Image of Grand Resort Hotel

Grand Resort Hotel

25 of 41 hotels in Hurghada

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
5 star? Really?
1 year 3 months ago
The impressive fountains, gardens, palm trees and sheltered seating areas at the front of this hotel promise so much and are indeed very welcoming.

My week in this hotel offered a wide range of experiences, both pleasant and uncomfortable. Events specifically designed for teenagers were non-existent. Although the restaurant was huge and beautifully furnished, the food was limited to rice, beef, gateaux, breads and soups for most of the 'themed' nights. The waiters were very good in making sure our table was never dry, but one or two became weird/sarcastic when we were having our last meal.

The seating areas in the lobby and reception - 'circles' - were very relaxing and afforded us much-needed respite from the super-hot weather. However, I was frequently ignored when ordering drinks outside of the bar area and found myself making frequent trips to the bar to get a drink to take back to my seating area. The Russians, Germans and pretty Western European girls in general seemed to fare quite well in this area of customer service. Quite a surprise. This said I was buoyed by the international atmosphere within the hotel and I spoke freely with a lot of people.

They say that you can judge a hotel by its pool/s. The two pools were amazing, well-managed, safe and with plenty of loungers.

Our room was clean, well furnished, ornate and offered the usual comfort one would expect from 5 Star (!). But if our room-man knocked on our door less than 20 times in one week, I would be lying to you - and for no other reason than to squeeze yet another tip from us. I found the tipping requests throughout the hotel frankly exhausting, if not exasperating during our week.

Finally, it is important to note that this hotel is struggling to hold on to its 5 Star rating. For example fraying towels, poorly washed glasses, slow if non-existent replenishing of cutlery and crockery and dressing of tables in the restaurant, inadequate staffing at the bars, peeling paint. Careful inspection reveals poor hygiene in bar areas, loose tiles beside the pools, indoor fountains rusting and broken, poor lighting around the pools at night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Millington

Recommended
Phil Minns
8 years ago
We got a late deal , so didnt expect to much however the room was ok , had to wait a couple of evenings for the water to warm but no problem. the hotel was costantly being cleaned somewhere are room was done daily however not clean towels every day and sometimes they were still cleaning when you returned for the day 4.00pm or later. the food was repetative as previously mentioned but we managed ok.the waiting and every day staff i found very pushy for a tip even the simplest of things like laying your towel out they hung around in the end you had to turn your back on them so they left,However after speaking to are rep who was Egyptian and embarrased by their actions we found it easier to ignore them and not feel bad about it.The evening entertainment was fine there was something every night to tap your feet to and a very good acrobatic family one evening, We were a/i and found it quicker to get are own drinks as the service is very slow and as previously mentioned the other nationalities did get looked after quicker and better.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: monster.com

Recommended
Shona
8 years 7 months ago
hotel is fine and very clean. Food was very repetitive and geared more for Germans and Russians. We were in a minority in this hotel. Grounds are very well cared for and beach very clean.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: globespan

Recommended
Stacey And Amy
11 years 1 month ago
This hotel is lovely and big it's clean and right near the shops. The beach is at the back of your hotel which is only for the use of our hotel they do volleyball and football on it every day.

The hotel its self is very nice but the food... if you like chicken and rice every day you will love it, for lunch I would say go to the place near the beach it's much better food and lot more choice.

The only down fall about my hoilday is the hotel is full of Germans I would say only 10 % was English. The hotel staff love the Germans.

Beware when you leave the hotel to go shopping don't go into the perfume shop that boy is the biggest con ever so DON'T follow him in to his shop.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: going places

Recommended
Cindy, Ian And Jack
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed in this hotel for two weeks in Sept/Oct.

The food initially was ok but after about 5 days we realised every meal choice was the same. There was no childrens selection and beware if you have a peanut allergy.

One day the dish does not have any peanuts in it the next that same dish is provided but to try and make it different thay have added peanuts.

When you order a drink it comes with peanuts and because we don't speak Egyptian or German we could not get them to understand we did not want them.

At times we struggled to find something different to eat.
The chinese is very nice but you have to pay extra. The food during the day from the cafes by the beach is very nice but fairly expensive as is the soft drinks
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Richard
11 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from a fortnight holiday at the Grand Hotel, Hurghada. The Hotel itself was clean and the gardens were very well looked after.

The restaurants were extremely busy when we were there. To top this they closed one of them half way through our stay which meant we had to queue more often than not. The quality of food was very good however service was bad. Drinks were expensive in the hotel / restaurants and they don't allow you to bring your own in.

The staff were not particularly friendly or helpful. For example they demanded a tip when they helped us with their luggage and demanded more once we gave them some money.

The hotel provides a cash-free system whereby you sign for purchases for the duration of your stay and pay at the end. This sounds good in practice however it can take a while to ask for the bill then ask the waiter to give you a pen then ask for the relevant receipt. We had a problem when we didn't sign for something having waited for ages for a waiter. We got a phone call after 10pm from the waiter asking us to sign for the drinks. We were sleeping and asked if this could be sorted the following day. However, half an hour later the waiter was banging on our door demanding a signature.

We purchased a dive mask from the hotel shop. On trying the mask in the sea, it leaked. We returned to the shop the following morning and they would not refund us. We involved the hotel manager who did nothing to assist insisting it was not his problem.

We purchased a course of massages from the hotel. We initially paid for two. The deal was if you had four you only paid for three. We had two more on our last day and we were charged for four. The leaflet clearly stated four for the price of three. The staff would not change their mind, we were at reception for hours trying to resolve this, our tour rep (who was extremely helpful) tried too but they simply would not budge. This is unacceptable.

On our first night at the hotel we slept with our patio door slightly open. At approx 8am a member of the staff entered our room whilst we were in bed through the patio door we had left slightly open which was a bit of a shock.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Les And Elaine Parry
11 years 5 months ago
The Grand Hotel is the older of sister hotels either side of a main road.

The minus is that it is a little tired, especially tha bathrooms, the plus is that it has its own beach and 2 great pools. A choice of 3 buffet resturants each with similar food with a different slant. We found the Swan (Italianlish) the best.

The food was OK and neither of us suffered from a dicky stomach. The hotel location was great, a
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

Recommended
Sandra & Graham
11 years 7 months ago
Lovely hotel, 2nd time at this hotel, 3rd time in this resort. Nothing to complain about at all.

Very close to airport but very little noise (hardly noticed) very short transfer time. Ok looks slighly dated from outside but lovely inside,so clean and good food (we could always find something we liked) Egyptian staff are very pleasant to British -a smile (& a little tip)go a long way!.

Rooms are adequate but nothing fancy, large comfortable beds. Open air bars (good value for money. 1/2price of hotel) several shops, mini market, gift shops galore, chemist 24hour, all you could need. Felt very safe (many guards around all entrances)You can go for a swim and leave your belongings - dont worry they will be there on your return.

Cash point just outside hotel. Good choice of excursions - Giftun Island is lovely.

A perfect hotel for couples that just want to chill. We will return!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Kathleen And Liam
12 years 3 months ago
This was my first visit to egypt and would thoroughly recommend the Grand Hotel egypt.

The staff were so friendly, so much so that my son is now corresponding with one of the waiters.
Anyone fluent in arabic!

The staff couldn't do enough for us. The beach staff getting us drinks and the pool staffhad no trouble in putting up umbrellas for us, geting our beach towels and making sure that we did not have to move from the sunlounger that we were laying on.

Tips are easy as the salaries are so low the staff are grateful with
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panorama

Recommended
Tony Davies
15 years 4 months ago
We have in all stayed at this hotel 5 times in the last 7 years and find it to be a first class hotel with only a very few negative points as stated below. The cleanliness of the hotel and grounds maintained all hours of the day and as far as the Staff are concerned 'you want it, you've got it'although maybe a little slow. Entertainment is limited to harp/piano players and belly dancers.

FOOD. Our first stay was on half-board never again, although the preparation and apperance were ok the actual cuisine was not British orientated and no alternative was offered. Best bet B&B and eat out.
ROOMS.
Room standards are what you would excpect for the grade of hotel,if posible go for a superior room, well worth it, on upper floors. Standard rooms do tend to be smaller, on the grond floor and in the garden area.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hayes&Jarvis

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.