Image of Kuramathi Blue Lagoon Resort

Kuramathi Blue Lagoon Resort

1 of 9 hotels in Male

5 out of 5 from 7 reviews
Male, Maldives

7 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
10 years 1 month ago
Stayed AI which suits us as we like a drink or two. Plenty of variety in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner - enjoyed food and all the choices available. Extensive cocktail list. Some named branded drinks are free also. It is made clear what is and is not included on the AI basis.

The hotel and surrounding beaches and gardens are kept in tip top condition. Our room was cleaned twice a day. There is always someone sweeping paths, gardening or cleaning up around the resorts. We walked all over the island and all three resorts are spotless.

The island is approx 90 mins away from Male by fast boat. The fast boat ride was lovely and refreshing after being stuck inside a plane for over ten hours. The journey was very smooth - but that was probably down to the time of year we were there.

The staff cannot do enough for you. Very happy, hard working, helpful and courteous.

From what we could see there were plenty of watersports available however we mainly snorkelled, read and lazed on the beach or round by the pool, so not entirely sure what was on offer. Evening entertainment very low key at the Blue Lagoon end but we were told there was plenty going on down at the other end of the island at the Village resort where you could visit if you wanted but you have to pay for your drinks if you go, so we stayed at the BL end of the island.

Nearly forgot to mention the stunning spa. Its absolutely beautiful and there are plenty of therapists there so you can get treatments whenever you want them. The ladies work really hard. I really enjoyed being pampered.

We would love to visit this island again but I don't know if we will ever get round to it as we like to try different places.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Geedubya1957
10 years 5 months ago
Absolutely brilliant, this place cannot be faulted for anything, stayed in the standard room, right on the beach, heaven!,rooms wre spotless, after coming back from breakfast, the room had already been made up, and again after dinner!,Superb.The staff were tremendous, even bringing your drinks onto the beach, no need to move all day. Entertainment was ok, a local band most nights, and karaoke now and again.Dying to go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Recommended
Sarah Tawse
13 years 8 months ago
We stayed here for our honeymoon and it was the most fantastic place that I have ever stayed. It was very clean, peaceful and the food was out of this world.

The manta rays visiting at 6pm each night for feeding is also something not to be missed.

We stayed in a water bungalow which was very peaceful and the shower overlooking the ocean was pure luxury.

My only complaint was that our bungalow wasn't available when we arrived despite booking a year in advance. We were given another water bungalow in the other resort for the first 3 night which was a bit disruptive but really this place is so chilled out you can't really get upset!

The spa is also a must, I went there every day. The prices are very reasonable and I recommend the coconut body and hair treatment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cresta

Recommended
Carole Kendal
13 years 10 months ago
I thought Lily Beach was the most beautiful place in the world (apart from seeing turtles kept in confinement - and for that reason alone I will never go back there) until I went to the Blue Lagoon last year.

The hotel is idyllic - spotlessly clean and with every facility you could wish for.

The rooms are beautiful, with king size 4 poster bed complete with white 'curtains' - very romantic! The bathroom was huge and we especially loved the outside shower. Every morning we were up at the crack of dawn, sitting on our verandah with a cuppa watching the huge shoals of little fish just yards from our bungalow, and waiting for the reef sharks (only little!) to maneuver into position ready to charge towards the beach and send the fish scattering and jumping towards us. Just heaven!

The food was out of this world and there was a huge choice for every meal. Nothing was too much trouble. I was even allowed to cook my own bacon 'cos I like it well done!

The swimming pool is very large with a waterfall and 2 Jacuzzis and the whole setting is very beautiful.

Although there are 2 other hotels on the island that you can visit if you want (and you won't!) you still get the feeling that you are isolated in paradise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Jayne Parsons
14 years 1 month ago
Stayed at the Blue Lagoon in March 2002 and March 2004 which was absolutely fantastic! No critisism, only praise. Everything was perfect. Can't wait to go again.
Rooms are splotless, water bungalows are particularly well fitted out. Food is excellent and all the staff are extremely courteous and friendly. What more can I say - go there!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Gary Hudson
15 years 1 month ago
This was our 3rd visit to the Blue Lagoon. It really cannot be faulted, unless your the type that likes noisy places.

Total peace and quiet, clear blue sea as warm as a bath. Snorkelling is a must, it's better than going to an aquarium.

The staff are really friendly,and nothing is to much bother for them. It is a true paradise on earth.

The food is some of the best we've eaten,with something for everyone. Impossible to go hungry there.

We shall be booking to go there again in March 2006.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: MyTravel

Recommended
Kirsten Kenning
15 years 5 months ago
Without doubt the best holiday I've ever had.

Booked to stay for 2 wks and loved it so much i stayed an extra week.

Learnt to Dive with Helmuth and his team who were superb and loved the fish and turtles! Went water skiing and used the health spa which is excellant. Great for photography and watching crabs! Snorkelling a must.

The staff are so lovely and appreciate your books when you've finished reading them!

Emirates were an excellant airline and the sea plane from Kuramathi to Male is recommended as the boat trip takes about an hour.

The saying "no news,no shoes"in the Maldives is so true. Don't bother packing stilettos you won't wear them!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum