Image of Sunset Apartments

Sunset Apartments

1 of 4 hotels in Kokkini Chani

5 out of 5 from 16 reviews
Kokkíni Khánion, 71500, Greece

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Maxine Penny
9 years 10 months ago
We are what all the people who return to the Sunset are called the re offenders.

We choose to stay here over the years because of its prime location - on the beach.

The Sunset apartments are very basic, spacious and kept very clean by maid Maria. Eva and Manilos are very accomadating and will do all they can to help you.

Although there have been bad reports about the bar man **** I have always found him to be a really nice man with an even nicer family. We were disappointed to say the least when he was not there this year although we did go and visit him.

We met up with alot of re offenders and had some great nights. I could not make up my mind about new bar man **** he just did not do it for me his choice of music I found awful and I do not think he is a chef,he also bad mouthed local resturants which I have eaten over the years, and we have always had great meals year after year. So do not take his word try for yourself !

I do hope to return but hope he has learnt from his mistakes "turning off lights when people are drinking" after all we were on holiday !
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Steve&Tracey
9 years 10 months ago
Having stayed at these apartments last year, we were looking forward to our return this year, we were not disappointed. Jon the new bar man was fantastic, funny, entertaining and cooked a mean breakfast!!Amanda and Theresa also were very friendly and we had many enjoyable evenings in their company, with excellent food and making new friends and renewing old acquaintances. There was no annoying all-night Karaoke until 5am like last year, thank goodness. An excellent place to stay with young children if you like a quiet relaxing holiday, which we do!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Julie, Charlie And Joe
9 years 10 months ago
we have just returned from the sunset apts and thorouhly enjoyed our stay the rooms were basic although clean the location was brilliant as it was right at the edge of the sea, eva and manilos were very friendly and helpful as were the other staff, amandas meals were very good and john the barman was very friendly with a sense of humour, we would definately go back again although there was not much for our 15 year old son to keep him occupied although he did enjoy it, also beware the RAKI
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: libra

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
We stayed there this year, and were disappointed to find Mike and Nikki were not there..

John the new bar man is okay ...but there was no Greek music or dancing around the pool after his Greek nights...

In fact he closed at 2am whether guests were still there or not and turned the lights off on them. It was like drinking in an English pub ....when we asked about the dancing and music all he would say was the english don't like things like that...in fact he said " I know what the english want " ...to be honest if I had wanted to go to an english pub that played 60's music all day and night I would have gone to Blackpool. We talked with our feet and hardly spent anytime there.

Although we did find Mike and Nikki, they are doing well where they are and Nikki looks fantastic. Mike is still cooking and his food is still fantastic...if they did have a small hotel we would be staying there next year alas they don't :(
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Liz Mick Jim Tiff Ellis
9 years 10 months ago
The rooms are very basic but clean towels are in short supply in fact ours were only changed 3 times in 2 weeks also we had to buy our own toilet roll.The appartments are on the beach and the pool area is very clean.The owners are really nice and very friendly as are the bar staff especially Amanda and Theresa who are both good cooks especially Amanda.John the bar man I foud a little bit pushy and was rude on acouple of occasions when asked for somthing to eat for our Grandson it was if it was to much trouble and not worth his time he also bad mouthed some of the local restaurants which was a bit unfair.We also found the music around the pool a bit boring and repetative.
The bar did shut around 2am but that was late enough although I dont think the lights should be turned of if people are still sitting there.
We thought the BBQ night was quite expensive and so did not bother with the Greek night. We did enjoy ourselves and met some lovely people who were all good company has were most of the people there but would not return .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: libra

Recommended
Goodwin
9 years 11 months ago
Very well positioned hotel only 19 rooms direct access to the long sandy beach.

Please ensure that your room faces the sea otherwise you will spend your vacation trying to get some sleep as the main road runs past the rear of the hotel and until the new road is open heavy trucks,buses,cars,motorbikes,scooters,roar past 24hrs a day,just past your balcony. We requested a change of room but of no avail there are only 4 rooms facing this road if you draw the short straw be warned.

Across the road is a roman archeological site and collection. The beach is safe for children and if you are at the front lucky you, the sunset over the sea is fantastic but you will not see it from your room at the rear.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: libra

Recommended
Mrs Rebecca Smith
9 years 11 months ago
I have just come back from sunset apartments in Crete, we booked as a honeymoon as we have just got married. The apartments are lovely, although basic they are very clean, the maid emptys bin's daily and cleans on a regular basis etc...
Eva makes you feel very welcome and at home and John and Amanda the bar staff are brilliant, always happy to help and up for a laugh. They also cook brilliant meals and they also do a greek night and bbq night which I highley recomend as the food is out of this world.
In all we had a brilliant honeymoon and what more could you ask for with the beach right on your door step.
Just want to thank all at sunset apartments for a brilliant stay and for making us feel so welcome.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra Holidays

Recommended
John Mooney
9 years 11 months ago
We stayed at the Sunset in July 2008, Kokini Hani is a very very quiet resort catering for people looking for a chilled out hassle free break.

The Sunset are nice friendly family run apartments, though rooms are basic they are very large, clean and it is ideally situated if you are a beach lover, one small flight of steps away from the bar and you are in the sea !!! There are few small well stocked super markets wthin walking distance and it,s worth an early evening walk along the baech to sample some of the beach bars.

Eva the owner is friendly and even made efforts to teach me some Greek, John who ran the bar last year was a star nothing was to much trouble for him and his cooked breakie is the dogs bollox, he never forgets a name (as he writes them all down nice touch we thought)and Amanda who did the bar and cooking of an evening was a great laugh,although we never tried her cooking several guests did and all seemed to enjoy the Greek night.The pool bar is a great place to start your early evening before heading off to eat in one of the few eating houses around the apartments.

Just opposite the apartments in a gyros type snack bar we called the shack that was open all hours and did a terrific greek style mixed grill and some tradional Greek dishes at a non pocket busting price.There are several other good quality eating places most offer mainly Greek food, pizza and steaks.

Once you have a full belly if you fancy a nightcap it,s back to the pool bar where the hard working John and Amanda will force you to drink Raki until 2 in the morning and entertain you with John,s very old school taste in music and friendly banter.

All in all a great place to stay and spend some real quality time with your partner and just chill out.

Oh did i mention we are going back next week, John, Carin says poached eggs please and a sea view please Eva!!! ☺

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: LIBRA

Recommended
10 years ago
Last minute self-catering holiday.

The Sunset Apartments are a small concern (under 20 units), situated about 15 minutes
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Michelle
10 years 1 month ago
We stayed here for one week during the half term holiday in May. We found the apartments very clean on arrival.

Maria cleaned the apartments once during the stay and changed the linen once but emptied bins daily.

The communal areas were very clean and a book exchange was in the reception area too which was handy. The pool was lovely and all the children were never out of the pool.

The location of the resort is wonderful as when they say its on the beach they truly mean it is on the beach. Dont be too alarmed when you arrive at the apartments as you cant see the beach or sea and you may think you can be conned but when you walk to the pool and bar area you simply wont believe your eyes.

John, Theresa and Amanda are very friendly and helpful and the food is all home cooked and the beer is cheapish and drinkable.

John makes a great bbq on a Thursday night and the Greek night on a Sunday is worth going to as well.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly and you will come home feeling chilled out.

Kokkini Hani had very little excitement as is just one road but jump on the bus which stop right outside the apartments and travel to Agios Nickolas and see all the other towns on offer close by.

Don't be conned into buying trips from the rep especially the trip to Spinilonga, you can do it for a fraction of the price at your own pace very very easily. If time is a factor dont waste it by going to the capital Herklion as nothing to do there and expensive.

If you are after a fun day out the nearby Water City is fab and again dont book it through the rep, ask for a taxi which only costs 10 euro and pay on the gate as it works out cheaper.

We would go back mainly for how welcome we were made to feel by John Theresa and Amanda and that fantastic view.

Mike and Nikki no longer run the bar as mentioned in previous reports.
Enjoy.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: libra

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum