Image of Elpis Studios & Apartments

Elpis Studios & Apartments

2 of 5 hotels in Bali

4 out of 5 from 5 reviews
Μπαλί, 74057, Greece
In separate blocks, up a slope, set off the main road in a fairly quiet spot are these pleasant studios and apartments, with their own swimming pool and pool bar. The nearest beach is a 5 minute walk, with the resort centre a 15 minute stroll away.

5 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
Miss M Troisi
8 years 7 months ago
we stayed at elpis apartments in bali crete. bali is a very pretty village, the manager and his wife of these apartments we stayed were very rude, arrongant, not helpful at all. when i booked these apartments i was not informed there be no rep, so there was nothing for my 14 year daughter to do, the only kids around where young dutch kids about 8years old, who bewteen 10pm and midnight made a lot of noise rounding around screaming and jumping on the stage. the manager was very rude to me when i informed him the fridge door handle, and tv was broken, he told me i would have to pay or leave the apartments to which i did not do, when i he heard me speaking italian he told me it was ok but next time i would have to pay, so if i was english he would have call the police maybe, or throw us out.there were never repair.I felt uncomfortable and unwelcome, there was no entertainment in the day for the teenages or in the evening,the poolside bar was shut most days and in the evening due to not enought people. in the end i found my only entertainment we went to the bali pardise hotel, even though it was full of french there us most welcome and said we could anytime to there open air theatre to see there shows, which were free and very good, it did dance shows and some comdey. the tours were limted not much on offer, went to chania one day which was dear on the bus and the jounery 2hrs, but it was very pretty, also went to rethymon which was only 40mins away on the bus but beautiful with its cobble streets and beautiful churchs. so no i will not be going back to elpis studios every again, bali i would go for a day trip and not for 3weeks as we did.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: qwerty travel

8 years 7 months ago
I would like to refute everything said about the Elpis in the previous post.

My wife and I returned to Bali and the Elpis for the third year in succession and this time took our 15 year-old grand-daughter with us.

We had never been in July before but, apart from the exceptional heat, enjoyed our stay immensely.

We had been staying at the Elpis in September 2008 when Kosmar and Excel Airways 'went to the wall' and were the first people to receive the news by text from friends in the UK. Dimitris, the Elpis owner, was devastated - as anyone would be having just lost their core business - but not once did he, his wife Poppy, nor any of the staff upset any of the guests. Catherine, the Kosmar Rep - and who was also out of a job - acted as our link to ensure we were all transferred back to the UK. Admittedly, some guests returned via other UK airports, but they did get home.

This year (2009), I telephoned Dimitris to determine if we could book privately with him and he arranged everything - including our transfers from and back to Heraklion Airport. We were fortunate enough to get very reasonably priced flights from Glasgow.

The first week, the apartments were very quiet and, understandably, the pool bar was not open. That didn't particularly bother us as we are 'beach' people. The standards of the Elpis had not deteriorated and both Dimitris and Poppy made us feel most welcome.

As 'early-nighters' we were never once disturbed by any external noise from other guests, disco's, etc. The adjacent 'KidsWorld' Club provided entertainment for young Dutch children during the daytime and early evening not beginning until about 9.30-10.00am and 6.00-7.00pm.

We will be back in Bali in three weeks time and are looking forward to another relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Privately

Recommended
Steve
9 years 6 months ago
Very nice clean simple apartments staff friendly esp penny behind the bar.

Resort a little hilly not a problem though maybe a couple more bars needed people like these apatments so much they return year after year after year & here lies the problem. Two weeks in Aug every year the circus (well thats what I call them)rolls into town & you have not got a chance of a sunbed they are down there at 6 every morning (13 of them) with their pillows and sheets.

Unfotunately the ringmaster thinks she owns the Elpis and even moans when a parasol gets put up to protect young children.

Didnt ruin my hols but was a bit pathetic so if you have booked pray the circus isnt in town.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: kosmar

Recommended
Susan
10 years 7 months ago
The apartments are quite basic but really well kept and are a great base for staying in Bali.

We were lucky to have a sea view from the balcony as our room was at the front of the apartment block. Although the road was nearby it didn't really disturb us atall.

The room had a fridge, small hob, pots, pans and kitchen utensils so it was ideal for self catering. There was also a little dining table and chairs in the room.The toilet was fine and had the typical greek handheld shower in it.The maid cleaned the room nearly every day and changed towels and sheets every two days.

Air conditioning was available but we felt it was too expensive at 56 euros per week but this is probably standard.

We didn't use the pool at all and didn't drink in the pool bar but it looked great fun for families. The staff were very helpful and seemed friendly.

On our last day we had a late flight and although we had to be out the room by 12 noon this wasnt a problem, as we were able to leave our cases in reception all day and even had access to a shower in the evening.This was fantastic for us as we spent all day on a boat and on the beach.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kosmar

Recommended
Armstrong
12 years 7 months ago
Elpis Studios and Apartments are very clean and pleasant.

Not very far from any of the three beaches plus it has it's own pool and pool bar. Close to the town (village) centre and also runs it's own car hire with 10% reduction for guests.

All rooms have air conditioning which for a few Euros per night you can use for those particularly hot evenings.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kosmar

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Bali