Image of Rinela Beach Hotel

Rinela Beach Hotel

3 of 4 hotels in Kokkini Chani

3 out of 5 from 30 reviews
5 stars
Rinela Beach, Kokkini Hani, Crete 71500, Greece

30 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
C Bearcroft
10 years 1 month ago
Although this hotel is on the flight path there is not a lot of noise. Our room was a superior (ask for one) which was lovely with its own mini bar, robes and slippers.

There are several steps to the pool if you have a walking problem ask for a topside room.

The food seemed to be mainly for the Germans and Russians with the Brits coming in third. Saying that there was always plenty to eat and drink at every meal with pleasant staff in a quiet restaurant. Also there is a Chinese restaurant which has to be booked a day in advance, no charge, please try it is lovely.

Our rooms were normally cleaned when we were at breakfast, very quick for such a large hotel. The hotel was spotless with staff clearing up after clients all day.

Kokkini Hani is a small town with a few small shops and restaurants/bars which was no problem to us. A bus runs every 30 minutes in both directions all over the island so you can get around if you want with no problem.

Entertainment was another story. I know we were st the end of the season but the entertainment was dreadfull, hence we stayed in the bar. The childrens rep seemed to think it rather clever to parade the children around the bars at night shouting at the top of their voices, and the management saw nothing wrong in this!! Take ear defenders!

Overall a lovely break and I would go back with no hesitation. Thank you Rinela for a great week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Freedom Direct

Recommended
10 years 2 months ago
Hotel as described by others i.e. same food lunch and dinner. Was has not been said is that if you are in a VIP room at the lowest level ther are 54 steps plus sloping paths to climbe to get to the reception and dining area. If, like me, you suffer from asthma and have bad knees ( or hips) it is a nightmeare climbing up at least three times a day. Also as the hotel is right on the flight path to the airport which is approx 5 miles away there are aircraft flying at 2-300ft above throughout the day and until 1.00 am, sometimes every 5 minutes. Very noisy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Tina
10 years 6 months ago
Food in this hotel very much the same for lunch and dinner.

Breakfast was interesting one day there were cabbages with bacon next day calabrese(broccoli)pancakes which were nice and usual breakfast foods.

Hotel staff alway friendy.

Entertainment well best not say anything. Drinks were good when going to the bar,in the evening it was waiter sevice only and if you did not have a seat forget getting a drink.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Jackie
11 years 3 months ago
booked our holiday only days prior to departure. very apprehensive about the hotel after reading some reviews. we found the hotel to be very clean and pleasant. as it was all inclusive it took away the stress of finding somewhere to eat. the food was excellent with a lot of choice. drinks were on tap all day. the beach was beautiful and the see delightfully warm. even though we do not usually go for holidays which are commercial we were pleasantly surprised that the entertainment (mainly for children) was not really in your face, you could join in if you wished or just relax on a sun lounger. we had a standard room for 4, which was standard but it was very clean and sheets and towels were changed every day. it was adequate for us as we only sleep and shower in it. the only negative point is that the matresses were a little worse for wear and my youngest son had a camp bed (but he said it was ok)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidays4u

Recommended
Hazzie
12 years 2 months ago
I Dont Know Why half Of these comments are bad.

i went to stay at this hotel at the end of summer and the beach and hotel were lovely, all the staff very pleasant and helpful.

i enjoyed my stay here alot and i loved all the great entertainment.

it is child-friendly and just as good for adults and teens.

with all inclusive i could eat what i wanted and good standard whenever, it was nice having a bar next to the pool and on the beach so i was never hungry or thristy.

i would recommend this to anyone.
i thurully enjoy my stay
thankyou rinella beach xx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Chris Young
12 years 3 months ago
Arrived early evening, reception staff very pleasant. Hotel overbooked explained we would be in an apartment for 1 night and then they would up grade us to a vip room. which they did and this was excellent very clean and comfortable with hair dryer and fridge.

The food was very good freshly cooked omlettes and pancakes every morning and a full english breakfast if you wanted it.There was always pork, chicken fish and liver to eat, plus a large salad bar and selection of vegatables, even brussel sprouts. although the same most days you could choose something different.The pizza's in the Taverna were really nice, and the chinese resaurant was excellent. to eat in either of these you had to book in reception the day before, start queueing at 8 am.

The hotel was right on the beach and had a supermarket 100 metres away, buy your bottled water for your room here it is 39c instead of 1 euro 10c.There are a number of gifts shops in walking distance and there is a lovely bakery about fivr minutes walk from the hotel. The bus stop is right outside the hotel and the buses are clearly marked where they are going the drivers are very helpful too!.There is a lovely little train which takes you around the resort well worth the 8 Euro's.The hotel is only a short taxi ride from the airport cost about 20 euro's so is cheaper than some coach transfers and is a lot quicker.

The hotel staf where mainly very friendly i did come across a few that were a bit rude but the good far out weighed the bad. They hosed down all of the pool area every morning and cleaned the beach where possible and would always speak as you approached.They soon got to know what you where drinking and after 5.30pm it would be brought to your table a really nice touch.

The entertainment was available if you wanted to join in. The day time entertainment was good and my teenage son had a great time. The evening entertainment eas alittle 'cheesy' but o.k.. The animation team where very friendly and as the hotel had a large number of international guests caters well for all our needs most spoke at least 6 languages fluently.

Overall I did not think this was a 5* hotel possble 4* but had a very enjoyable holiday and would visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: fleetway travel

Recommended
Amanda
12 years 3 months ago
Stayed at this hotel for a week with two sons aged 17 and 21. Was expecting standards to be a lot higher than they were. Definitely only 2-3 star hotel.

Hotel was overbooked when we arrived and our room was really smelly, someone who smoked really heavily had been in the room before us and it was very unpleasant. Rooms were dark and dingy although reasonably well furnished. There seems to be 3 or 4 different grades of accommodation. We were transferred to a standard room which was clean but very basic but did have a nice view.

Staff were quite unhelpful at times and not very friendly.

Entertainment was very amateur and childish.

Food not bad but the same every day and on every occasion (i.e. breakfast, lunch and dinner) you had to queue before entering the restaurant even though there was numerous empty tables. The Chinese restaurant was good but you had to be queueing at reception from 7.30 am in the morning to get a booking for the following day, if you were lucky. The Taverna was good and the manager and staff were the most friendly we came across at the hotel.

There was definitely not enough sunbeds to accommodate everyone who wanted them and you definitely wouldn't find one vacant if you went down after 9 am. Although the hotel stipulates people cannot reserve them, all beds had towels on them from approximately 7.30 am.

Not a lot to do in the resort only a few bars in Kokkini Hani and they were deserted most nights. The hotel would benefit from a gym and from internet cafe and a better programme of entertainment. There is lots of space in the basement which is unused.

Swimming pools were not cleaned sufficiently. One day a child was sick in the pool and apart from the parent trying to deal with it nobody from the hotel seemed to care. The remnants of sick floated around for a couple of days. Tiles around the pools were broken and dangerous. Lots of steps around the hotel so if you have any mobility problems would not recommend this hotel.

Definitely would not return to this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Excel Holidays

Shelly Olech
12 years 5 months ago
We visited Crete for the first time in June 2006. I found the hotel to be clean and well presented.

The food became a little repetitive, but don't forget you are in Crete!! but there really was enough choice, even for me and I'm wheat intolerant!!

The hotel Rinela Beach is situated directly on the beach, and I must say we were in a standard room which had a beautiful view over the whole resort as well as the sea. The room was clean but basic, bed was a little lumpy but nothing really to complain about.

I had no problems with the staff at all , they were all friendly and helpful. I had read reviews on this hotel and I was dreading this hol, but I wasn't disappointed

All, I will add that this is not a 5 star hotel but I would rate as a 3 star, I would also add that a 5 star in England is going to be different to a 5 star in Crete !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: imperial travel

Recommended
Bill
13 years 4 months ago
Please be aware that when you book for this hotel there is a strong chance that it will be overbooked and they try and put you in a hotel next door which is not even a one star.
The staff were friendly but you did get the odd one! food and hotel overall is 3 star not 5 but it was the best in that area.And if you want a chinese you have to be at reception at 8am the day before and that means on the dot also you must book taverna the day before at reception.

Nothing much outside hotel but if you want to just have a relaxing holiday and not move its ok but we went on the cruise to Santorini that was worth the money.It was nothing to do with company we travelled with it was the hotel that overbooked in the end we got upgrade to a vip room without the vip treatment after one night in the less than one star hotel next door but some people were still ther after 4 days.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Complete Travel Solutions

Sarah Flinders
13 years 4 months ago
Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel on an All Inclusive basis for one week. I was slightly apprehensive about staying here following some of the reviews that I had read. However when we arrived we were greeted by a large and impressive reception area that was extremely clean.

We were checked in within about 5 minutes and the reception lady explained about the hotel and how to book in for the Chinese and Taverna. She gave us a hotel layout sheet showing exactly where our room was situated and how to get there.

We were pleased with our room - like many others we did not rate the room as 5* more like 3*. It was basic but it was clean and and was of a large size also with a good size bathroom. It had everything that we needed so we had no concerns with the room.

The main pool area was of a large size and generally clean. The pool itself was clean except for the tiled edges which had scum around the top - this didn't change all week. However if you were not up by about 8.30am then it is unlikely that you would get a sunbed. Although the hotel has signs saying that reservation of sunbeds with towels or other personal belonging is forbidden and items would be removed this was never enforced. This was also the case on the beach.

The beach itself was nice and the snack bar here very helpful and friendly.

We thought the food in the hotel was extremely good. Although it was the same every day the choice was huge. The food was always fresh and was continuously topped up. The taverna had a lovely fresh salad bar and the pizza's are made in front of you - they were excellent. The Chinese restaurant however was undoubtedly the best. The food was excellent as was the service. Although you have to be at reception by 8am to book (otherwise all places would be taken) we managed to eat here 3 times during our one week stay.

We found the staff generally very helpful and friendly.We came across one or two that were a bit rude but the others more than made up for this.

The animation team were excellent - there was always something going on to suit everyone and they did so much to keep the children occupied and happy. They were all extremely friendly and encouraged people to get involved although left you alone if you did not wish to participate in anything.

Overall we enjoyed our holiday here and had a good week away.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Trust Accommodation

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum