Image of Mareblue Neptuno Beach Resort Hotel

Mareblue Neptuno Beach Resort Hotel

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
3 Vagias Str., Amoudara Herakliou 71414, Greece

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Judith
Friendly staff, good food, entertainment ok
7 years 2 months ago
Very clean, staff friendly. Would definitely visit again. Also met some lovely people also
staying there.

Entertainment could be improved although the entertainment staff were very friendly. Food very good with ample choice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
S Parrott
11 years 1 month ago
This was our first all inclusive holiday, and we were all pleasantly surprised.
Room was very clean and enough room for us all. Cleaned every day with as many clean towels as we wanted. Only minor complaint were the outside toilets, they could have been cleaned more often.
Food was excellent, always fresh and with lots of variation. However, do not expect burger and chips. You have to be willing to try things. Our children of 8 and 5 loved it. Snacks, ice creams and drinks were all great.
Location on the beach was great, walk was busy, but not far to shops etc. Nice and quiet late at night. Easy to catch local bus.
Entertainment team were superb for both adults and children. They worked really hard and made the holiday at night and in the day.
All in all, an excellent hotel for a family. There were lots of different nationalities staying there, and because the hotel is not too big, we met lots of lovely people. The children all played together, even though it was difficult to communicate. Would recommend to any family, particularly with children around our age.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
The Hotel is also known as the Neptuno Orange Beach Resort.

Location: Set in a narrow busy street leading off the main road. It is situated in a town called Ammoudara which is located just outside Heraklion (6KM). Ammoudara Main Street is very busy and does not have pavements in some parts of the road.

There is a local bus service which takes you into Heraklion for 1.3 Euros. The bus runs every 20 mins. From Heraklion you are able to catch buses to anywhere.

Room: Was quite big and clean with a fridge provided, Dressing gowns, and slippers also provided. Beach Towels are provided on request at reception, deposits are required.

Staff: The staff were very pleasant and helpful but like everywhere there is the odd one or two. Reported to reception that the air-con was leaking when going for breakfast on return the maintenance person was repairing it.

Some rooms do not have plugs in sink and when asking for one they try to discourage you from having any but insist and they will provide. Only one pillow each requested more and again delivered within 30 mins.

Bar staff work very hard and long hours and don
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Donna
12 years 1 month ago
Rooms are not large but perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean.
Good air conditioning, tea/coffee, balcony.

The food was fairly good, different choices each day plus the normal salad and desert bars. Great cooked breakfasts each day as well as cereals, breads, cakes, fruit. Hot snacks during the day, no one would go hungry!

Right on the beach, close to the local shops but far enough away to be peaceful.

Staff were all very pleasant and helpful, the entertainment team worked their socks off to get everyone involved and having a good time. Ebo, Toto and lili were fantastic with young and old.

We loved it here and would gladly go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Jo
12 years 1 month ago
I went to this hotel with my family with high expectations after reading a lot of reviews before booking. I can only say that when I arrived I was very disapointed.

The rooms were very small and would never fit 3 adults. I was fortunate that somebody pulled out before we went so I ended up with a room to myself.

The food was OK but soon became repetative and boring, but we all did manage to eat every day.

The pool was far too deep and cold for children and my 9 year old niece could just reach the bottom in the shallow end.

The beach was dirty with rubbish all over the place and hardly ever cleaned.

Overall, we made the most of our holiday but this is never a 4* hotel in any countries standards. If you go expecting a low 3* hotel then you won't be dissapointed. Be very careful if you have young children because to get to the main resort you have to walk down a busy main road with no pavement for about 50 metres.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: own booking

Pountney
12 years 2 months ago
This hotel was more a 3 star. Its not that there was anything actually wrong with it but the rooms were just ok, no chair to sit on or anything other than the basics. Although the rooms were air conditioned, a godsend in July. They put fruit in the room but as we didn't eat it it stayed and rotted in the bowl all week.

The main problem with this hotel is that everything goes on outdoors. There was just the one area with the one outdoor pool bar that served everything, (drinks teas and ice creams)with only one person on, meaning there was a continual queue. At other all inclusives we have been to, there was a separate bar serving food but here just some hot trays containing self -toasting sandwiches and cold chips.

We had good weather all week, and a good job as there was no where to go indoors if it had rained. There is a tiny bar area in the hotel, but that was never open. No lounge area, just chairs in the reception, no where to relax indoors if the weather had been off, or if you wanted somewhere out of the sun. Again, there was nothing actually wrong with the seats in reception, but in a 4 star hotel you would expect a separate lounge area for guests to relax.

If you can get a bargain here, its not too bad, the food was ok, no worse than any other all inclusives we had been to, although some of the time it was not hot enough and things were continually running out, eg one morning no hot water for tea, the next day wine had run out, another day the orange, another time, no teabags. They did everything to help when you told them, but these are irritating little things that you don't notice when they work well, but this hotel needs to sharpen up a bit.

It was close to Heraklion, buses are easy to use, taxis fairly cheap. The area surrounding the hotel itself seemed mixed/residential, little shops, etc, not too bad, but not the height of luxury. Go to this hotel if you get a bargain, otherwise, don't expect 4 star. Good for only a 3 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Kennedy
12 years 11 months ago
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday then the Neptuno Beach Hotel could be for you.

Our family (3 different generations) spent a week here in mid-October shortly before the hotel closed for the season, so it's fair to say that some of the facilities and activities might be busier in the high season.

First impressions of the hotel are not that favourable - it's situated up a narrow lane, just off a busy main road, sandwiched between some rather run down apartments. But once inside it's clear to see that this hotel is modern and well-appointed.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We were fortunate in as much as our balconies overlooked some waste ground with the sea in the distance. Rooms on the other side if the hotel overlooked a scruffy apartment block.

It was really hard to fault anything about the hotel - the food was varied and tasty, the staff were friendly and helpful, and there was a nice and relaxed atmosphere around the place. My elderly parents (who had never been to Greece before, nor ever been on an all-inclusive holiday) seemed quite delighted with their holiday.

The teenagers in the party weren't quite so impressed, as most of the other guests seemed to be middle aged couples, so while we spent the evenings enjoying the free drink and entertainment, the two girls spent their time back in their room watching DVDs on the player thoughtfully provided in all the rooms!

Entertainment took place indoors every evening except one (due to rather unseasonal weather) and usually comprised bingo followed by a quiz. Not particularly exciting you might think, but it seemed to be enjoyed by most of the guests. We understand that the entertainment would normally be held outdoors in better weather, where there was room for more audience participation and dancing. Special mention must go to Ebo and Rita who were in charge of the activities - especially Ebo who is great laugh and exactly the type of person you need on holiday!

The hotel is situated right on the beach with free sun loungers for guests, but we found the sands to be covered in litter in places, we even saw broken glass on one part.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medhotels

Recommended
Jan Harbon
13 years ago
The hotel opened in early 2005.
Rooms very clean & well furnished, bathrobes, slippers, complimentary toiletries (soap & shampoo dispensers not sachets). Also tea, coffee & kettle in room with mini fridge. Half bottle of wine & fruit basket on arrival. TV with usual european channels - who does go on holiday to watch TV? DVD/CD player for those who really cannot do without!
Bedlinen / towels changed frequently, beach towels provided for a small refundable deposit. Rooms & public areas kept spotlessly clean at all times, with good disabled access to rooms in main building & restaurant.

Food is buffet style, good variety of well presented local produce, one or two oddities - chips at breakfast & sprout salad one lunchtime, but always plenty to choose from.

Located directly on the beach with gentle sloping sand into sea, flag system in operation & lifeguard on beach every day (sunbeds & parasols plentiful & free).
Hotel staff are approachable & extremely helpful.

Animation team (entertainment) Rita & Ibo work hard to ensure there are a variety of sports, quizzes, bingo games & general entertainment shows - all carried out with great enthusiasm & spoken in seven different languages, they do, however, rely on audience participation, so join in if you can.

An excellent holiday shared with a wide cross section of Europeans - Swiss, Russian, Polish, French, Dutch, Begian.......Would certainly return HAKUNA MATATA
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstarleisure

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum