Image of Aghios Gordios Hotel

Aghios Gordios Hotel

2 of 3 hotels in Aghios Gordios

3 out of 5 from 23 reviews
4 stars
Kato Garouna, Agios Gordios, Corfu 490 84, Greece
Suits couples of all ages looking for beach life and a beautiful mountain location. The Hotel Aghios Gordios is not recommended for people with walking difficulties‚ or wheelchair users‚ as there are a lot of steps at the hotel.

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Barry Brocklehurst
Not good for walking difficulties
6 years 3 months ago
In the brochure it did say there was a hill outside to the front entrance also some steps down to the beach, what it failed to say that from the last lift level there is over one hundred steps down, so anyone with walking difficulties should avoid this hotel.

Standard hotel food I could always find something but there was a lot of pasta. I have never stood in a queue as often, At times there were 20-30 people queuing the main reason for this was the way drinks were being served in half pint glasses instead of one pint.
Having been served you return to your seat try to relax then its back to the bar to queue again, so serving pints would cut down the need to return to the bar as often.

The Hotel although very nice, the rooms were very clean and tidy I did feel it was too isolated. Poolside clean and plenty of sunbeds towels provided and bar was ok.

Evening entertainment was very poor, one night was bingo, one night Greek dancing, two nights of a piano player that sounded like Les Dawson on a bad night the only good act was a male singer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Dee
Nice hotel in a quiet area
7 years 2 months ago
This hotel is in a quiet area with 70 steps to beach. Hotel had lovely smells all over especially in lobby & toilet areas. The staff will do anything for you, no problems at all.

Food plenty of choice & always hot. Salads to die for with plenty of fresh herbs & spices. Cheese board & fresh fruit always top quality.

Entertainment bit dated geared for the older people but they do a great Greek Night with dancing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sarra Temple
8 years 10 months ago
The Hotel was immaculately clean and considerably well kempt. We were probably the youngest by about 10 years, however the hotel was lively and buzzy. Food was very good. Breakfasts were fab and the food in general was very good, sometimes abit monotonous, but it was all very edible.

Location is out on a limb, which was perfect for us, as it forced us to slow down and have the rest we so needed. We knew this before we booked, as we wanted total chillout.

Hotel staff were all very polite and helpful. If you are polite to them, they are lovely to you. (One russian man demanded a drink from the barman, and the barman quite rightly said "A please would be nice!!) Quite right too.

Entertain - didn;t see any... I think there was an animation team (one miserable man and a women) never saw them apart from eating in the restaurant. Weren't friendly at all, and as I said we never ever saw them.

Would visit again for a week just to cut off from everything and be forced to relax and chill out.

For us it was perfect to do nothing.

My only criticism was the friggin wasps!!!!!! Never ever ever would I go there in September. Apparently its the fruit season! Well I have never ever seen so many wasps they swarmed all over, they were relentless and totally ruined the day of the holiday. Every minute someone was screaming cos they got stung. I feel that the Manager should have done more to prevent this i.e. like in Turkey they burn pots of cocoa smelling stuff which deters them, or even put a big thing of jam or sticky sweet stuff for the buggahs to fly into and dissapear like they should do!!!! The wasps actually ruined my hol;iday as I have a phobia about them, and they swarm you and just drop on you and sting you. NIGHTMARE..... Avoid August and September like the plague, cos you will get stung and the big hornets are scary in themselves!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Qwerty Travel

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Fernee
9 years 11 months ago
After visiting the hotel Agios Gordios for the past six years we knew on arrival that the hotel was no longer a Gold hotel but didnt expect such drastic changes. The hotel was still very clean and you could not fault the rooms and maid service. There seemed to be half the amount of staff but still the same amount of work for them to do. The food in the hotel (which in the past has been fine) was very basic and we decided to visit the surrounding restaurants after two nights because my husband and various other visitors to the hotel (approx 30) were all very ill with stomach upsets which lasted until the end of the holiday. The entertainment was appalling and on two evenings we were sitting at the roof top bar along with lots of other people for two hours and then were informed that the entertainment hadnt turned up. The pool bar staff were excellent as usual and would recommend the A La Carte meal (even though restaurant manager was very grumpy) Apparently next year the hotel is going to be all inclusive so we wont be visiting next year, such a shame but we think the Agios Gordios is passed its sell by date.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

John & Jo Walton
10 years 1 month ago
We have stayed at this hotel every year since 2002. We have kept coming back because of its unique atmosphere and location overlooking the beach. In addition, we have always found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. We have been happy to overlook a number of shortcomings because of this. These include :

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Jill And D Ave Richardson
10 years 10 months ago
WE arrived later than expected at the hotel but as our room was not ready we went to the pool bar for a drink.This was the first and last drink we bought at the hotel.Talk abbout expensive !!We had already paid over the odds for a Gold holiday, only to be robbed at the hotel !!! I don't know why T.G. think they can get away with this, we weren't the only ones clinking up the 46 steps back to the hotel with drinks that cost less than a quarter of the hotel price from the supermarket. The room was ok, we paid for a supeior room to make sure we got a view, as many of the lower floor rooms did not and were also next to or above leaking sewer pipes, the stink was unbelievable and must have been a health hazard. There were not enough coathangers, only 10 between 2 of us and no where near enough drawer space, we left things like underwear in the suitcase, we had bathrobes but no where to hang them. WE couldn't understand why we both got bit so much on the first night out, you won't be able to stick the so called entertainment as we both had long trousers and long sleeved tops on, then it dawned on us...... we were both bitten on the side we slept on, my husband all down his back and myself all down the right hand side !!!We weren't the only ones using the room, we had BEDBUGS or FLEAS !!!! WE decided it wasn't worth changing rooms as several other couples at breakfast had the same problem so each day we totally stripped the bed and sprayed it with everything we'd got.You have been warned. The food was ok.Just ok, not up to T.G. standard and then we were told that after oct 07 this hotel is no longer part of Thomson Gold and boy does it show !! Its shabby, past its use by date and needs some money spending on it,,,, fast . THe 46 steps to the beach would be ok if you didn't have to risk your life on the un lit path with only one hand rail to hold on to, holding your nose with your other hand as the stench from the broken or leaking sewer pipes is gut renching, not helped by the fact that the gardener relieves himself up against the trees !! Yes really !!! There are plenty of sun beds but the sun doesn't get onto the terraces much before 11am but that doesn't stop the sun bed baggers !! How we laughed out loud at one couple who bagged their beds at 9.15 every day and sat one them whilst the staff swept and hosed around them !!! They sat in the shade all day, every day whilst we were there, it would have been cheaper to stay at home and buy a sun lamp !!! There are alot of steps round the hotel both inside and out, on two occasions we helped people down the steps to the lift with their bags as there were no staff around, and this is a Gold hotel ??? The entertainment was rubbish, some people will watch anything, we went out most night to the village, along the board walk, this is not well built and uneven in places, not very well lit and down right dangerous in a couple of places, a lady was saw had a vert nasty fall, cutting her nose and fore head quite badly. This is by far the worst Thomson Gold hotel we have stopped in, the rep said we shouldn't have expected the same standard in Greece as else where, we just expected the same Gold standard as other hotels but we didn't get it. This is not a 3 or 4 star hotel, barely a 2 star. If you have booked this hotel and Thomsons get in touch and give you the chance to cancel or change your booking DO IT !!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson Gold

Jill And Dave Richardson
10 years 10 months ago
If you havew booked this hotel for a holiday after OCTOBER 07 you need to be aware that is it NO LONGER A THOMSON GOLD . And it shows !! Its shabby, past its use by date and needs ,money spending on it, Its by far the WORST T.G. we have ever stopped in and we've done alot. Cancel if you get the chance or change your holiday arrangements, that is assuming that Thomsons have the guts to tell you before you travel, you have paid for a Gold holiday..... you won't get one !!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson gold

MRS JOHNSON
10 years 10 months ago
I have just returned from 2 weeks in the aghios gordios gold hotel and was appalled at some of the comments. Were we holidaying in the same hotel and resort? Yes I agree there were a lot of steps and it was rather hilly but we already knew this as we read it in the brochure, as it happens there were some beautiful guided walks in the area where you could see just how picturesque this island is. As for the hotel and staff it was just as I have found every other Greek holiday I have been on warm and friendly people willing to do anything for you, yes it was a little smelly on the way down to the beach but we were aware of this as their sewerage system is not as good as our own but then we do not travel to other countries to expect the same as our own!!!!! The entertainment was a bit drab but we took advantage of the small tavernas and bars in the village, what a lovely place small traditional not commercial!!!!!! We asked around ourselves with regards to booking the hotel for next year. The hotel will be in the Thomson sun brochure and we will be booking our holiday for June 2008 thank you for a lovely holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSON

Recommended
Steve & Angie Browne
10 years 11 months ago
we stayed at the thomson gold aghios gordios in corfu from 24th august for two weeks. we had previously stayed at this hotel before and booked a late holiday due to our original destination of mexico having been cancelled due to a hurricane. having read mixed reports from various sites we went with an open mind with the knowledge of our previous visit being fine.
the resort is in a fantastic location but not if you don't like hills as they are unavoidable, we like to walk so no real problem. the views are great & locals very friendly. The pool area is ideal & yuo do not have to get your towels out early as there are plenty of sun beds. one big down point is we were plagued by wasps for the whole two weeks with many people getting stung. this definately was a down side at times but we still managed to relax & have fun around the pool with mandy & natalie whom worked endlessly to keep us entertained with various games. food was not upto normal "gold" standard having been to many before & became vary boring after two weeks expecially breakfast! the hotel is vary dated & looks tired, beds are like rock, pillows give you neck ache & aircon is very noisy. evening entertainment from the resident band was poor & very few people watched them, however the resident team consisting of two girls & two lads were fantastic & would not be out of place in the westend of london! staff were slow to serve you and if you failed to tip after each round of drinks tried to avoid you & were rude on occasions.
overall nice relaxing time but this is not what you expect from gold so be warned if you are use to the usual gols standards, you will be dissapointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Tom And Lynn
11 years 1 month ago
When we first arrived at the hotel, we thought we were on top of a mountain as the hotel is situated right at the top of a long winding road. After dropping off our luggage we decided to walk down the hill into the village and wondered how on earth we were going to manage to get back up! well a very nice shopkeeper told us a short cut and it brought us to the bottom of the steps up to the hotel.(there are only 35 )but the day after we found out if you walked along the boardwalk it was even easier to get to the small village, about 15 mins.
The hotel was really very nice. After reading previous reports we wondered why some people did not like the hotel or the food. The food was actually very good. The chef was always out testing the food with her thermometer to make sure that it was hot. There was always plenty to choose from and always at least 2 local dishes on the menu as well as everything else that was on offer.Plenty to choose from the salad bar and always plenty of choice in desserts.( one night there was over 16 different desserts from cakes ,mousses, trifles, baclava(local dessert and also desserts for vegetarians.With us staying there for 2 weeks we were entitled to 2 a la carte meals in the seperate restaurant which was equally as nice.
The staff were really friendly especially our waitress in the restaurant( Alexandria ) Also full marks to the entertainment staff especially Mandy and Becky. They worked really hard.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum