Image of Oceanique Hotel

Oceanique Hotel

8 of 12 hotels in Colva

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Colva Beach Road, Colva Salcette, Goa 403708, India

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Russell Barr
11 years 3 months ago
The hotel was just about three star, we had to ask for more soap and shampoo halfway through the week as ours had run out, no hairdryer, but it was only three star, towels and sheets changed daily, and room cleaned to a reasonable standard, lots of power cuts during the day and night.

Our biggest problem was the rats than ran around the pool area after dark, (I did convince my wife that they were 'Goan hamsters')

The food was just about O.K. The breakfasts were adequate, buffet style, with eggs done to order, and for lunch and dinner if there weren't many people eating we got to order from the a la carte menu which was very good.

The hotel location was good, but not much to do around Colva, my suggestion to anyone staying at this resort would be to get a taxi from outside the hotel, and go to Margao, about three pounds for three hours where you get to see the real India.

The hotel staff were slow, and didn't seem to care.
The entertainment was mediocre, but I think that was because not many guests bothered to stay and watch.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Lynda McGuie
11 years 4 months ago
Hotel room was very basic and the pillows very lumpy.

As the food was of very poor standard it was a waste of money being all inclusive. Evening meals were served outside in the garaden and the entertainment was not to our taste. We went out to different restaurants each evening after the first night and four of us could eat well with a couple of drinks for a total of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

11 years 4 months ago
We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks from 26 Jan to 9 Feb.

We were all inclusive as it was our first time in Goa, but wouldn't do so again as it is so cheap to eat out.

I wouldn't give the hotel 3 stars, more like 2 as despite the fact it was only 2 years old, it looked like it could do with a complete re-furb. Some of the small tiles were missing from around the pool, but on a positive note there were plenty of sunbeds and towels were provided (you didn't have to get up at 7am to reserve a bed!).

The food was quite bland and became repetitive, so we ate out quite a bit - not many people ate in the hotel so it was a bit boring to be the only ones sitting out in the garden in the evening.

The entertainment wasn't too good, but maybe they were put off by the lack of people.

Breakfast was fine, with eggs cooked to order and the usual, fruit, cereal, toast etc.

We heard that the hotel is to be sold to a company from Delhi at the end of Feb, and there will be a complete change of staff. This is a pity as the staff were great, very helpful and obliging on the most part.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Alison & Jackie
12 years 2 months ago
The hotel was very quiet with only adults during our stay, kept very clean.

We were bed and breakfast only but had choice of Indian or English food.

Well located within easy reach of local resort area, shops and restaurants.

Staff very friendly and helpful, though can be rather slow. Would have been nice to have had a waiter attending around the pool taking orders rather than having to go to the bar.

Some entertainment arranged, but we did not avail ourselves to this.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
12 years 2 months ago
The rooms are very nice & are up to 3 star quality. The service however is not & is very slow & the food adequate at best & not the supply/amount of choice you would expect for an all inclusive hotel.

The hotel is clean with good location. The entertainment is very limited & amatuer at best. If you wish a very quiet, basic holiday in one location with sunbathing your priority then this is the hotel for you - if not, then go elsewhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Julie
12 years 2 months ago
We booked our holiday with First Choice on an "allocation on arrival" basis. When we ended up at the Oceanique we were very happy. The Hotel only has 50 rooms on 2 floors which all surround the very nice pool area. We got the chance to meet lots of other guests and made a lot of friends there.
The rooms are of a very good standard, much better than we had anticipated. Facilities included A/C, fridge with mini bar (very reasonably priced), Cable TV with movie chanels. The rooms were cleaned and we had fresh towels daily.
Great location, 2 minutes from the beautiful beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Nigel And Barbara
12 years 2 months ago
We had a great time there. Staff were fantastic couldn't do enough for you like a home from home. We had a wedding blessing on Colva Beach and hotel helped and also layed on a beautiful wedding feast later that evening, hotel food was very good and if you wanted something different they would do it. Very layed back place. We're back april 2007
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Danny + Sharon
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel was good, the staff were first class, food could be better, but was not bad, colva is a great location for touring goa, plenty of bars and restaraunts near to hotel, beer in hotel is fosters(why) kingfisher is better. Rooms are fine, shower good, beds very comfy, hotel is good for all ages.

Entertainment most nights, not bad, would certainly return. try the food in the beach shacks.

South goa is better for a relaxing holiday, north can be busy.

Overall we had a great holiday, looking forward to feb 07.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
12 years 3 months ago
Hotel to a good standard, Staff friendly and helpful.
We stayed B & B good choice of food, Chef cooked your eggs to order.

Pool area kept very clean towels provided around the pool every day, you do need to be early picking them up.Rooms basic but clean TV safe deposit box provided aircon and fan.

Location very good only a few minutes from the beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
Good, clean spacious room. Nothing spectacular but adequate. Comfy bed, good shower and toilet. TV in room with loads of satellite channels if you want to watch all the premier league games.

Hotel is fairly small on two floors. We had a ground floor room with a small terrace leading onto the big lawn surrounding the pool. Towels provided by the pool attendant. He also sorts out the parasols etc.

We only had breakfast. Not particularly brilliant but adequate. Eggs cooked to order and a choice of sausages, beans etc. plenty of fruit , tea, coffee. That was all we wanted anyway. Indian style breakfast also available.

Very friendly and attentive staff.

The hotel is about 400mts from the beach. It is near a working beach and you should definitely visit the beach early morning to see the fishermen bringing in their catch. Plenty of beach shacks nearby to have lunch or dinner or just laze around using their sunbeds etc if you buy drinks from them.

It is not far to the centre of Colva, about a fifteen minute walk. Plenty of taxis or tuk-tuks to bring you back for about 30 rupees if you don't fancy the walk.

No real entertainment in the hotel other than a BBQ and local dancers etc every Monday. Karaoke in the bar afterwards hosted by the hotel owner!

All I all I would recommend the Hotel. I would put it in the two star category. My wife and I enjoyed it very much and felt very relaxed there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum