Image of Creta Star Hotel

Creta Star Hotel

22 of 24 hotels in Rethymno

3 out of 5 from 7 reviews
5 stars
Skaleta, Rethymnon, Crete, 74100, Greece

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
John
11 years 8 months ago
Hotel is very clean the food is excellent plenty of it all day long.

Locatoin isnt very good but if you want a relexing holiday where you just laze about and relax this is the place. The drinks are very good flow all day whith good choices for every one the hotel staff very friendly and do anthing to help you the entertainment is good the animation team is exellent you get a lot of Germans Italians and French but are all friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Phil
11 years 8 months ago
I actually have fond memories of my stay here.

Yes the apartments are extremely basic.

Yes not overly clean (the old lady did try hard though)
Yes bar staff are rarely seen.

We stayed on the "top half" of the apartments where the pool is, almost felt like we had the place to oursleves, especially 4-6pm when the families where going out for tea. Nice to sit and chillby the pool. Good view.

There was a flea infestation when we where there, although we could laugh about it I did feel sorry for some of the families and small kids.

Our rep was atrocious.

Good base for exploring Crete with a hire car. Would prefer to go back here than the 20's something resorts like Malia.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Paul
12 years 4 months ago
Spent a week here in October 2005,found it to be very clean apart from when the gardens are watered(smells like they use sewage water).food and drink was plentiful and varied. The location situated on the beach front is ideal if you don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: air tours

12 years 6 months ago
This was an all inclusive 4 star hotel. It is situated 12 km from Rethymnon. The rooms were kept clean, but around and about the hotel smelt very strongly of human waste to put it nicely. We were given armbands to wear, which we were used to having been all inclusive before, however there were different coloured bands, we assumed were dependant on arrival date etc.

We were disturbed to find that the colour denoted the fact that we were English. All the people(english) that we spoke to felt that they were treated differently from other guests, this I did agree with, we felt quite uncomfortable a lot of the time.

We found the hotel too far out from any shops, bars etc. we did walk it one day but it is over 8 miles. Buses are available, but are not reliable.

The beach was not to our liking at all, the brochures say something like, 6km of soft sandy beach. The waves were massive, the undertow very dangerous, not suitable for children at all as the beach drops very rapidly as well.

The beach was awarded a blue flag but we could not sit on it as it smelt, was very noisy(the waves) and was untidy.

The staff we found were not very helpful at all, this was the feeling of all the english we spoke to.

The entertainment was predominantly performed by the animation team who worked very hard. We felt there should be more 'proper entertainment' as the hotel is so remote, we saw only one outside entertainer in the 2 weeks we stayed there.

We would definately not return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: air tours

12 years 7 months ago
The Creta Star Hotel is located in a small resort called Skalata 8 miles outside Rethymnon very little else in Skalata.

This is quite a large hotel 342 rooms on 6 floors everything is spotless and cleaned daily the rooms are a good size and well equipped hairdryer, satalite tv etc.


The food is really well presented with a wide choice and lots of it you would never starve here although after 2 weeks it does get a bit boring with the same thing over and over again, fish lovers will love it here but if you dont like fish like me then the choice narrows a bit.

The drinks are great basically anything you want and free flowing all over the hotel as are soft drinks and ice creams.

The staff are helpfull and friendly the animation team are amazing, adults and kids will love it here if you want to relax you can, if you want a fun active holiday you can also get that here.

The only thing I would say about this hotel is that when I was there it was more Italian, German and french with a few dutch people, out of about 700 people only 17 were English this never bothered me but it may put some people off.

Rethymnon is 8 miles away a taxi costs 10 euros each way and is well worth a visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Creta Star Appartments
13 years 6 months ago
Our holiday at Creta Star Appartments was booked as two couples on a bed and breakfast basis. Creta Star appartments is a self catering only and incorrectly booked through Manos.

The appartments are basic with the bare essentials required for self catering. The appartment was cleaned daily although the cleanliness in Crete is not the same as UK.The complex is old and access is by steps to the appartments both north and south of a busy road.

The main appartment area has a swimming pool which is small and quite dangerous for small children (it was not kept very clean). There is a reception which we found only when leaving to move into different accommodation and this is manned by a lady that also runs the pool bar. Her english is not very fluent and if you have any problems before 1130 am there is not any one to help.

The appartments are not well maintained our door handle fell off as did our friends and another family who was staying there. These were not repaired whilst we stayed there. The steps at the main entrance to the complex take you straight onto the road on a blind bend this also very dangerous.

On the whole I would not recomend these appartments to anyone especially a family with young children.

Elounda is 6kms over a very steep hill and the centre of Aghios Nikolaos is 3 kms away.

I am surprized that Manos have this in their brochure it does them no favours everybody that arrived whist we were there complained to the rep who seemed pretty inepted at dealing with any of the problems.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: manos

Lean
13 years 8 months ago
Self Catering - fridge and 2 rings.

Location - terrible 1hour walk to main resort - no mention this in brochure.

Also our room was at the bottom of 100 steps overlooking a dried up river bed - nice. On the last day we were told we could use the guest room. Well I have never seen anything so disgusting in my life I would imagine that all animals live better than this.

Staff - only saw 1 girl who worked at the bar and a 90 year old lady that did her best with cleaning.

Entertainment - none.

Would certainly not visit again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Manos

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum