Image of Doreta Beach Hotel

Doreta Beach Hotel

2 of 3 hotels in Tholos

3 out of 5 from 36 reviews
4 stars
Main Street, 85106, Greece

36 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Louise Reid
Greek 5 Star Only
3 years 8 months ago
Do not expect UK 5 star as you will be disappointed. This hotel is Greek 5 star. We were on 2nd floor. Room was fresh and clean with bedding and towels changed daily however could have done with more clothes storage space. Large clean pool area with plenty of sun loungers. Food a bit repetitive over 10 days but you will find something to eat each day in main dining room. You will only get bacon if you breakfast early between 7am and 7.30am. There is an outside Taverna which you have to book day before you want to eat there. Also an A La Carte restaurant which is very nice and the food is good. You also need to book day before you want to eat there. Food is included in all inclusive in A La Carte but you have to pay for drinks. Taverna all included in all inclusive. Didn't use the snack bar so cannot comment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On the Beach

Hotel tip: Eat in A La Carte restaurant which us included in all inclusive but you have to pay for your drinks. You need to book one day in advance at the reception. Ask for room on 3rd floor up as these have been refurbished.

Recommended
Tracey
9 years 9 months ago
I have been to this hotel on 5 occasions before, but this time was the worst.

Entertainment staff had never done it before and didnt have a clue as too keeping people entertained in the day, the childerens entertainer took 10+ kids aged from 2-12 alone to the beach and didnt keep an eye on them properly, they were going into the sea alone, she also spent her time flirting with a group of lads when she was meant to be in charge of the kids.

Snack bar food was appalling gone was the homemade burgers, fish fingers ect for the kids, in came chewy pork and crunchy speghetti, and dried out pizza everyday!!

Resturant still managed well by (danni de vito) but didnt have as much choice as previous years, and variation was limited.

On the good side rooms cleaned and new towels and sheets changed daily.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independently

Phillip Evans
9 years 9 months ago
First time holiday in Rhodes. Stayed at the Doreta Beach Hotel. This has a 4 star rating but it is no where near that. There was a good slection of food but the food was always luke warm. The room was never cleaned properly. There was refurbishment going on on the 4th & 5th floors, but there was hardly any noise from this. The pool area was kept very clean and tidy.
The staff did as much as possible to assist us where possible. The beach adjoined the pool area.
The entertainment/reception area of the hotel was always uncomfortably hot in the evening.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Chouce

10 years 4 months ago
Having read reports on this site went with open mind.The room was what we expected.A lot of mould and damp patches in the bathroom but for the amount of time you spend in it not a major issue.The actual pool at the hotel was quite good,it is deep and on one or more occasion myself and another chap had to save a youngster in trouble and that was at the supposed shallow end,so be wary,there is a kids pool so if in doubt use it.Reading some previous reports the attitude of staff(excluding restaurant)was rude and obnoxious,the only pepople who seemed to get on with them were the ones who stood at the bar drinking all day.Their attitude left a lot to be desired.Entertainment is a complete and utter farce,zero intrest from 3 out of the 5 alleged entertainment team who even told my daughter they didnt want to be there.The same 6 songs for the kiddies disco every night in the same order then for the kids that was it.Then a attempt at some sort of show after that which isnt even worth talking about.so make sure you take your playing cards because you will need them.There is poolside bar which is nice to sit at and have a drink but we found every chance they got they shut it.The baech is very stoney so make sure you take some sort of footwear to get over them once you get in the sea its nice and warmer than the pool.The one good thing theres no fight for sunbeds there seems to be lots of them,having said that i can see why!!!!!.beware they give out glassses at the poolside bar which is unusual make sure youve got something on your feet at all times.The food was repetitive and boring and barely hot,although there was a microwave to heat it up.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Three Over Sixties
10 years 5 months ago
Food was fine ,dinner dress code not adhered to,shorts and t shirts every where at dinner.Entertainment was total rubbish with kids entertainment going on way past 10pm.The superior room offered superficially looked good however drains in room gave rise to constant faecal odours.Complained constantly nothing changed ,we did overhear that there was problems with drainage on parts of the 3rd floor.Could not get a picture on the TV reported 3 times.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: qwerty travel

Mr White
10 years 7 months ago
Just arrived back from doretta beach hotel. After reading all the bad things said about it i was a little worried. Trust me i was wrong to be concerned.

The hotel is nice and being done up to make it a 5 star in the future.

Rooms- We had a double room with extra bed. It was clean and had been re-painted, It over looked the pool and sea. with plenty of room for me and my two boys aged 13 and 10. A tip if you are in a room with the new air condition. You must ask at recption for a remote controll. It will cost you 30 euro deposit.but its returned at the end of your hoildays.

Food- lots of people were moaning on here about food, remember you are in greece, There are lots to chose from even a late breakfeast if you want a lie in.There is food served from 7.30am till 11pm. try the out side cafe that does snacks.

Drinks.I could not understand why so many people moaned about this. You can drink from 7.30 am till 11pm, Yes some of the spirits are weaker. most are 35% in staid of 37% but do as we did drink a couple extra. As for the beer its 4.2 as to fosters at 4.0..

Entertainment- Its not the best i have seen, but the guys keep you goin and try hard to keep the kids involved, my kids loved it and had fun.Look out for Danny is young but great with everone. Only problem is from manchester, But really they were all nice.

Staff- They are the best that i have come acrossed and were always willing to help. The bar staff from both bars love to have fun and are entertainment in them selves.

Out and about. First of all you are less tha 10 minutes away from the airport so expect some noise. but after the first day you will forget it. There are a few bars and shops along the road.As for bars if you want to drink till 4am in the morning then go to mambos oppsite the hotel. Its were all the bar staff get togher after work.
My favourite place has to be Dundees, We went the 4 times for a break, The food is good and the people that run it are excellent.Try there chinese it better than any ive had in this country.Also they but all the football games on.

Places to go in rhodes.
Lindos- Its ok but as im an animal lover i do not believe that donkeys should be treated the way they are, Also be careful you dont get knocked over by them as the charge down the hills at speed.

Water park- The kids loved at, yer i must agree it was worth 20 euros for adults and 15 for kids.

Well hope now if your going to doretta beach you will
be able to relax and have fun just as we have.

A great thanks to all at the hotel for making my kids two weeks holiday extra special. will i return, Yes of course i still have some more beers to drink.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Mrs K Boulton
10 years 7 months ago
We stayed at this all inclusive Hotel and after reading some of the reports we were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of the Hotel and the rooms were cleaned every day and towels changed.The rooms were adequate after all you are only sleeping in them but the beds and pillows are a bit hard.There was a large choice of food and it was always hot,there were 12 of us in our party ranging from 2 to 75 years and no-one found fault with the food.The Hotel staff were always friendly and polite.We didn't see very much of the entertainment as we preferred to sit at the pool bar and watch the sun set over the sea but what we did see was ok and the children enjoyed the mini disco.The Hotel is right on the beach which means that there is a cool breeze all day long.All in all I think the Hotel is value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Manos

Recommended
Helen And Tony
11 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the Doreta Beach Hotel 18 - 25 Oct 2006 All Inclusive. Our party consisted of myself and husband and 2 sons aged 15 and 12. We ALL loved the hotel and although NOT a UK 4* I think most people will realise that this hotel is classed as a Greek 4 * and I have certainly never seen it classed as otherwise.

Yes the rooms are dated but clean and tidy. We stayed in a Maisonette that was very spacious and clean. The food was always good and a good range was offered at all mealtimes.
We found the staff VERY friendly and helpful, and if you take the time to speak to them they are more than happy to tell you about the Island.

The beach is pebbly and not the best we have seen but the previous week there had been a very bad storm on the island. But this aside it was not helped by the disgusting mess left behind by the tourists (incidentally its was about 98% British) staying there..................no fault of the hotel.............. On a daily basis there were plastic cups, plates and fag ends just left for someone else to clean up. There are many rubbish bins positioned all over the beachand throughout the complex, but it would seem that people just could not be bothered to clean up after themselves.

The entertainment was very good. A few 'very' amateur shows early in the week didnt give us hope for the rest of our stay BUT how wrong we were.

The staff were very good at getting people involved with the games and even managed to get loads of people involved in a game where most adults AND children in the room lost one or more items of clothing at some stage of the evening. Very funny indeed.

The Doreta Beach is definately on our list to return to, the weather was good, temperatures were good, the staff and locals were very nice and Rhodes is gorgeous!

NEED I SAY MORE?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra and Med Hotels

Recommended
Caff
11 years 7 months ago
Stayed for a two week all inclusive break at this hotel, would never go back. We arived at 2am and check in was painless, told where our room was, well what a room looked like a garden shed, mould on ceiling, bathroom small and very tired looking,sink so big it was a struggle to sit on the loo, one doulble bed and one single they looked like camp beds. Demanded to be moved the following morning we were told to come back at 12pm did so and got a better room on the 1st floor.

Maid came daily with clean towels and swept the room.

The main resturant was a shambles, not enough staff and a very small danny devito trying and I do mean tying to run it! The food was the same every day and normally cold. The noise in the resturant was terrible we eat out most evenings try Nicky accross the road we found peace and good food!

No chance of getting a sun bed round the pool as if you would want one with the noise, the pool side bar played very loud music possible garage/house all day.
Mix the music and unsupervised children running around it was no place to relax.
The beach sun beds were all taken by towels well before dawn.

We did not go into the hotel bar just put our heads in the door one night that was enough.

Would not give this hotel a second look.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Roberts
11 years 7 months ago
We stayed at the Doreta Beach in July 2006. we went with 2 teenage sons. We found this hotel very good value for money. Hotel was very clean. Our room was lovely and looked out over the pool and sea. Only complaint with the room was that we found this too small for 4 adults.

Hotel restaurant was i thought well run. You were allocated your table area, so when you had finished tables were cleared away quickly. The restaurant food I found to be very good. plenty of variety and as usual, people moaning that there are chips, of course there are chips, but plenty of other food as well.

Pool area, Fantastic. Very clean and well maintained. Bar drinks are usual All Inclusive, local branded, rather than named.

I have visisted Rhodes a few times now and I love this Island. Rhodes town is only 20 mins on the coach that stops outside hotel, or 18 euro by taxi. Beutiful harbour and old town with lovely restaurants.

overall, a good hotel for what you pay, and I think people should realise this. if you want 5 star, then you will have to pay 5 star. I would rate this hotel a very good 3star, and great for a family holiday.

I would stay at this hotel again.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum