Image of Hakuraa Club Male Hotel

Hakuraa Club Male Hotel

7 of 9 hotels in Male

4 out of 5 from 7 reviews
4 stars
Inner Maldives H. Faalandhoshuge Aage Meemu Atoll Meemu Atoll Male, Male 39588

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 1 month ago
We stayed in one of the water bungalows(70 of these 10 beach) . The bathrooms do need updating which is being done this year but the room was fantastic. Free safe,great big bed,glass panel in floor which allowed you to have your own fish tank and keep the light on at night as it attracted more fish. To walk out and down the steps into the water was fantastic like swimming or snorkelling in your own aquarium!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Karen Patterson
9 years 7 months ago
In Sept 2008 we enjoyed our third holiday to Hakuraa. It is simply Heaven. The island itself is small and beautiful, the staff are polite and courteous, the food is plentiful and excellent, and the evenings in the bar, sometimes with a little light entertainment, are friendly and fun. The water bungalows are super, particularly after their renovations in 2005 after the Tsunami. Having said that I would agree that the bathrooms could do with being updated, however they are perfectly acceptable and would never put me off going. All in all, my husband and I have found our Heaven on Earth and will most definitely be visiting Hakuraa again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Justin Chard
10 years ago
Fantastic hotel with very attentive staff and great attention to cleanliness. The food was excellent with great imagination used to re use left over meats for other dishes. Always something available for all tastes. Easy transfer by seaplane from Male airport. Entertainment was basic, DJ on 2 nights, traditional dancers, bingo (very funny Fernando as the host) and the crab racing which was great fun. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Collection (Kuoni)

Recommended
Yin Mo
10 years ago
Oh My God!! if you are thinking about going to Hakuraa just go.. you will not be dissapointed, My wife and I went there this year for our honeymoon and there is not one place on this planet that i could have gone to that would have been better!!

Ok then the review.....
There are a couple of things that did stand out a little bit that could be inproved on, firstly the bathroons are a bit behind the times they could do with a clean up our room had a few broken tiles and was a bit dirty.

There is a slight smell to the place in the mornings but this is from the water treatment plant they have there, as they are in the middle of the ocean they dont have fresh water so they have to clean it themselves from sea water!

Crows!! there are no mosquito's or other bugs that annoy you but there are crows and they can be quite noisy, some things are very expensive there but if you are all inclusive the beers good and the wine drinkable, but if you want champagne ect take money.. massages are expensive to but they do a very good job.

Ok then on to the good stuff.... in on word PARADISE I cant explain the beauty of the place the warmness of the staff and the friendlyness of the sharks... the rooms are big the bed you can get lost in, the glass floor in each of the rooms are cool we had an octopus that lived under the room, that faught with an eel!! At the back of the bungalow there are a few steps down to the crystal clean ocean where there are more fish than i have ever seen, ( make sure you take some foot protection as the coral is very sharp!)

The island can be walked around in about 10 mins but there is always loads to see, the sand is so soft its like walking on talc!

Meal time wow if your a picky eater there will be something there for you to have, if you like curry for breakfast then you can have it I preferred coffee and toast with fruit and cereal. Lunch and dinner there was so much to choose from probably 10 or 11 different dishes and about the same amount of desserts yum!!

The evenings are not what you would get in say Ibiza ( if you want disco's and partying all night then go to Ibiza!) if you want the craziest game of bingo in the world or crab racing be in the bar for 9.30pm.

There are loads of different packages to do like fishing, dolphin watching, we done a package called the kindle package with this you get champagne & canopes in your room, dolphins, a massage, meal on a dohni boat, and the adam & eve island, all this for $720.. about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: tomas cook

Recommended
Simon
10 years 6 months ago
This is the forth time we have stayed in the hak, whilst the standard of the rooms and resort are first class I have to say the food has let it down this year. Last stays food was good, but this year it was not so good, if you like everything with an indian taste and loads of spices and peppers then it's for you I like curries etc but not everyday and not for breakfast (which was possibly the best meal of the day) if you're a veggie then you're going to struggle (the wife is a veggie) inform the staff certianly on bbq nights. The staff are really attentive and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Mr. & Mrs Wiltshire
10 years 11 months ago
We went to Chaayan Lagoon Hakuraa Huraa (formely Hakuraa Club) from 24th May - 11th June, although we had to fly home on 8th June due to both getting food poisoning and wife was pregnant!!

Water bungalows themselves were lovely and clean. The food was awful with not much choice. If, like my wife, you love seafood you will be out of luck on the basic menu. If you want prawns and lobster be prepared to pay at least $70 each.

Most of the people who had the offending sweet n sour pork had food poisoning too and some were really ill for days. Luckily my wife didn't have much but still suffered diahoerra for 12 days!

Weather was hot and sunny (40 degrees every day) and only saw rain (monsoon) for 1 day.

People are really friendly although their communication between each other was very poor, especially when it came to trying to return home earlier to the UK.

Beward the giant black ants! We were in water bungalow 113 and accidentally left a flight bag open with mint humbugs in. Went to the bag the next day and was over more than 100 giant ants crawling everywhere! We had to have the room fumigated twice by pest control.

Hardly any entertainment but we didn't mind. Spent most of our evenings watching the great moviews on TV.

Excursions - not much choice but the Dolphin & snorkelling safaris were good. To ill to go on any other excursions.

There is only 1 souvenir shop on the island (& jewellery shop) so gifts/presents are expensive and sold a lot of "out of date" mars bars, bounty bars etc. If you are like us and like crisp type of snacks in the afternoon, pack your own! There was not a crisp in sight on this holiday. The afternoon snacks you get on the all-inclusive basis is pretty poor - biscuits were soft and probably been out of the packets for ages and really only had cake (which was dry), pancakes and doughnuts on a rotation basis.

Any further queries, give us an e-mail.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Virgin Holidays

Howells
12 years 6 months ago
Stayed both in October 2004 (prior to Tsunami) and October 2005 (after refurb.) Lovely peaceful small island resort.

Hotel spotlessly clean - cleaners around the resort all day, sweeping beach, paths, picking up leaves (not much litter around, think guests respect the resort too much for that.)

Water bungalows superb following refurbishment. TV, fridge (soft drinks/water provided free, spirits charged)air conditioning, tea/coffee making facilities,hair dryer, bathroom with shower over bath, toilet, vanity unit and bidet. Glass viewing panel in floor in the lounge area, deck over the water with loungers (with mattresses).

Staff very helpful and efficient, always ready to help. Food very good, kitchens immaculate, chef happy to show visitors around at almost any time! Last October they had a 6 week turn around on the menu, so plenty of variety.

Not much in the way of entertainment - but that is why we like it so much. Just to sit and chat away with fellow guests in the bar after dinner is all we need. Enjoyed ourselves so much both times we are going back again in October this year!

Sea plane journey to the resort is a heady start to the holiday.

Water bungalows probably not suitable for young children as access is via jetties. For further views could try looking at the MSN forum 'Hakuraa 2000'.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sri Lankan Tours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum