Image of Mitsis Grand Hotel

Mitsis Grand Hotel

9 of 11 hotels in Rhodes Town

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
5 stars
1, Akti Miaouli Street, Rhodes 85100, Greece

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Donna
9 years 2 months ago
We have just got back from a 2 week stay at the Grand and just had to post comments.

The Grand is a fantastic hotel to stay at.
There were all ages staying from youngters in their 20's, familys and the older generation.

It is in a great location being right next to the beach with all the local shopping and bars in the streets behind it. The new town shops are only a short walk for keen shoppers and the old town is a longer walk but good for walking off the fabulous food!

The rooms were very clean although basic but you go for a holiday not the room.

Food!! Fabulous - the evening buffet caters for everyone and the Italian and Chinese are a must - if you don't eat in them you are mad, the food was delicious we ate in both on many occasions.

The staff we all very helpful and friendly.

The entertainment in the hotel was not for us but that is not a complaint, it would suit some.

We would definately stay at the Grand again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Grand Hotel
10 years 3 months ago
I had to post a review after reading the last review from two years ago.

We were a group of girls ages 30-44 and agree that the Grand Hotel in Rhodes Town is fabulous. I understand it has been refurbished recently. We had three rooms, they were all spotless and very spacious.

We were half board and did not plan on eating in the restaurant every night, however, we were so impressed with the quality of food from the buffet restaurant and also the choice of Italian or Chinese restaurant(as part of the half board too).

The location was superb. Walking distance to both new and old town. This was ideal as a party of six girls we could split up during the day and meet up later without aruging where to go next.

There are three pools so no fighting over sun beds, free pool towels, good sized gym and health suite. No entertainment, just one greek night and piano in the main bar. However, we were not there to be entertained, we made our own!

The hotel was occupied mostly by the mature generation (remember Cocoon!) hehe.. But seriously though, great hotel, couldn't fault it. We all said we would stay here again some time soon (if husband lets me go away again). Stay here and you will have a wonderful time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Esther
11 years 11 months ago
I've never been to a 5 star hotel before but I've been to some 4* and they were all much better than the Grand, meaning that the Grand is at best a 3* hotel.

We arrived yesterday from a 7 day stay at this hotel and I'm thankful to be home at last!

My bed at the hotel was terrible, there was some problem with the mattress, it was very hard and uneven. I asked them for a mattress change and they were very kind at the lobby, saying that was not a problem and they would do it.

What they did was place a blanket between the mattress and the sheets. 7 sleepless nights!!

The lobby is very promising but already in the corridors to our room I saw this was a place which needed some serious renewal. All the wooden parts were worn off, scratched and looking old. The refrigerator in the room stopped working twice during our stay, the TV set was a 14'' old thing with a very bad reception (sometimes only in black and white).

In the wardrobe, one of the drawers was stained with moist and two others were stuck and wouldn't open. The bathtub was long enough but too narrow. They didn't change sheets everyday neither refill or replace the soup and shampoo (it's a good thing we brought some from home).

Our room was with a view to the swimming pool and faced towards a very noisy street, so we had to sleep with the windows closed and the air-conditioning on.

We paid for half board, and we thought that dinner was completely included; but we had to pay extra for our water every night. There were taps with cold water during breakfast time but they were covered at dinner time and you are not allowed to bring water with you so, had to pay 3 Euros for a bottle of water, when outside the same quantity cost 0.30 Euros.

There is indeed a safe in the room but you have to pay 25 Euros for the key!

The hotel "offers" a show twice a week and at the lobby we were told that it was for free, but in reality you are only allowed to watch it if you buy drinks (at the bar's exorbitant prices).

The hotel offers NO recreation whatsoever, except for an old tennis court (only until 8 PM) and three swimming pools. A very cold one and 2 ice cold ones. There is a sauna (6 Euros) and a small gym (6 Euros). So if you are over 60 you may enjoy yourself. I am "only" 53 and too young for this hotel.

And now the good things: the service is very good, the waiters and cleaning lady were very nice. Food at breakfast was good but didn't change during the whole week. The dinner buffet was excellent most of the days but the Chinese restaurant was a bad experience, so we were afraid to try the Italian.

As you can understand, I didn't have a good time, so my holidays in Rhodes ware ruined. But people in Rhodes are nice to tourists and it is a beautiful place. I especially liked the owner of a souvenir shop located at the back street from the hotel (turn left as you leave the hotel, then left and left again) , the cheapest prices I found in Rhodes and a very beautiful collection of hand painted pictures.

Kind regards to all
Esther Rosenhek
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: flying carpet

Steve&Sandra
11 years 11 months ago
Hi we have just come back from a 2 week holiday at this hotel and found it to be o.k.

It isn't the quietest one I we have stayed in due to the marble corridors causing an echo when anyone closed their doors mostly during the night keeping you awake.

The beds were a bit of an issue boy were they uncomfortable, really hard and the mattress had lumps in it, and they were very low to the ground if you sat on it your knees were up to your chest. We had air-con in the room but the cooler was on the balcony so when you turned it on at night we got a continuous droning noise keeping you awake. These were the only things that we found wrong with it.

The location is great.

The staff are real friendly rooms are nice and clean.

We were half board and the food was good, Chinese was super went there 4 times, didn't try the Italian though.

There wasn't much entertainment and the bar was a bit pricey (5 euros for a pint of lager.) But out and about the prices are not too bad.

To sum it up apart from the small room problems we will be going back at some time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
BRIAN MATTHEWS
12 years 3 months ago
Excellent location overlooking the sea - we booked for sea-view and it was worth it -sitting on the balcony late afternoon/early evening watching the sun go down.

Lovely rooms, very clean with towels/linen changed daily.

Restaurant was excellent - could get busy at times but never waited long for a table - taken to a table by the maitre d' - no barging about for a seat. Always a good choice. The Italian and Chinese need to be booked but no extra charge and are excellent.

Staff were v friendly and helpful. Read early reviews criticising reception staff. The other couple in our party had a suitcase lost by the airline which contained medical equipment. Reception staff kept contacting the airport for us and the case was delivered to the hotel - as independent travellers we had no rep - but who needs one if your hotel staff look after you.

Hotel is quiet - this suited us perfectly for a complete chill out - all the bars and restaurants you need are within 5 minutes walk.

Yes - we will definitely be going back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: INDEPENDENT

Recommended
Mrs Wilson
12 years 4 months ago
Great hotel excellent position on sea front in Rhodes town.

Two beautiful outside pool areas and an 1 indoor pool.

Restaurant quite busy at times but food nice, very good choice.

Hotel very clean and staff friendly, especially in restaurant. Don't expect entertainment, only pianist playing each evening, but loads of places to go outside.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos rooms /excel flight

Recommended
12 years 11 months ago
The Grand is a nice, clean hotel - 20 minute taxi ride from the airport (15 Euros)

The beach (shingle) is located directly across the road.
The old town is approx. 20 mins walk towards the harbour. Numerous shops, supermarkets and restaurants nearby (turn left out of the hotel and turn first left).

Rooms are spacious - we had a family room (pool view) with 4 beds, however, there was still plenty of space. The beds were a bit on the hard side so we didn't feel too refreshed in the mornings. A large fridge is provided which was good.

Buffet restaurant is large, comfortable and well presented - although it was very busy for an October holiday - I'd imagine it would be overcrowded during the high season. Food quality was very good with a decent variation during our 7 night stay. The food in the Chinese restaurant was very nice too.

Staff were friendly and professional.

The only entertainment was a small piano bar near the main foyer - which we didn't visit.

This hotel is frequented by an elderly client
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson's via Last Minute.com

Recommended
Tina
13 years ago
The Grand Hotel certainly lived up to its name. The position on the sea front is excellent, although it is worth upgrading to a sea view bedroom. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Would certainly return to this hotel in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar Leisure

Recommended
Stella
13 years 3 months ago
The hotel was very clean and staff were very helpful and friendly. The food mainly catered for European tastes and not English. As we went with Cosmos the rep, Lynda Randle, was outstandingly helpful as we needed to return home early for personal reasons. The phone bill tarrif in the room was exceptionally expensive. Bar prices were expensive too. Overall we had a nice stay here, but would not return purely as we do like to travel to different destinations.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Sue & Richard
13 years 3 months ago
The cleanliness and standard of the Grand was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and polite.

The only down side was the food was not very exciting, as with many hotels it was buffet style but the quality and variation did not seem to be up to the standards expected, given the high standards for the rest of the hotel.

Entertainment was very limited but given it's close promimity to the centre of Rhodes Town, you could always find entertainment nearby.

We would return to this hotel but only on a B+B basis.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
No 1 Specialist Travel Agency in Lindos with a fantastic selection of apartments, hotels, traditional houses and luxury villas with pools
Holiday Truths Forum