Image of Pontins Holiday Park

Pontins Holiday Park

2 out of 5 from 18 reviews
Burnham-on-Sea TA8 2RJ, United Kingdom

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Dirty, mould and mildew, dampness everywhere
4 years 7 months ago
Noisy neighbours, constantly banging, shouting, swearing and taking drugs, threatening to beat me up when I'm disabled, the staff wasn't interested, the beds were uncomfortable, the place was filthy, I would never go there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Pontins brean sands directly

Hotel tip: Don't go there

William Spence
Great Holiday
8 years ago
After all the bad publicity we wondered what we were in for. We had a fantastic time.
The chalet was spotless-everything seemed brand new. Stayed half board Mon-Fri. Would have booked extra days but had to get back. Tried to book later in the year while we were there but told we couldn’t -only through head office which seemed a bit daft. I don’t think the moaners could have stayed at the same Pontins. Looked forward to my breakfast every morning cooked just as I like it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: majestic tours

Recommended
unsuitable beds
8 years ago
They need to have chalets with one double bed for couples on their own. The sofa beds are very uncomfortable my husband fell out didn't hurt himself but it was 4am in the morning. We have in the past put two single beds together, but now we're in our sixties it's too much to move beds about especially as it's supposed to be a holiday.

Breakfast very good and had everything you could want and more. Suitable for all ages in family cereals cooked breakfasts toast, hash browns, white bread, marmalade, jam, butter etc and drinks tea, coffee, pop, squash, milk. Very good for the money as the food was included in price of our holiday, Oh and lovely bacon, sausage and two eggs well you could eat as much as you wanted!

There were five adults and two children in our party and we all enjoyed the food. The chip shop on site was not very good, grubby shop an food to expensive the chips should be a pound in money then lots would be sold even frozen chips would have been better cheap an cheerful that's what's need edthere.

We were supposed to have a good welcome pack didn't get it till third day it should have been in chalet so we could have drink on arrival. They need a separate eating place for those who want a meal occasionally the people who have booked self catering but nice to have a meal maybe first night and last night before they leave. A small restaurant would be nice not everybody wants hotdogs and chips for the whole week.

Would just like to praise the people who cook breakfasts on site. I know they do dinners but think it was mainly for inclusive holidays we didn't try the dinners though because we all wanted to many different foods. If they had double beds I would go again though that was the only real complaint that they don't cater for couples that need a proper bed lots people go with parents and grandparents so I think this should be something they should look into.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: pontins

Helen
8 years 11 months ago
Booked holiday camp for Jubilee weekend, idea being that the children would be entertained if the weather was bad. WRONG - kids get 1 hour in the morning and 1 hour in the evening - same thing, party dances and that's it. Pontin’s of old had a full day's activities that kids could join in. Bitterly disappointed for the kids. Pool dirty, the only thing they want you to do is spend money in the arcade.

Chalet stuck in the dark ages. Radically needs updating. Smelly and damp and the only thing you have to keep it clean is a broom, dustpan and brush - need a mop with kids walking dirt and grass in all the time. Objected to having to queue for bed linen and leave a deposit which meant another queue when handing back.


Too much money paid for too little. Would rather have stayed in a caravan or even a tent for that matter. At the end of the break I asked for a customer comment form only to be told "we don't do that’’ says it all.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Cornwell
Awful, awful!
10 years 8 months ago
We stayed in a 1 bed classic. Dirty bed dropping to bits, mattress ripped and stuffing handing out. Fridge smelt, Pillows stained could not sit on settee as it sloped, all very damp and unhygienic.

No bath mat had to get out on to dirty floor. Plastic covers on beds which if you sleep on you get a rash. Furniture dropping to bits what there is of it. No essential (masher peeler can opener) out the arc, thin pans that burnt easily.

It would just be easier to ask what is good about it. Badly need parking near chalets. Shower should be adjusted we are not all over 6ft. tall Staff badly need a course in public relation.

Awful!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Country Cowboy
Dirty, horrid!
10 years 8 months ago
We were in a one bed chalet, it was dirty the floor was wood and it was sticky. There were beads all over the place, and though the bathroom was fine, the fridge had a terrible smell every time you opened it. The bed settee fell apart when opened, the oven didn’t work properly my friend called reception, they sent a bloke and two security and because she wasn’t wearing her wrist band she was threatened with eviction from the camp, all over the camp were signs (no wrist band no entry).

The food in the restaurant was rubbish and there wasn’t enough to fill a mouse and far too dear for what you get.
The staff were pleasant enough. The entertainment was a special event and it was brilliant.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
J Smith
10 years 11 months ago
Arrival
We arrived at midday and were told we would have to wait until 4:30pm for our key to the room. I asked why we had to wait so long, the receptionist said they had over 500 apartments to clean.
When we received the keys, we had to join the scrum for a parking space near the apartment.
Apartment what a laugh
As we were only there for 3 nights, we chose the budget accommodation. We opened the door and the smell just hit me,looking around it looked like it had never been cleaned since Fred and Wilma Flint-stone last stayed there. I counted 20 dead flies in the bath, Pubic hairs on the toilet seat. the kitchen was also filthy and the floor, could have grown mushrooms.
We told receptionist about the state of the room and she just shrugged her shoulders. On asking if someone could clean the room she said there was Know-one as they had gone home. when i asked to be moved they said every room had been taken,so i asked for my money back. Well two minutes later she came back and said we do have a room available. Apartment 108.
(Out of the frying pan in to the fire).
The apartment was next to the Queen Vic Pub. Slightly better on cleanliness(Slum)not Derelict like the Budget accommodation but if you have the miss fortune to book here please stay away from room 108 the noise is terrible if we got to sleep before 2am we were doing well. Kids banging on the windows shouting and general abuse when you asked them to go away.
Security what security.
Food no comment.
Location OK if you have a care
Entertainment OK
Would i visit again Know way even if someone else paid.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Made our own way

Best
11 years 7 months ago
we are a family of 4 and recently stayed at brean sands pontins. at first glance we thought what are we all doing here. seemed to be a very depressing place. we made our way to our club 1 bedroom chalet. the chalet itself needs updating. it needs new curtains and the carpet needs replacing, a bit grubby in places. the pillows and the bed linen were very clean. the kitchen area was ok, clean oven, microwave and fridge. the bathroom was clean plenty of towels. we stayed on a half board basis which was great value for money. a very simple menu . the all inclusive breakfast was very nice and good value. menu choice for children was also good. i think overall the resort does need a major ammount of money spent on it. it needs brightening up a bit, as it is very much stuck in the eighties. would not go to pontins brean sands again, but would consider one further up the country.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: pontins

Tony Hill
11 years 9 months ago
Arrival...
Arrived full of hope, was disappointed from the outset having to wait in queues with around another 500 people for our key, then join a free for all as parking near the accommodation was minimal and it too many journeys to and from the car to unpack.
Accommodation...
When we opened the door to our
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct

Mrs Matthews
11 years 10 months ago
We have just returned from a sun holiday at Pontins, Brean Sands. I would not recommend this site to anybody who likes cleanliness, we left feeling dirty. The rooms are extremely dated, dirty, stained etc etc etc...
The Blue Coats try there best but are not as good as Butlins Red Coats. The host in the Vic pub even takes the mickey out of the accommodation, or should I say sheds (his words, not mine) !
The food in the restaurant is of a very low standard, the drinks are a little on the expensive side, as is the food.
We will not return to Pontins again, we will opt for Butlins or Haven, I would rather pay a few pounds more and feel clean and happy!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun Holidays

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.