Image of Miramare Beach Hotel

Miramare Beach Hotel

3 of 4 hotels in Moraitika

3 out of 5 from 24 reviews
5 stars
Miramare Beach, Moraitika, Corfu 49080, Greece

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mayes/Southby
11 years 9 months ago
The hotel itself was kept very clean, our room was done everyday, it looked like the same poor maid did every room every day, but she was pleasant enough! We stayed in the new part & the rooms were spacious with lovely views of the pool & sea. The pool area was lovely & there was never a problem finding sunbeds. The wasps were very annoying, but it seems they are an Island problem, not just the hotel!

The food was good & always a choice. Yes some dishes were repetative, but there was always 1 or 2 'special' dishes cooked in the restaurant itself. The Al Fresco evening, where the food was served outside was fantastic.

The location of the hotel was superb, directly on the sea, which made for stunning views. There was no beach, but you only had to walk a few minutes to find one further along the sea front. It was only a five minute walk into Moraitika, where there were plenty of shops, restaurants & bars, but there were no foot paths & was a little scarey, especially at night! I can see why there were complaints about the main road between the two sides of the hotel, but there is a pedestrian crossing now, which makes it a little easier to cross.

We found the staff pleasant enough, but we did make the effort with them too. They work long hours & are expected to speak our language (which most of them did). The restaurant waiters were especially friendly.

We didn't see any of the hotel entertainment, it was very much geared towards the germans, but you were always made to feel welcome. We were quite happy to chill in the lounge or by the sea or over the new side of the hotel. We did have to wait quite a while at the bar a few times as they only have one or two bar staff, but generally the service was very good.

The hotel is definitely not 5* as advertised & we did listen to people complain to the Rep, who offered to move them to the Regency Hotel without any hassle. If you go with the view of 3 or 4* (which the hotel certificate hanging on reception wall states) you will not be disappointed. We did go just out of season, so we didn't have the fight for sunbeds, dinner tables, bar staff etc, but we did have a fight to see the sun! It was very wet, but overall the holiday was very enjoyable & good value for the money we paid. We would return & we would recommend it (out of season).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar Leisure

Recommended
Andy Marshall
11 years 10 months ago
Beccy & Andy from East London

We stayed for one week in a bungalow which overlooked the sea. The location was very nice with patio and garden area however there is no beach. The bungalow was not to a very high standard although the air conditioning was good. Bathroom very poor - more like 2* - no way is this a 5*.

The hotel is split into two parts across a busy main road which could be hazardous for children or the elderly.

The hotel appeared to cater more for German guests as all tv was in German and entertainment. Many staff were also German. One German receptionist was very nice and helpful other staff were quite scary!

The swimming pools are nice and clean the so was the majority of the hotel. The spa is very nice and clean although the indoor pool is not heated and very cold. You have to pay extra for the use of the Spa.

Food was appalling. Same every day. No waiter service. You are not even taken to a table. You collect your food and drinks in plastic cups and find a table and usually your cutlery as well. Very dissappointing to be honest.

The location of the hotel was ok. Short 10 minute walk into the town of Moritika. However, no pavements and take a torch.

We liked the hotel apart from the food and the so called all inclusive. This consisted of small plastic beakers for the beer and soft drinks, snacks which consisted of maderia cake left on a tray for you and the wasps, dried bread with ham. The trays were also very small. About enough for 15 people.

Not five star - 3 star plus being generous.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SunStyle

Garry Walsh
12 years 1 month ago
Food was terrible,always cold this was not 4 or 5 star cuisine.

If you like spaghetti bolognese this was the place to be as it was on the menu 7 days aweek twice a day. 15.30 snacks consisted of one tray of dried up cake for the top part of the hotel. 17.30 snacks was one tray of french bread sandwiches for top part of hotel. Selection of drinks, beer, red and white wine, undrinkable),vodka,brandy,gin, ouzo and four so called cocktails.

Should be rated as a 2 star anybody visiting Corfu for the first time would be put off by the lack of quality in this area.

Greek food is beautiful sadly this hotel did not offer that.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: funatics.com

Mr & Mrs Storey
12 years 8 months ago
We stayed in the new building,across the road from the original reception and the bungalows.We had seen other reviews and were a bit apprehensive when we first arrived...We were pleasantly surprised.

Our rooms were nicely furnished and clean,with lovely views over the pool to the sea. Next morning we encountered the wasps! They really are a nuisance and are everywhere around the pool and bar area. Anyone with a sweet drink was swarmed with them. They were also on the tiled pool area and we were concerned that our granddaughter might stand on one and be stung.

The food was ok not the best we have eaten but we were never hungry,there was always something we liked.The staff were pleasant(if you were pleasant to them).

The entertainment a bit naff but our granddaughter was happy with the other children there & we usually find if the kids are happy then we are too!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Freedom Direct

Recommended
Bill Whittingham
12 years 8 months ago
We went for late weeks break all-inclusive.

Firstly we stayed in new building, the rooms were quite good but we had to cross the busy & dangerous road, I think this would be a nightmare if you have kids with you.

Virtually the entire staff were the rudest & ignorant we have ever had the misfortune in meeting. Don't think about complaining has the Manager is the worst of them all!!

The all-inclusive is a joke, you are treat like a leper, don't even try to go to the 'posh' bar. You queue at the other for an almost full warm half pint glass of watered down beer. The restaurant staff treat you like something they have stepped in.

It is not on the beach. It is next to the sea, no beach. The beach is further up & not very good. I would strongly recommend you DO NOT stay here.

It was our first visit to Corfu & probably our last.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: CTS

Kevin & Pam
12 years 9 months ago
This is never a 5* hotel. Probably 3* in Spain.

Rooms are very clean but basic. Towels changed daily and beds made daily although floor was not swept all week.

Breakfast was ok if early enough, asked for tea as none there, like asking for crown jewels, even though there was plenty of time left. Lunch was exactly the same everyday. Dinner again was bland and repetitive.

A road splits the hotel in two parts. Not too busy when we were there but can see would be difficult to cross in high season. could also be a problem for people who maybe less mobile as one half of hotel is on a steep hill.

Staff work very hard, but most were pleasant, only problems with reception staff in older part of hotel.

Lots of restrictions for all inclusive ie: pay for drinks after 11pm, pay for use of spa,indoor pool, jacuzzi etc. Main bar you pay all the time.

Entertainment repetitive.

Would not go back if it was free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra

Kelly And Geoff
12 years 9 months ago
After paying a considerable amount of money for what we assumed was a 5* hotel, we were looking forward to a first class holiday. Between the wonderful pictures on the hotels website and recommendations from friends about the area, we were very excited. What we arrived to, however, was very different to our pre-conceived ideas.

Let me begin, firstly, with the hotels cleanliness. Overall, we both thought that the hotel was extremely clean, and have no complaints whatsoever in this area. Each day, a maid would change our bed linen, bins, towels and sweep the floors. The general complex itself was also kept in fantastic condition and was thoroughly cleaned each day by an extremely dedicated and hardworking team of hygiene operatives. Therefore my score for the hotel staff does not reflect upon the maids, they on the other hand would receive a score of five.

I will now move on to assess the standard of the hotels food. It was most certainly not of 5* standard, I would say it was more likely to be of high 3* to possibly low 4*. Breakfast consisted of varied dishes but the exact same were repeated every every morning. Breakfast was served from 8am-10am and the staff were very strict about the times. A continental breakfast was available from 10am-11am which was described as a late sleepers breakfast. Lunch was served from 12.30pm-2pm and consisted of the exact same luke-warm dishes every day. Obviously it would be virtually impossible to completely change the dishes every day but a little variation would have been nice. Dinner was average with some variety. Again, it was luke-warm and definitely not of 5* standard. A barbecue is held every Friday night and is a refreshing change to the repetitive dishes during the week.

The only snacks available during the day were cake and peanuts, available at the pool-side bar. However, my partner and I decided to steer away from these snacks as wasps were constantly swarming around them. Also, ice cream was available, but only between the hours of 4pm-5pm. (unless you wanted to pay for it outside this time.) Beware of the crepes, they may taste good, but they'll mysteriously creep onto your bill at the end of your stay. Staff are quite deceitful and fail to tell you that they are not included as part of the all inclusive package.

Another area were my partner and I were disappointed was the drinks. First of all, there was a very limited selection: half pints of beer, local wine, coffee, and soft drinks. By the way, the beer is more like shandy, it tastes extremely watered down. The wine on the other hand is like rocket fuel, it is much too strong and tastes foul. Also, the coffee tastes synthetic.

The hotel is situated directly beside the beach, which is not a sand beach, it is a shingle beach. However, it is a plus point to be that close to the sea. The hotel is on a very busy road which has sharp bends and no pedestrian footpaths, thus making it very dangerous for families with young children or elderly people. If you want to walk into the resort of Moraitika, you must walk on the side of the road which is extremely dangerous, giving the nature of the drivers.

There are 3 accommodation sections to this hotel, which is failed to be mentioned in the web-site. Each section, in our opinion, are of different star ratings. One set of bungalows are a 3* rating, the main apartment building is of 4* standard and then there are a set of bungalows that are 5* standard. We were deceived when we booked our holiday, as were many other holidaymakers that we spoke to there. We booked 5* accommodation but were unfortunately given 3*.

The Miramare Beach Hotel, in short, is not a 5* hotel. It has 1 tiny section of 5* accommodation, but the majority are of 3* - 4* standard. Also, the indoor health spa is not included in your all inclusive package and costs 6 Euro each per day. There is a hairdressers and beauty salon, but again it is not included in the all inclusive package.

Hotel staff, with the exception of cleaning staff, are genuinely rude and unpleasant to those who are all inclusive. Everything appears to be too much hassle for them.

Entertainment during the day consists of volleyball, darts and table tennis. They are actually good fun, but very repetitive. Evening entertainment was dire. Avoid this if you can, it is cheap and unprofessional.

Overall, the Miramare Beach Hotel is not a 5* hotel and will not have our custom again. We do not recommend this hotel to anyone. We are a young couple who do not particularly have high expectations thus our review is totally honest an what you should expect, if you end up going to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Funatics/ Trust Accommodation/ Freedom Flights

Susan & Sammy
12 years 9 months ago
The hotel is definately not 5*. The rooms we stayed in would rate 2*, there was dirty marks in bathroom around shower area and the paint work could do with being cleaned or re-painted.

The food was basic, and not what you would expect from 5* accomodation. It was nover hot and the menu was very repetative. At times blocks of tables were reserved for other guests, yet when we enquired about reserving a table we were told it wasn,t hotel policy.

The location of the lower section of the hotel i.e. beach side of the road, was perfect, although the rooms were only 2*.

The hotel staff were willing to answer any queries, but only with the stated hotel line and kept referring us to speak to the manager. In our opinion the bar staff need training in customer service.

The entertainment was a total joke, with exception of Friday evenings, when we were entertained by local Greek dancers. Saturday night there was no entertainment at all, and all t.v. programmes shown in the lounge were German.

As for all inclusive, we were unable to get drinks in the main lounge bar in the evenings and had to climb a set of steps to the roof garden bar (the disco bar). Even on a night of thunder and lightening, when the so called entertaiment was moved to the ground floor, we still were unable to avail of drinks at the lounge bar.

On booking we requested a low floor room, as I have arthritis in my knees, but we still had to climb stairs to get to the bar, or cross a main road to buy a morning paper. When we enquired why we couldn,t use our all inclusive bands in the lounge we were told it was for half board guests only, but if we wished to pay we could have our drinks put on to our room bill.

In our opinion the hotel is not disabled friendly or all inclusive. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone, disabled or otherwise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Planet Travel

Zimmers
12 years 10 months ago
Food was ample and of a good variety. The kids ate plenty which is very rare on holiday. Didn't like the fact that haldf pints were served and ice cream on for 1 hour per day for the kids!

Cleanliness was spot on in the rooms, more effort could be spent on keeping the wasps away by fumigating more often.

Views are fantastic the road which splits the hotel in half is a nightmare as it sits on a bend, apparently a bridge is going to be built although none of the staff seem to think so. Just run and hope.

Entertainment staff try hard but get boring after about 2 hours. Bar staff never smiled once. Horrible.

I wouldn't visit it again the wasps are unbearable and I think myself lucky that I never got stung as most people knew someone who had been.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Karen Allen
12 years 10 months ago
I thought that the rooms were very comfortable-especially with the air-con. They were cleaned on a regular basis.

The location was great (we were on the beach side of the hotel).

The wasps were a bit of a problem but they are used to people so cover your drinks and don't step on them and they tend to leave you alone!

The food was of a wide variety but it would be nice to see some more traditional dishes.

Loved it that you could sunbathe at the waters edge without getting sand everywhere.

Would definitely go again - In fact I am in July!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunstar leisure

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum