Image of Rethymno

Rethymno Holidays

3 out of 5 from 80 reviews

Hotels in Rethymno, Greece

Image of Apollon Aparthotel
16 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
9 Reviews
Image of Bio Suites Apartments
4 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
2 Reviews
Image of Bueno Hotel Apartments
6 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
6 Reviews
Image of Camari Garden Apartments
15 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
5 Reviews
Image of Creta Marine Iberostar Hotel
8 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
9 Reviews
Image of Creta Panorama Iberostar Hotel
9 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
13 Reviews
Image of Creta Star Hotel
22 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
7 Reviews
Image of Eva Bay Hotel
20 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
2 Reviews
Image of Golden Beach Hotel
21 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
3 Reviews
Image of Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
13 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
2 Reviews
Image of Ideon Hotel
4 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
2 Reviews
Image of Jason Apartments Hotel
1 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
1 Review
Image of Lefkoniko Beach Complex Apartments
7 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
3 Reviews
Image of Minos Hotel
14 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
1 Review
Image of Minos Mare Royal Hotel
18 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
5 Reviews
Image of Orion Hotel
23 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
2 Reviews
Image of Palladion Hotel
19 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
4 Reviews
Image of Pearl Beach Hotel
3 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
7 Reviews
Image of Pepi Studio Apartments
17 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
6 Reviews
Image of Porto Rethymnon
10 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
5 Reviews
Image of Radamanthys Apartments
24 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
1 Review
Image of Rithymna Beach Hotel
12 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
4 Reviews
Image of Theartemis Palace Hotel
10 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
5 Reviews
Image of Villa Maroulas
1 of 24 hotels in Rethymno
The best Villa in Maroulas Village. River beach is a great place for sunset and to eat fish.
1 Review

80 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    27
  • Good
    32
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Dizzdy2000
7 years ago
The beach is gritty sand but the sea can be very rough and there are many rocks and pebbles at the shore making it quite difficult to get in and out of the sea. With water shoes it would be far easier.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Alan And Gill
7 years 1 month ago
platanes is a bit scruffy poor beach nice pubs avoid restaraunt vergenia keep trying to add items not ordered and the poorest food in crete . the main resort of rethmynon only 8 euros by taxi is stunning contains a lovely beach excellant shops and wonderful restaraunts especially othonas highly recommended
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Pat And Allan
8 years 2 months ago
Only spent one day in Rithymna. Good selection of shops in both the old town and new town. Plenty of restaurants specially around the harbour where it is more expensive to eat and drink.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jim
8 years 3 months ago
This is our third visit to rethymnon, and it has everything you'd want in a resort. However, this visit was spoiled for us by a trip we had on the "red train"

We've had a couple of excursions on the yellow train, and really enjoyed them. Last week we had the misfortune of going on the Talos Express, the red train.

We wanted to visit the village of Margarites; the yellow train didn't go there (or we missed seeing it), while the red train promised a trip to Eleftherna followed by "the village of ceramics Margarites where you will be shown the art of ceramic production".

When we booked the trip we were told to pay on the train; surprising, but a possible reason became clear after the trip.

When the train arrived we had a further surprise. On the yellow train all the seats face forward. On the red train seats face forward and backwards. So when there are four people in a car their knees press against the bench seat opposite. We then had a fifth person added, making the entire journey uncomfortable. With eight people in, it would be hell for all of them.

The guide provides a commentary in, I believe, two languages. Unfortunately the speakers in the car we were in were so bad that I couldn't even tell which language he was speaking. I then noticed that he had the microphone next to his mouth, making his speech incomprehensible anyway.

After we all had to get out and walk, in one village, so that the train could get up a hill , we arrived at a taverna alongside the remains of Ancient Eleftherna. The guide would not tell us how long we would be there. He took those who wanted to go on a walk to see a Roman cistern. On his return, he still wouldn't tell us how long we'd be there.

We eventually left the taverna nearly two hours after we'd arrived. I was surprised when we passed a turn-off marked for Margarites, and even more surprised when we headed straight back to the coast.

At the first opportunity I asked the guide why we hadn't been to Margarites; he said there was a "police blockade" and we couldn't go there. I asked how long they'd known of this, and he said about a week! When I asked why we hadn't been warned about this when we booked, he said I'd have to take this up with the booking agent!. No point in that of course - I can't ask for part of my money back because they don't have my money. He then disappeared quickly.

Another English traveller who'd heard this told me that they'd been told me exactly the same thing last year!

We were dropped off at the red train office; unfortunately it appeared that no-one there spoke a word of English.

This was the penultimate day of our holiday, so we were very disappointed. If the excuse was true, then they should have told their agents to warn those seeking to make bookings. The local bus is not an option; apart from an early morning bus there's one from Rethymnon at 13:00, returning from Margarites at 14:00.

In this country, there would be various options for complaint. Alas, the only remedy we have is to post this warning on as many relevant websites as I can find.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jay + D Guirdham
8 years 3 months ago
the resort is very compact as there is just one long road with restarants and bars down both sides. La Strada is a cocktail bar and the owner never forgets you, he always says hello and smiles if you see him walking on the street. There is also Jjs bar run by a english couple who have been in crete quite a few years,they have a little girl who is a delight, she plays with all the tourists kids. They have a quiz nite and always make everyone welcome. The best resturant we think is the Sky park, the food is very good and the staff are friendly and nothing is too much for them. If you tire of motakis village (this is the name of the area where bueno is situated) you can jump in a taxi and for 7euro be in rethymon in 10 minutes. Theres loads to do and explore fine food and historc buildings too much to write about,but youll definitly love it.We love bueno and all the people the bars,resturants and best of all the brill weather its always sunny.The beach is ok, we arent beach people but the sea is clear(when its not breezy) and the sand is abit shingle and sharp so always wear shoes.When you get near the sea the sand does get finer and it is a lot softer underfoot. All in all anyone who doesnt enjoy there holiday at the bueno is crazy. We love it its like our second home, if you go in 2011 we might see you there. Happy holiday!!!!!!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jean And Malcolm
8 years 4 months ago
Rethmynon is a busy working town with a few shops in the old town.It isn't what I would call pretty although the harbour area is quite nice.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Richard Parker
8 years 11 months ago
Places to see. Crete is one huge archaeology site.

Knossos, of course. Bus to Iraklio. Visit the temporary museum first and then bus out to Knossos.
Phaestos to see an even larger Minoan site. Car needed to reach it. Home of the Disc and the first movable typeface.
Panormo. We usually walked the 3 km along the very quiet old road. Plenty to see. Good bars and restaurants. Beach, harbour, boat trips. Noddy Train back.
Rethymnon. Capital of Prefecture. Fine old town. Splendid must-visit Fort. Very good harbour. Small museum. Bus tickets €1.70 each way available from Hotel shop. Cannot pay on bus.
Chania. Capital of Chania Prefecture. Lovely city. Original Island capital. Beautiful Venetian harbour and Pharos. Splendid Turkish cruciform Agora (market). Fort now sadly mangled but huge buttresses still intact. Bus to Rethymon bus station and bus to Chania.

Local transport.

Bus stop outside hotel for buses to Rethymnon/ Chania (West) or Iraklio (East) along the E75 Highway. Best of all, The Noddy Train, which operates tours around the villages in the mornings (c. €15 to €20) and hourly bus services to and from Panormo from 14:00 to 22:00 (€2 each way). Car hire available from the Hotel at €30 per day for any driver (small car). Taxi service from hotel gates if required. Charges board clearly shown at entrance.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Lesley Miller
8 years 11 months ago
Girano is about 10 minutes drive from Rethymno - there isnt too much at Girano but Rethymno is a busy resort with lots of restaurants and bars. Georgeopoulas was 10 mins in the other direction and was lovely very pretty.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Justin Addison
9 years ago
My wife and I absolutely loved Rethymnon, we fell in love with it immediately and if only it was a little cheaper I would go there every year.

Not a good place to go if you want to go clubbing every night although there is one nightclub but we didn't go in.
However, if you want a hot, traditional, clean and interesting place to holiday, you can't go wrong here. Plenty of restaurants and not too pushy to get you to eat. The locals are very friendly and seem honestly genuine.

Also, be sure to visit the Fortezza (Fortress), its only a 10 minute walk from the hotel and has some fantastic views (remember to take your camera).
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
David Alexander Sturgeon
9 years 3 months ago
nice resort a bit spread out old town has plenty to see harbour is lovely but very pricey for food everywhere was pricey for drinks beer £3.00plus g&t £5.00plus soft drinks and coffees £2.ooplus
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Lefkoniko Beach Complex Apartments
Lefkoniko Beach Complex Apartments
Rethymno, Greece
Great for Families/Couples
Image of Villa Maroulas
Villa Maroulas
Rethymno, Greece
An amazing place to rent in Crete
Image of Creta Marine Iberostar Hotel
Creta Marine Iberostar Hotel
Rethymno, Greece
Fantastic
Image of Apollon Aparthotel
Apollon Aparthotel
Rethymno, Greece
Basic but clean
Image of Rithymna Beach Hotel
Rithymna Beach Hotel
Rethymno, Greece
As a regular Thomson Platinum hotel guest this est…
Image of Ideon Hotel
Ideon Hotel
Rethymno, Greece
This is our third visit to this hotel; though we'r…
Image of Bueno Hotel Apartments
Bueno Hotel Apartments
Rethymno, Greece
Great place to unwind
Image of Creta Panorama Iberostar Hotel
Creta Panorama Iberostar Hotel
Rethymno, Greece
What a shame that what could be a great hotel is s…
Image of Camari Garden Apartments
Camari Garden Apartments
Rethymno, Greece
The hotel was in a very quiet location we hired a …
Image of Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Rethymno, Greece
We stayed in the ElGreco in July 09 and it is a su…
Image of Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
Rethymno, Greece
good hotel good value good location would use it a…
Image of Pepi Studio Apartments
Pepi Studio Apartments
Rethymno, Greece
Just back from our second visit to Pepi studios. A…
Image of Pearl Beach Hotel
Pearl Beach Hotel
Rethymno, Greece
This was our 5th year at the Pearl Beach. We trav…
Image of Theartemis Palace Hotel
Theartemis Palace Hotel
Rethymno, Greece
We paid supplements for pool view rooms which were…
Other popular destinations
Image of Sidari
Sidari
Corfu
Image of Pefkos
Pefkos
Rhodes
Image of Stalis
Stalis
Crete
Image of Kalamaki
Kalamaki
Zante
Image of Malia
Malia
Crete
Image of Faliraki
Faliraki
Rhodes
Image of Kardamena
Kardamena
Kos
Image of Hersonissos
Hersonissos
Crete
Image of Kavos
Kavos
Corfu
Image of Roda
Roda
Corfu