Image of Kolocep Hotel

Kolocep Hotel

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
3 stars
Donje Celo bb, 20221, Koločep, Croatia
Set in a stunning location overlooking woodland and the sea this peaceful hotel is bright and modern with superb watersports facilities. With so much going on choose to spend your day Island hopping, or visit the historic city of Dubrovnik.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
George Delaney
Beautiful Island Not to be missed
2 years 11 months ago
We stayed here on the second week of our cruise and stay holiday during September. This is an excellent location, albeit you need to take a 30 minute boat trip to get to it, but that all just adds to the experience. On arrival on this lovely island you were dropped off at the pier and you make a short 5 minute walk around the bay to the hotel where you are greeted by the hotel staff with cold towels and a refreshing cocktail. Check-in was very quick as most of this is actually done on the boat trip across. We were in our room within 10 minutes of arrival. The hotel had a nice fresh feel throughout and modern decor which also extended to the rooms.

The rooms were spacious, as were the halls and stairways leading to them. Unfortunately the balconies were a bit tight to say the least as they are only big enough to fit 2 chairs and a small table. The room views to the front were of across the bay but the views to the rear are of a hilled garden of not much interest. You might want to request a Seaview if that is your preference.

The reason I have not given this a 5 star is because of the climb to the rooms. It is reasonably steep all the way up and consists of a number of steps so be prepared to sweat a bit under the heat of the sun. The food throughout the hotel was great and there was always plenty choice for everyone. The main restaurant is self service, the other reason I didn't give it 5 star, but there is another 2 restaurants you can use once a week as part of your all inclusive and they are excellent too, but you need to book these the day before at 9am. We tried them both and it was really nice to get some table service.

The staff at the hotel were first class all the time and you're never left waiting anywhere at any time. Hotel facilities were what you would expect from a hotel of this stature. The only downside I felt was the nightlife was a bit quiet as everything is finished, done and dusted by 12pm. We did do a trip to Dubrovnik at night and when we got back even the bars were closed.

We enjoyed our time at the hotel and loved the walks on the island and I would definitely consider going back and doing a bit more island hopping using the regular ferries that stop off numerous times a day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson Holidays

Hotel tip: Request a room with a sea view.

Recommended
Mrs Roche
12 years 11 months ago
Hotel Kolocep was a lovely place to stay it was spotless.

The food was very nice you always found something you would like.

The location of the hotel is stunning and we found the staff pleasant.

I can't say anything about the evening entertainment as we went out in the evenings that's why I have not scored it very well.

I cannot wait to go back there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Pamela Fellows
13 years 7 months ago
The hotel is in a breathtaking location the views are incredible. The room (a single) was basic but clean and had a wonderful sea view. The only down side was the large number of steps I had to lug my cases up.

The staff in the hotel seemed a bit unfriendly at the start of the week, but I think this is more to do with the language barrier than anything else. By the end of the week they were fine. I found the food fine, if you want burger and chips, forget it.

I went on a lot of trips, and to be in time to catch them in Dubrovnik you have to catch the 6.45 ferry across. Sometimes then having to wait an hour for the coach. Mind you once you are up and on the ferry it is wonderful being out at that time in the morning.

The island of Kolocep is beautiful, no traffice apart from the hotel's electric cart. In fact the whole area is stunning and I can't wait to go back.

There were just two evenings when entertainment was provided in the hotel, a Croatian folk group, and a group playing pop music.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Options

Recommended
David
13 years 8 months ago
Very few negative points - the food and the dining area was uninspired (although the buffet offered plenty of choice and everything was perfectly well-prepared), and not all the advertised facilities were available (not that this spoiled our enjoyment in any way).
Our rooms were modern and very clean, with balconies and stunning views across the bay. The staff (particularly in the restaurant and bar) were extremely friendly (they were all eager to make conversation in English) and helpful. The hotel's location couldn't be bettered - adjacent to a sandy beach, with wonderful views from some rooms, the restaurant and the terrace (where meals and drinks could be taken). Our FirstChoice rep was friendly and very helpful, and her local knowledge (she was from Dubrovnik) was invaluable. She informed us of some great excursions without being pushy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FirstChoice

Recommended
Emma
13 years 9 months ago
Kolocep island is lovely but the hotel isn't very good.
The food was average and the dining arrangements weren't conducive to a holiday atmosphere - you have to eat inside at breakfast and dinner times and the buffet arrangement is reminiscent of school dinners or a staff canteen, rather than a restaurant.
The staff were generally unfriendly and unhelpful, with a couple of exceptions.
Our rooms were nice and clean. The pool was fine but we had to pay a miserable pool attendant (about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Options

Lindsey
13 years 10 months ago
The hotel was half board - canteen style with one server wandering around the room taking drink orders (paid for seperately) which usually meant you got your drink at beast half way through your meal. The choice of food was reminiscent of bad school dinners. The food and the attitude of some of the staff was not good.

A lot of facilities first choice advertised were not available (and according to the hotel never had been) making us wonder if First Choice had ever been there (no fridge, no tea/coffee making facilities, no sailing club on the island, little or no water sports).

The island is very nice but very quiet with not many ferries a day that aren't overpriced to get to the mainland. First Choice reps are next to useless - not even telling us that there were religious holidays while we were there meaning that the ferries timetable was vastly changed from advertised.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Mrs. M. Atkinson
13 years 11 months ago
The hotel was spotless. Cleaned every day with clean towels every day. Main area also spotless.The food was very nice with a good selection every night.The hotel is set on the beach with a view that I will remember for the rest of my life. Fabulous!!!The island has a shop, a post office a bar and a restaurant over the other side of the island. The people are friendly and kind .There was music 3 nights a week which was quite enough for the ambience of the place. If you like Tenerife (which I don't) don't go there but if you want a view to die for then do go there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Orla O'Dea
15 years 7 months ago

We booked a week in Dubrovnik through a tour operator and did a number of tours/boat trips during that week. One of the trips took us to Kolocep and we were really impressed by the idyllic setting. It is a tiny island, with just a handful of pubs/restaurants. There are no cars on the island, so it is very peaceful. To my knowledge there is just one hotel on the island, so we decided to spend our second week there. It was really good value, the apartment was clean, modern and spacious and the evening meals were wonderful. There was lots of fish and a good choice to satisfy most tastes.
We had a wonderful stay there but were disappointed when the receptionist made an error with our bill and charged us double the agreed price. When we pointed out the problem, she was extremely rude to us and made no attempt to apologise. This put a bit of a dampener on the holiday. However I would still recommend the place. Just check your bill carefully, making sure you are not confused by the different currency.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum