Image of Govino Bay Apartments

Govino Bay Apartments

3 of 4 hotels in Gouvia

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
Gouvia, 49100, Greece
These modern, maisonette-style apartments, set in spacious gardens right on the sand and shingle beach, offer a good standard f accommodation. Centrally located, they make a great base from which to explore nearby Gouvia and the surrounding area.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
James
9 years 3 months ago
Great large apartments. Cleaned and towels changed every day except Sunday. Kettle,coffee maker,hairdryer,w.up liquid,scourer,mini soaps &shampoos,and bottle of water provided. Quiet relaxing pool due to rules about inflatables, balls etc. Supermarket on site very reasonable if a bit small - milk 1.10E,large beer 1.10E.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Steve
10 years 1 month ago
The apartments are very clean and well looked after.The maids are very friendly and always do a good job of keeping your room tidy.Rooms get cleanded 6 times a week.

The kitchen area is ok.It has got a microwave and 2 hobs but thats it.There is no oven and you have to hire a toaster if you want one.

To pool is a very good size and cleaned daily.Beware of the life guard as she doesn't allow splashing/diving messing about or inflateable's in the pool.The sea is right next to the pool although there isn't and sand on the beach,it's just a mixture between cobbles and grass and the odd bit of sand.

There are lovley tavernas uup the road which are about a 5-10 minute walk away.I wold definately roccomend aries as the food is gorgeous and the waiters even do traditional greek dancing(they are very good!!)

We hired a car so we could get around the island.We drove to the water park (twice) and it was amazing it is huge and even when its busy you can't tell because its that big.We also explored a few beaches like Dasia,Paleokastritsa and Glyfafa.However Glyfada gets extremely busy by 2 o'clock.

Overall a very good holiday and would reccomend it to anyone who likes Greece!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Brian
10 years 1 month ago
We stayed for a week at the Govino Bay Hotel. The apartments were in excellent repair if a little spartan. The cleaners were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them and they were friendly and very efficient. The pool bar was good, the food was also good and we found the staff very friendly and accomodating. The bar advertises itself as being open until 1am although if you go there after 11.30pm you are likely to find it shut!
The pool is very good although you are not permitted to dive despite the deep end being nearly 3 metres deep.The floor of the pool is tiled in the shallow end and those who are nervous or poor swimmers may find this off putting.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Easyjet

Recommended
Michael Jones
10 years 2 months ago
First of all I must say that the location of the apartments were ideal. As a group of 10 18 yr old friends we were lookin for a good mix of relaxation and clubbing/partying. The bay in which the apartments are situated is within another bay itself which means it is safe, secluded and very private. However just a ten minute walk from the apartments is Gouvia town in which there are plenty of varied restaurants/bars/clubs catering for everyones needs of all ages and tastes.
The pool is a nice size, although it must be said we went during school time so whether it gets busier is something I cannot comment on. It must be noted that pool rules in Greece state that no ball games/inflatables/rough play can take place otherwise you feel the rath of the lifeguard! But the sea is literally a minute walk from the pool so anything rulebreaking can take place in the sea!! One thing about the sea is that it can be a bit...'slimey' is the only way I can put it as you get in but is lovely once you are there.
As far as staff go the bar lady at the pool bar finds it hard to smile regularly but does her job. However i must say I was very impressed with the maid service. They came 6 out of our 7 days and replaces towels and sheets every time. They tidied all the floor space and clean all surfaces so overall a very good job and we tried to tip them as best we could. There is no on-resort entertainment but, like I said, the restaurants and clubs and bars near by are very good.
We were self catering and so bought all our food from near by shops which seemed quite good value. There is also a shop on site which offers all the essentials.
To summarise I must emphasise that you do not get many places that have a pool, the sea, and a town so near by at the price that you can get these apartments, a real find!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
James Cann
11 years ago
Pleasantly surprised by the standard of the apartment, spacious and clean with a quiet and cool atmosphere. Usual problems with insects but the gardens were very well-kept and beautiful.

Maid service was excellent although the floors were not washed every day. The bed on the mezzanine floor was not changed for the duration of our stay.

Pool bar was a little lost in time, and although the pool was stunning and the sunning area very pleasant, we found the bar staff a little cold and slow. Especially the lifeguard who was over zealous with maintaining the rules, unprecedented in our previous visits to the Greek islands. "Don't swim too fast!!!"

Manager was always ready to help but a little deferent with organising trips around the island.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Sunmaster

Recommended
Michael Herbert
11 years 2 months ago
Hotel clean. Maid in everyday. Entertaiment non exsistant. Was supposed to have a pool room/play room. But it didn't.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Joanne Elmer
11 years 2 months ago
great apartments, pity about the lifeguard, no-one able to have fun in the pool with balls or lilos until 5pm when she goes off duty, apparantly the law in greece, have been to lots of greek islands and never heard that one before. very slow service in pool snack bar. maids were great though. lovely gardens with plenty of sunbeds so you can sit in the shade under the trees, as no umbrellas or shade round the pool. We hired a car and toured the island so not really at the complex very often. may have been tempted to stay by pool if kids could have fun.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Andy Taylor
11 years 4 months ago
Lovely setting, maid service was very good and maids very cheerful and friendly.

Spent most of the time on the beach although they had one of the best pools 'Ive seen in Greece the lifeguard was very strict and health & safety minded. No balls, no lilo's, no diving and no splashing!! So made for a boring day at poolside, so for family's who enjoy playing around in the pool this is not the place to go. I certainly would have not gone knowing this, sorry, but for couples and sun queens this is the ideal place to go.

If on a late flight there is no lounge in reception so you will need to sit outside on the wall till 3 am or what ever pickup time you have.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Leigh
11 years 4 months ago
Apartments are very well looked after on the first day the ground floor sliding window didn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first ch

Stuart Bromley
12 years 2 months ago
Very impressed with both Gouvia and the apartments.

There was a problem with Ants on the Beach but this did not spoil our holiday. You must visit Daphne's right next to the apartments if you are eating out. The food is very good good value and the staff (Family run)very friendly
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum