Image of Pericles Hotel

Pericles Hotel

3 out of 5 from 28 reviews
Sami, 28080, Greece

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Greekgoddess
Lovely setting
7 years 10 months ago
Have just come back from a week at the Pericles hotel, the setting is good, the location a bit of a way from Sami 20mins walk so you do need a car to get around.

The hotel is should not be classed as a 3star hotel as the rooms were poor standard and not very clean ,I don't think under the bed had been cleaned for years and the bathroom left much to be desired.

Breakfast was the worst I have ever had, so basic ,toast or cold hardboiled egg, cereal, no choice only corn flakes. If you wanted bacon eggs or anything different you had to pay extra for it.

Stelios the host is not the friendliest of people always peering around one corner or another. The receptionists were very helpful and friendly though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Dent
8 years ago
2 star? no maybe 1 food just eatable b,fast. best walk down back lane. entertainment?? noisey. pool ok but pricey. if it wasnot for a few couples met there it would have have been beter to sleep in the hire car. thanks to Hugh & Netta, Nige & Sand. it made bearable
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Jeanette
8 years ago
We had a fabulous holiday at the Pericles. Stelios - the Manage - was great, friendly, bought us drinks. The situation of the hotel great - we walked down the back road which was well lit and very safe. It took about 15 minutes to saunter down, just a nice walk away from the centre. We had no noise in the hotel, the rooms were cleaned daily, the air con was turned on at the beginning of July which was welcome. The room was more than adequate and impressed they had lights beside the mirror in the bedroom. Staff were lovely, Thelos behind the bar was a character, he brought his own music which was varied and enjoyable for all ages. We shall be going back again same time next year. Breakfast was basic but it was fine to start the day with. You could order cooked breakfast food, they were happy to oblige. Yes pool prices were more expensive, but is that not to be expected. The prices of a bottled beer or cocktails seemed to be on par with the bars and restaurants outside the hotel. For the price we paid for the holiday it was fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mrs. Patel
8 years 9 months ago
I would recommend Sami as a resort, the harbour, beaches, tavernas .... are excellent, without the feel of being in crowds and high-rise buildings. The hotel however, needs to listen to the comments posted by holiday makers:
* yes, the room is basic and clean, although too crowded by excess furniture (2 coffee-type tables posted at the end of beds, leaving only about 30 cm to walk around),
* the showers were good but not on the wall unit and small
* no fridge (in September the temp. was averaging in the 30s)
* the breakfast is so basic that for the first time, I wish I had gone self-catering!! Just one type of bread, one type of yoghurt, tea and coffee from large water urns, cold hard boiled eggs ......
* the prices of drinks and snacks (from pool area) were exceptionally high.
* apart from the 'good morning' from the manager and Nina and her colleague at reception, the other staff barely raised a smile, never mind friendly chatter.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson cook

Maria Osborne
8 years 10 months ago
We stayed in the Pericles Hotel and found the breakfast very basic with no variation day to day. The decor and cleanliness of the hotel was fairly good but the showers over the bath could be made better by being attached to the wall! The food was basic and poolside snacks were expensive for the amount served. The location of the hotel was fairly good but a dangerous walk into Sami with no pavement and streetlights out. (not good for less agile people) The staff at the hotel I found to be unsociable except the lady on reception who was nice. Entertainment exceptionally poor offering only one night of Karaoke and one quiz night in the week!! very 1980's. The hotel needed a traditional twist (ie greek night) to encourage holiday makers to socialise in the hotel, and the cd needs updating from constantly playing Cher. The bar in the hotel closes at midnight which is quite early especially when you are halfway through your drink and the lights and music are turned off!! (Talk about have you put the cat out!) I wouldnt visit Kefalonia or this hotel again, the whole resort personally for us was far too quiet.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

M Willis
8 years 11 months ago
Hotel is good standard, but location just that too far away from resort. Breakfast is adequate. We knew there wasn't a fridge in the rooms before we went but you don't realise just how much one is needed. If you have been out walking etc, the only place to get a cold drink is from the pool bar, which is 100 yards from the hotel, and the prices are a rip- off compared to Sami. Why they did not sell cold drinks in the afternoon baffled me.On our last day waiting for the coach we enquired if we could get a tea or coffee.The recepionist made us one from behind the bar which was shut. 5 Euros for a smallcup of tea and a cup of instant coffee. They could make a lot of money, because a lot of customers said they would have loved to sit on the terraces and enjoy a cold drink in the shade, rather than go down to the pool area.It is a very peaceful location,but this hotel could be improved by some minor changes. If you have walking problems the taxis charge 5 Euros (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Wedding Party
8 years 11 months ago
My nephew and his new wife stayed here with two kids - aged 4 and 18 months. We stayed in town at the Thodora Hotel. He booked through Thomson - we booked ourselves on line. The Pericles was like a prison camp, we went to visit him but were not allowed in the rooms, which were cramped and noisey. The rooms in our independently owned hotel in town were larger, with a nicer balcony and view. If you want a hotel with a pool then you may consider the Pericles - otherwise stay in a the pretty town of Sami. It has quaint pebbly beaches and lots of restaurants and tavernas to suit all tastes and budgets, and you do not have the treacherous 15min walk into town without sidewalks which is dangerous at night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Grove
9 years 8 months ago
For breakfast there was a reasonable selection of food but the quality left a lot to be desired. No fresh fruit was available and the fruit juice was squash. The condensed milk in the tea didn't help. We had the buffet meal on our first night and that was good for hotel food.
We didn't go to Sami to spend time in the hotel so can't really comment on the entertainment or the pool.
However we did want to sleep! You won't sleep in this hotel unless you bring ear plugs. We asked to be moved after our first night because of the noise - you could hear a pin drop in the room above and combined with the echoing greek style rooms/corridor with music coming through from the bar we were struggling. Coupled with uncomfy beds and hard pillows we were miserable. Fortunately in the morning we had a word with our rep. As it turns out the staff were very understanding and moved us right to the end of the corridor with no one in any of the rooms next to ours and provided a range of pillows. The bed and room in general was far better. The local pharmacy sold ear plugs so we began a very enjoyable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Geoff Edmonds
9 years 9 months ago
cannot fault this hotel on cleanliness, room cleaned every day, staff quite good, friendly and reasonably helpful, although the manager is very strict when it comes to switching off tv and closing the bar, the air con was switched off whilst we were there with day temps of 40c, apparently thomas cook will only pay up until the end of august, bar prices are high 3 euro for bottled lager, 6 euro for cocktails, breakfast the usual plastic ham cheese and boiled eggs, the milk for cereal awful, hot watered down carnation yuk., bottled water is dearer than outside, pablos the barman is a good guy very polite and good to engage in conversation, the pool is good and has bar fascilties with loungers and chairs, the hotel is about a 15 min walk to sami town centre, all in all a good place to stay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
The breakfast was the same everyday, and not too bad considering the price we paid. The evening meal was repeated the second week and didnt eat in the hotel very much, the hotel staff were very good, although the manager was a complete nightmare! My husband was also in a wheelchair and the amount of steps and the marble floor not very user friendly!!! And the rep, coming to the end of the season, think she looking forward to going home rather than doing her job!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum