa Dorada
Costa Dorada
Dominican Republic
Image of Margarita Island
Margarita Island
Caribbean
Image of Montego Bay
Montego Bay
Jamaica