Image of Apollon Aparthotel

Apollon Aparthotel

16 of 24 hotels in Rethymno

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
Rethymnon, Crete, Greece

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Basic but clean
7 years 1 month ago
The hotel is quite basic just needs a lick of paint here and there. However, it is very clean and the staff go overboard to meet your every needs.

It is about 10 to 15 minutes’ walk to the beach, bars and restaurants down a road and under the bridge. However, there are a couple of restaurants, supermarket and bakers close by.

If you have a car there is also a Lidl nearby which is very convenient.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Faye
9 years 11 months ago
This is a warm and friendly base for a holiday. It was an excellent place to have a drink at the end of the day and catch up with fellow holiday makers. Staff were always friendly and helpful and we had no complaints about the facilities.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
10 years 1 month ago
very clean & tidy, staff always cleaning.
food available at the bar in the day time & a cooked breakfast by Rita if wanted (7 euro for a full english)
the hotel is located in a lovely area, close to all amenities.
every single member of the staff were excellent & friendly.lefty the barman pours a mean ouzo!!! & georgia the day time bar girl is lovely & makes you feel very welcome.Maria and all the receptoin staff always have a warm smile & welcome as are the wonderful owners. Thank you for a fab holiday xx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: t. cook

Recommended
Amanda
11 years 3 months ago
The Appollon is a definite favourite holiday destination for me and my family and friends. We return every other year and look forward to seeing the friendly faces at the reception as we arrive. One of the receptionists actually remembered that my mam was wearing the same top as she had the last time she came!!
All rooms we have stayed in have been clean, tidy and accommodate for everything we need for a relaxing holiday.
The location is ideal for us, as we like to be set back a little, and enjoy a walk after our evening meal down at the local taverna.
The entertainment is low key, but fun when you join in, and if all else fails, Lefti the legendary bar man will always provide a good laugh!
We will be returning again soon and we are looking forward to it.
No complaints whatsoever!! See you soon , The Price Family. xxx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
John Swindells
12 years ago
This was our first visit to Crete. It will not be our Last.

We made an excellent choice in the Apollon and Platanias.

Rethymnon is about 55 mins transfer from the airport just sit back and enjoy the views.

The Apollon has very friendly staff and the rooms are very spacious well maintained and very clean. The pool area is large and we never struggled to get a sun bed at any time of the day. A small shop at the apartments was very competitively priced.

The walk down to the resort centre took us around 10 mins and about 15mins to walk back up the hill. This walk was needed on the way back in the evening following the excellent food to be found in Platanias. Just made us ready for a couple of drinks at the hotel bar before bed and with Lefty the barman mixing some great drinks and making everyone welcome it became difficult to retire early.

We love Greece and Crete has become one of our favourites with much of the island still to see.

It is easy to see why people go back to the Apollon year after year; we net several who were returning again and again.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Jet
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel was lovely. Rooms (studio for2 ) were large, clean and spacious.

Pool area was great - large pool and seperate childrens pool. Plenty sun loungers and table and chairs.

Staff very friendly.

Food (NO BREAKFAST) was ok, nothing great.

The only reason we would not return to this hotel is the location. Its about 10mins walk to Platanes but at night the road can be quite dark. We would have preferred to have been on the main street of Adele.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Jet
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel was lovely. Rooms (studio for2 ) were large, clean and spacious.

Pool area was great - large pool and seperate childrens pool. Plenty sun loungers and table and chairs.

Staff very friendly.

Food (NO BREAKFAST) was ok, nothing great.

The only reason we would not return to this hotel is the location. Its about 10mins walk to Platanes but at night the road can be quite dark. We would have preferred to have been on the main street of Adele.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Gillian
12 years 11 months ago
Studios very big,clean,good size, plenty of room to move about in them. Cleaned twice the whole week I was there.

I was at first placed in a studio to the side of the pool bar, bad move if you went out there to relax (like I was) as the music was fairly loud until between 1am and 2am.

Also people staying by the bar until the early hours and laughing and carrying on like it was the middle of the afternoon!!!

I asked to be moved and did move to a room further down away from the pool area but I still heard the noise coming from the bar even though my balcony faced the other side!!! I grinned and beared it for the last few nights of my holiday.

If you are going here, if you do want peace and quiet then request a quiet room with a mountain view at the back of the accomodation as these are quiet!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Erika & Dawn
13 years ago
I am a travel agent and I have stayed at this property for the past 3 years, I holiday with my mum and the location suites us both perfectly. It is set slightly back from the beach but it's only a five minute walk, so not a great distance.

The rooms are clean and plenty big enough for 2 in a studio, the pool area is kept very clean and there are plenty of sunbeds.

The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful, especially the bar staff (a mean cocktail or two i've had)!! Yes the bar stays open late, and as the holiday progresses and people make friends there tends to be more noise but surely thats part of a holiday. It's also family friendly although of all the times I've been there has never been a lot of children.

All in all I'd recommend this property to anyone wanting a laid back simple relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum