Image of Chania

Chania Holidays

3 out of 5 from 24 reviews

Hotels in Chania, Greece

Image of Almyrida Beach Resort
7 of 12 hotels in Chania
4 Reviews
Image of Angelica Apartments
4 of 12 hotels in Chania
5 Reviews
Image of Atrion Hotel
3 of 12 hotels in Chania
1 Review
Image of Chrispy Hotel
12 of 12 hotels in Chania
6 Reviews
Image of Daskalakis Apartments
8 of 12 hotels in Chania
4 Reviews
Image of Haridimos Apartments
2 of 12 hotels in Chania
2 Reviews
Image of Karmi Studios & Apartments
10 of 12 hotels in Chania
1 Review
Image of Merabello Apartments
1 of 12 hotels in Chania
3 Reviews
Image of Minoa Palace Resort
5 of 12 hotels in Chania
3 Reviews
Image of Panorama Hotel
10 of 12 hotels in Chania
1 Review
Image of Plaza Santa Marina Hotel
9 of 12 hotels in Chania
2 Reviews
Image of Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows
6 of 12 hotels in Chania
1 Review

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Polly
7 years 7 months ago
We loved Agia Marina!

Around 90% of visitors to the Chania area are Scandinavians so there was no demand for English Sunday Lunch or banagers and mash, which meant a lot of the tavernas still served traditional Greek cuisine.

It's a fairly quiet resort, our eveings revolved around good food in a relaxed atmosphere so I'm not sure if it's a good place for clubbers.

The beach was OK, a bit stony at the water's edge in places.

I've given it 4 for cleanliness, I believe there was a strike by refuse collectors so there was sometimes quite a lot of rubbish piled up but I didn't get the impression that it was like that usually.

We had some of the best food ever in Greece.
A special mention to:
Manilos - wonderful pork chop & rabbit stifado (see what I mean about traditional food?)

Synaxis - extensive range of starters, we ate there most lunchtimes and worked our way through their menu.
With the bread, you get little pots of garlic butter, greek yoghurt mixed with mayonnaise & dill (divine) and chopped tomatoes with olive oil and herbs.
Also a great lamb in garlic with oven roast potatoes (one of their specials). Actually, Kostas (one of the owners) told us that he'd initially thought we were food ctitics. LOL.

Roka - really good moussaka, papoutsakia & soutsoukakia.

Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Tony & Barbara Hodgson
8 years 7 months ago
Tavronitis is set back from the coast, only a 10 min walk. It is a typical small Greek village, with a couple of supermarkets and a few bars and tavernas. NO night clubs or noisy bars. The beach is very rocky but a little walk brings you to some sandy beaches.

A very nice, peacfull, typical Greek village.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
LLoyd
9 years 6 months ago
Only thing you will get out of this holiday is how quiet it is as there is nothing around it and i mean nothing. You have to get a bus or cab into next town platantis which is 1 euro on bus though they are very few and far between or a cab which can be quite expensive every night there and back. Though if you stay in hotel expect no entertainment make ur own you will look at the same faces in the same seats each night of week with the same expressions it like deja vu
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jo Rickaby
10 years 2 months ago
Agia Marina is a small but perfectly equipped resort about a 20 minute bus ride away from Chania. It sits next door to a similar sized resort called platanias and both are awash with shops tavernas hotels and well stocked supermarkets.

The beach was hard packed sand with wonderfully clear gently sloping waters perfect for smaller children and adults alike. there are ample sunbeds and brollies for averyone so again we couldn't really find fault with any aspect of the resort either.

All in all a wonderful holiday destination - hope you have as good a time as we did!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
PAUL NESS
10 years 4 months ago
the resort of almirida is a very freindly resort.tavernas on the street and on one side look onto the beach and sea.few gift shops supermarkets enough to buy what you need on holiday.the beach nice but better for the kids if you turned right out of the hotel.loved the snorkelling and crystal clear sea would return for holiday again as the resort felt so relaxing and calm.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Richard Pechey
10 years 5 months ago
Agia Marina has something for everyone without being overly-commercialised. The beaches are extensive, sandy and easily accessible.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Pat And Norm
11 years 6 months ago
the main street of the resort is narrow with narrow pavements but it was pretty clean.there are lots of bars,restaurents and one or two disco bars.some of the bars are noisy especially when there was a football match on.there did not seem to be many british people in the resort.there are a couple of mini golf games for children and an amusement area.it can be quite noisy at night with the young local lads roaring up and down the main street in there cars.the pavements are vey narrow and uneven and people struggled with pushchairs and i would imagine that it would be even worse for a wheelchair.the beach was good and the sea warm,i went in every day probably because some days the outside temperature was in the 40's.we paid 8 euro's for two beds and a brolly and the hotel beach had a lifeguard on duty for most of the day.we enjoyed the comfort of the hotel and the beach and we would go back again.we only had one drink in the hotel in the evening because there was no atmosphere and again they did not seem to use the air con.there were quite a lot of young people in the resort but it is not a malia it is more for families.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jones
11 years 7 months ago
Can only comment on the period we stayed in Aghia Marina,
apart from the big Scandi Hotels who have in house entertainment, there was nothing within walking distance,car or bus to Chania,Platainas,was the next place and this only had taverna type music.

The resort cleanliness left something to be desired.The beach the hotel backed onto,we would be aware if taking youg children onto it,possible buried dangers,the section next door which was owned by the Scandinavian hotel was always immaculate.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Santa Marina Beach
12 years 2 months ago
Agia Marina is stretched along the main road from Chania to Kasteli. All the taverns, shops,etc. are alongside the road and there is little or no pavement to walk along. This makes strolling difficult. The actual village is a little further up the hill, behind the hotels. There are plenty of places to go to, however and everything you might need is at hand, even Chania is not far if you want more nightlife. The beach is sandy, it was a bit dirty, this might have been due to the rough seas and storms we had during the first week of our stay, I don't know.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Gemma
12 years 3 months ago
There wasnt really much in the surrounding area, and there was only one entertainment night.

This hotel is good for older couples as its quiet, but it is definately not for young couples. There isnt any night life, and there are'nt many surrounding resturants.

There is a Dunes bar resturant which is lovely we ate there almost every night, and its nice english food as it ran by and English family.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Haridimos Apartments
Haridimos Apartments
Chania, Greece
Great Place
Image of Merabello Apartments
Merabello Apartments
Chania, Greece
Great hotel
Image of Daskalakis Apartments
Daskalakis Apartments
Chania, Greece
These apartments are not for swingers but if you w…
Image of Chrispy Hotel
Chrispy Hotel
Chania, Greece
On reading the other reviews and 3 years on this h…
Image of Angelica Apartments
Angelica Apartments
Chania, Greece
Stayed in Angelica apartments and had a great time…
Image of Almyrida Beach Resort
Almyrida Beach Resort
Chania, Greece
just returned from almiryda beach hotel a very cle…
Image of Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
Chania, Greece
The Hotel Atrion is in Agia Marina very close to t…
Image of Plaza Santa Marina Hotel
Plaza Santa Marina Hotel
Chania, Greece
Having read warnings of overbookings,wrong room al…
Image of Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
Chania, Greece
Our room was comfortable and clean. The food was o…
Image of Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows
Sirios Village Hotel & Bungalows
Chania, Greece
The Sirios hotel is excellent in every way, the ro…
Other popular destinations
Image of Sidari
Sidari
Corfu
Image of Pefkos
Pefkos
Rhodes
Image of Stalis
Stalis
Crete
Image of Kalamaki
Kalamaki
Zante
Image of Malia
Malia
Crete
Image of Faliraki
Faliraki
Rhodes
Image of Kardamena
Kardamena
Kos
Image of Hersonissos
Hersonissos
Crete
Image of Kavos
Kavos
Corfu
Image of Roda
Roda
Corfu