Image of Heritage Village Club

Heritage Village Club

3 of 12 hotels in Colva

4 out of 5 from 12 reviews
3 stars
Set in a quiet location in south Goa, near Colva, some 350m from the beach.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Hilton
Great food, friendly staff, will be returning
7 years 9 months ago
Stayed at Heritage Village Hotel over Christmas and New Year 2010, the food was great and the gala meals were very good.

The rooms old but clean.

We wanted a quiet holiday which we got. The hotel was just a short walk from beach. The staff were very friendly.

We would go back, like all other customers who return year after year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tuplin G B
10 years 9 months ago


Having just returned from this supreme hotel we have nothing but praise for the manager and staff. All became our genuine friends and nothing was too much trouble or effort for any of them.
Holidaying in this intimate hotel was definitely the best break we have had.

The room was kept immaculate (thanks to Rocky) the gardens and surrounding area spotless by constant attention.
The food was delicious and plentiful with the option of something cooked special by the chef for you if requested.

The entertainment staff, as with all others, worked tirelessly to make the stay enjoyable and our thanks goes to Arthur, Atkins, Habina and Sofia from Guest Services but also to the many others whom we got to know.

We decided to renew our wedding vows there after e-mails with the manager and when we were settled in we were introduced to this wonderful man who took it upon himself to organise the occasion from the location (3 Kings), to the photos, priest, taxi, flowers, cake, evening meal and DVD professionally arranged by Devanand of Kavita Video Recoveries. Rings were made to our specification by the on-site jeweller and our cloths were tailored to suit the occasion by Hemal Khanderia tailoring dept at the Heritage Village shopping arcade. Hemal recommended the appropriate fabrics and style to suit the occasion and our thanks to him for the quality of the outfits. We would certainly recommend the hotel to arrange a marriage or renewal of vows and ask the staff to complete all the arrangements.

It appeared that most of the staff wanted to attend the ceremony at sunset to share our enjoyment; we even had our own waiter for the evening meal. Our thanks to all those involved.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a super holiday at good value and who wants to make new friends especially with the local people.

The trips we undertook were a unique experience with the highlights been a trip on a rice boat and been splashed by an elephant. The experience of playing cricket on the beach with not only guests but all the locals who wanted to join in is something that will stay with me for ever.

We shall join the many others who return year after year to holiday at this hotel, that is recommendation alone.


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
D Stoddart
10 years 10 months ago
Fantastic hotel. We had a twin centre holiday, and had 1 week at the Heritage.
The staff make this hotel special, service spot on.
Location, remote but thats not a drawback. The food great, able to eat in the Mango Grove restaurant twice a week, so was nice to waited on.
Would stay here again, as many customers do. Would recommend to anyone, but not alot for children to do.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Sharpy
12 years 7 months ago
This is a lovely hotel and a great place for a relaxing holiday. It is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in and the staff are fantastic. They just cannot do enough for you and always greet you with a smile.

The food in the hotel restaurant is quite good and always fresh although mainly spicy which although I like spicy food can get a little monotonous after a while. 2 visits a week to the Mango Terrace a-la-carte restaurant make a nice change where you can have steaks and fresh seafood (you have to pay extra for the seafood and some deserts even though you are All Inclusive). On our first visit to the Mango it was my 50th birthday. Unbeknown to me the my wife had mentioned this to the reception staff and after our meal the staff brought out a complimentary birthday cake with Happy 50th Birthday David iced on it and the local entertainment sang Happy Birthday to me. See what I mean by the staff just can't do enough for you? The local beer tastes aweful so most people were drinking bottles of Kingfisher or Fosters which are not included in the A.I. package so you have to pay for them which is a bit of a con. I thought Kingfisher being an Indian brand would be classed as local but apparently it isn't!!!

The pool and surrounding area's are fantastic but beware of the "regulars" who are a pain in the backside. Although it is not allowed to reserve sunbeds these people think that because they have been to the hotel several times that it is run solely for them. They put their towels up inside the parrasols every evening so when the pool staff open them in a morning their towels fall out so the staff put them on the best sunbeds for them. You could look out of your window at 7:00 in the morning to find well over 50% of the beds already with towels on them but no people arround. Some of these "regulars" didn't surface until lunchtime which was very annoying, especially when the temperature is in the high 90's and you haven't got a parrasol to protect you from the intense sun. The "regulars also try to queue jump in the bars and restaurants by calling out waiters names and talking to them as though they have known them for years. They also spend most of the holiday telling you what to do, what to buy and where to visit These people can realy spoil your holiday so beware.

The entertainment is quite poor being either Karaoke or a live band who although are pretty good play the same songs in the same order every night they are on.

The beach is only a couple of minutes walk away and is fantastic and very quiet but beware of hawkers who will pester you every time you go there.

All in all this was a fantastic hotel and brilliant holiday but I don't think I would stay here again mainly because of the sad regulars who feel safe here but realy need to get a life, but also it is a big wide world out there with many more fantastic places to visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
12 years 9 months ago
This was a great hotel and all staff were friendly and helpful. It was clean and there was evidence of real commitment by the staff to keep it well maintained.

The laundry service was great and was always delivered back the next day. The only downside was that our rooms were ready when we arrived at 06.00hrs so we had to wait about an hour but it was lovely to watch the sun come up and witness assorted guests coming down and bagging sun beds by the pool.

This was a problem as some people didn't seem to use their 'reserved' beds for the majority of the day. Also there was music playing all day by the pool so we walked the five minutes down to the glorious empty beach and were well cared for by Anthony and his great staff from the shack on the beach. (great dinners down there but obviously not part of the all inclusive but a nice break from the karaoke)

Food was tasty and freshly prepared but it could get a bit congested in the small dining room.

You were invited to the A la carte restaurant twice a week but we only went once as the food was disappointing and the ambience not helped by one tape of Christmas carols on a permanent loop. However the two guitarists who came and serenaded us were great.

The entertainment provided by the hotel was not my cup of tea as I am not a karaoke fan and it appeared to be every other night. There was a very good band and the team did try hard to get us involved in the activites.

I wouldn't return to the hotel but that's because I've been there and I would try somewhere else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Malcolm
12 years 10 months ago
The Heritage Village is very clean and all the staff immensely friendly and helpful. The occasional minor problem that cropped up was soon sorted out.

The food was perfectly acceptable for this type of hotel but not fantastic. The a la carte restaurant was a bit of a disappointment with the seafood somewhat overcooked but worth a visit though. Even though this hotel is all inclusive, use the local restaurants as well. An excellent meal for two including huge starters, three main courses, beers and large cocktails cost us just
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
13 years 5 months ago
The hotel was far better than my expectations,the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly making you feel very much at home.

The cleanliness of the hotel was excellent, the rooms were cleaned thoroughly each day and the towels laid on the bed made in a decorative swan or butterfly.

The food was excellent with a choice of curries, fish, pasta, a Western dish and a good cold buffet salad, even a Sunday roast and a selection of deserts.
Breakfast also had a good choice, porridge, boiled eggs, eggs prepared by the chef to your liking, fried, omlettes even pancakes, bacon, beans, tomatoes, toast, cakes and some indian dishes.

The evening entertainment was fine for us, sat around the pool listening or dancing to some light music whilst having a quiet drink. The entertainment stops at 11pm but the main bar stays open.

All in all we had a wonderful holiday and hope to return next year to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Della Jones
13 years 5 months ago
A smallish hotel where the staff really offer personal attention and get to know you - no wearing awful ID bangles to prove you are a guest.

A wonderful chef proivding great Indian and European food including Indian and English snacks and delicious ice cream, unlimited local booze.

My only complaint is I put on 7lbs on my visit!The staff are fun and friendly without being smarmy or over-familiar.

When I had sunstroke they provided off-menu meals by room service even though that is not a standard service. A year later when I popped in to visit from another hotel they all recognised me and gave me a warm welcome even though I wasn't a guest.

Nice pool and limited but well-kept gardens. The beach is a short walk away and not very swimmable but great for walks [ if you avoid the inevitable hawkers] Best of all is the wonderful Dr. Sujata at the Mango Terrace Ayuverdic centre who cured my back trouble and provides wonderful massage as well as herbal medicines. The best Ayuverdic Centre I have been to and I have travelled all through Kerala, Tamil Nadu and other Goan resorts.

It is a joy to stroll from your room, get pampered, then chill out in the pretty garden contemplating statues of Buddha.

The entertainment is well done and the outdoor buffets fab though it is all a bit predictable and middle aged everyone is so good natured you don't mind joining in. Loads of repeat guests from England, jolly middle aged couples not quite my scene but you don't have to hang out with them.

Not too many kids and the young staff amuse them all day. Thoughtful touches like Uk plug sockets in rooms. The MD, Mr. Farrell gets to know you all and takes swift personal action to deat with any problems. It is also ewxcellent value for money.

I am returning again October 2006.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Air Tours

Recommended
13 years 6 months ago
Just returned from our second stay.

Excellent hotel.... the staff cant do enough for you.
Brilliant friendly bar staff and great atmosphere all round.

Good quiet location but only 2 mins from empty beach but 10 mins walk along the beach, plenty of great shacks for food and drink!:))))

Chris....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hayes and Jarvis

Recommended
Steve & Eve Poynton
13 years 7 months ago
This was our second visit to The Heritage Village, and we found it as clean, tidy and friendly as ther first time.

Clarence and his staff where absolutely superb at all times. Santos and his Animation Team where always good for a laugh and regularly ended up in the pool.

The food was well balanced with adequate mixes of Curries and Western foods to cater for all tastes. The evening entertainment was a tad "Lightweight" but with the ever friendly Staff and Guests a great time was had by all.

We have made some great friends over the 2 years and hopefully we will be able to continue that in 2006.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum