Image of Albatross Apartments

Albatross Apartments

5 of 17 hotels in Kefalos

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
Kamari Kefalos, Kefalos 85301, Greec

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Simon Arbon
Great complex and amenities
7 years 2 months ago
I think the other reviews refer to when it was under different management from what I gather, the BBQ nights are no more,.

This is a truly wonderful place, the location is great,it is just across a single track un-busy road to the beaches. There is a small harbour frequented by super yachts, which shows how nice a bay it is for them to visit.

There are loads of restaurants and cafes, there is a bus stop 1 min walk away and the service is OK and we used it to travel into the village at the top of the hill, and then walk down. However there is no need to go into the village at all, all the amenities you could need are only a short walk away down the bay on a flat road, shops service till etc.

Recommend Caption Johns Sebastions and the Akropol bar, all had repeat visit from us, but to be fair we never had a bad meal anywhere we went.

Back to the apartments, free aircon, free airport transfers all booked over the internet and paid for when we got there. The staff could not be more friendly. I would have no hesitation in returning again or recommending this place to anybody. Not sure it would suit small children but our teens loved the free wifi at the bar area and pool.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Phil
9 years 2 months ago
The hotel manager met us off the transfer coach and we thought the welcome was fantastic (helped us with our cases)..... until he said he had some good news and some bad news. Long story short, we arrived only to be told that for our second week we would have to move rooms to allow children to stay on the ground floor - we chose this place as it was adults only !! Needless to say we did NOT swap rooms half way through our holiday.
Ex pats dominated the place and at every opportunity they used the facilities including the BBQ nights(for guests put on by the owners), darts nights and quiz nights but you are expected to spend an awful lot of money as the night can drag on. We met some fantastic people on the first BBQ night but they left a few days later, the next group were not so fantastic and were repeat visitors who got on well with the managers. Needless to say that was the only organised event we attended as they turned into all night drinking sessions and got a bit loud until the early hours. The owners who put the BBQ on (very generous gesture) were not the normal friendly Greeks, they completely ignored us and our new friends, choosing to buy drinks for the ex pats and repeat visitors
The whole stay was uncomfortable, you were being watched all of the time and there were too many rules, it was quite embarassing at times.
We look forward to self catering but this place took the biscuit, very poor utensils and facilities in the room but we persevered when we wanted to. The prices at the pool snack bar were steep and the choice was poor. There are so many good places to eat in Kefalos why eat by the pool ????
In terms of cleanliness our room was generally quite clean but was swept just once in the fortnight, yet everywhere else in the 10 room complex if you had sand on your shoes you were told to go and wash it off, again too many rules for a relaxing holiday.
The nicest part about our stay in the Albatross were the people we met in our first week, and they only live 15 miles from where we live back in the UK......perhaps next year we'll stay at home......or return to Skiathos where we will be made much more welcome without the pressure to spend all youtr time and money in the one place.
WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO THE ALBATROSS.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Firstchoice

M Taylor
10 years ago
The apartments are basic beds are very uncomfortable. The aparments are clean and the pool area is well tended. The apartments are located in a quiet area of Kefalos but i cannot say that the apartment complex int the evenings remain. There is a weekly bbq compliments of the owners. The ex-pats from the village frequent this and it turns into a loud rowdy British pub atmosphere by 11 pm. This then leads to people jumping in the pool fully clothed the noise then last till 3 am so not much sleep and relaxation for guests who do not wish to stay up this late. There is a weekly darts match where the ex-pats out number the guests this then lasts till 3 am so not much sleep for some again. Then we have the quiz evening where again the ex-pats from the village out number guests. Leaves one feeling slightly intimidated and with the feeling that guests should not be there as they seem to be in the way. If you wish to experience the British pub rowdy atmosphere dont come here if you are looking for peace quiet and relaxation. I would not return to this complex again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Kim Jarvis
10 years 3 months ago
If i said that while we were there we spoke to our daughter back in the uk to re book us for October this year , i guess that would say it all . Andy & Rose what fantastic hosts , always willing to help no matter what (even a broken fridge ),spotless appartment and pool. Thankyou we'll be back to see you in October with the rest of the Jarvis clan !
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Ali
11 years ago
This is the first time we've stayed at the Albatross although we have stayed in Kefalos many times in the past. The accommodation is superior to many others we have stayed at and we would definitely book to stay here again. The English couple (Rose and Andy) who are running the Albatross are really lovely people. Very friendly and go out of their way to help with anything anyone might need. The entertainment is low key but they put on a really fun quiz evening once a week which was fab and also the Greek owners put on a lovely barbecue once a week, free to guests, and then Rose and Andy might get you all to do some traditional Greek dancing - great fun! The food around the pool is simple, but excellent - loved Andy's omelettes! If you're looking for a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere - this is definitely the place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Janet Waterhouse
11 years ago
As a first time visitor to Kefalos and one that did not go bonded or stay at these apartments, but was allowed to use their facilities, I was overwhelmed by the welcome I received from the greek owners as well as Andy & Rose who manage the apartments. I was treated no differently to people who were staying there. The whole place was spotlessly clean and even when busy, nothing was too much trouble to ensure a guest was happy. The barbecue nights and fish day, all food supplied by the owners free of charge, were brilliant and a good time was had by all who were encouraged to participate in greek dancing and fun and games. The weekly quiz night was excellent, even though it took us 3 rounds to pull any points back! It was a shame the fun had to stop at 12.30am but there has to be a limit. The food was excellent and just what was needed when at the side of the pool. The location is near the harbour which is great to stroll along with an ice cream.
I will certainly be going back. And good luck to Andy & Rose who obviously work very hard but were the life and soul of the party to ensure guests had the best time ever.
Best Wishes to you all.
Love 1/3 of the girls!!!!

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

Recommended
Dawn &Neil
11 years ago
Had a brilliant holiday here managers Andy&Rose great hosts,the rooms are clean and kept that way by mad little Sebastiana.The owners put on a free bbq each sunday night there's a quiz night once a week cant remember what night because it's so relaxed you forget what day it is.Andy looks great in his pinny and does a mean breakfast as well as other snacks for round the spotless pool area.Rose looks great behind the bar which is well stocked and not as pricey as some have said it always is cheaper in restuant than a poolbar.We are going back!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Brian & Doreen Kershaw
11 years ago
We have been to Kefalos many times & love the Place ! Paradise . We thought the Albatross was going to be Great - How wrong we were ! Noise & late nights 2:30 am Parties (ex-pats) thrown in pool , not for US .
We do are thing , & if you don't Spend in Bar & on Snacks your not Welcome !!!! Sad the Owners were Rude & did not Talk to Us in the 2 weeks .
The Greek people are Brill , so this was Strange for Us ? We did have a Great Time in Kefalos & Kos .
But would not Recommend Albatross for Peace & Quite !
Brian & Doreen .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Richard
11 years 1 month ago
Am a returning visitor to this particular destination and up until now could only say positive things about it. The owners of this resort are genuinely lovely but they're not around much and the English couple who are currently managing it are biased towards certain guests who appear to spend the most money there and ignore or can be quite rude to anyone else. Also, it used to be a nice, authentic and friendly run resort; It has changed this year unfortunately.

On a positive, the location is wonderful and the place itself is very well maintained/consistently clean etc. However, the atmosphere is no longer what it once was unfortunately.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

David
11 years 1 month ago
Nice bright and clean apartments located in a good place with a wide choice of places to eat and drink nearby at very cheap prices.

Rooms and pool area are very well kept by the English couple that run them on behalf of the Greek owners.

On the minus side:

Located quite close to the main harbour in Kefalos Bay area so noise and traffic can be a problem at certain times of the day when the excursions are running.

Drinks and ice cream, food etc at the Albatross bar are by far the most expensive and inflated we found in the resort.

Snacks and drinks are basic and pricey here and Greek dishes are certainly not their speciality, usual full English is available if that is your thing.

Seems to be a weird fetish about cleanliness that can make you feel nervous as the place is kept immaculately clean every second of the day. I love cleanliness but you have to try hard to ignore the behaviour of the management busying themselves around you all the time when you are trying to relax.

Manageress (Rose) needs to chill out a little as she watches everyone like a hawk especially if you are purchasing refreshments from the local supermarkets at far cheaper prices.

Probaly the most rude and abrupt person I have ever met in charge of running a hotel.

On the whole average but not a traditional "laid back" friendly Greek experience if that is what you are expecting from this property.

Other guests had same views and commented how previous management last year were much more friendly

Resort however is fantastic and very good value for eating out elsewhere in Kefalos.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum