Image of Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel

Kuredu Island Resort & Spa Hotel

3 of 9 hotels in Male

5 out of 5 from 13 reviews
4 stars
Lhaviyani Atoll
Kuredu Island Resort is located in Lhaviyani Atoll, an area famous for its abundant fish life. A paradise dream in real life, with more than 3 km of white beaches and aquamarine lagoons. Kuredu is situated on the northern reef of the Lhaviyani Atoll.

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gareth
Out of this World
5 years 11 months ago
We went here for our honeymoon in June 2012. We were hoping that the island looked just like the pictures and we were not let down. It was better. The staff and the facilities are excellent and nothing is too much for them. We had a room boy that visited twice a day everyday and treated us like royalty. Food was fantastic and a great variety.

Would highly recommend this island and resort to anyone.

Faultless.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Greg
6 years 4 months ago
We went to Kuredu on Honeymoon. The accommodation (Beach / Jacuzzi) was simple, but comfortable. I wouldn't personally go for a Jacuzzi again. It was an unused extra. The food was excellent - even for all inclusive and the staff friendly, but not intrusive.

I would definitely go again, but not with Thomson First Choice whose service was nothing short of appalling. Their staff were badly trained and totally uninformed about delays etc. to the extent that I felt sorry for them. This was not what I expected for a top of the range holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Greg
Excellent hotel, holiday reps were appalling
6 years 4 months ago
We went to Kuredu on Honeymoon. The accommodation was simple, but comfortable. I wouldn't personally go for a Jacuzzi again, it was an unused extra. The food was excellent - even for all inclusive and the staff were friendly, but not intrusive.

I would definitely go again, but not with Thomson First Choice whose service was nothing short of appalling. Their staff were badly trained and totally uninformed about delays etc to the extent that I felt sorry for them. This was not what I expected for a top of the range holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Very quiet and private
7 years 9 months ago
Beautiful location. It is a large island and there are plenty of activities: diving, snorkelling, kayaks, banana and ringo watersports etc. The sea life is great, so much going on and the house reef stretched out either side of the pier, so there was plenty to explore. Even closer to shore there is plenty of sealife to watch as you snorkel back in from the reef. Husband dives and he had a great time with ProDivers. I made good use of the spa and had some wonderful treatments. The ginger tea they give you after the massage is very very nice.

The island is stunning, white sands, turquoise ocean, lots of greenery - it really is paradise. Very clean, there are people working all hours sweeping the leaves off the pathways. The wash rooms are very clean and smell of peppermint which is really refreshing and uplifting. The island is quite isolated so you only see islands way off in the distance.

We stayed in a beach bungalow (room 404) this was perfect for us. It was very quiet and private on this side of the island. The beach and sea are better on the other side of the island, however it takes approximately four minutes to walk straight down the main route to the other side of the island. We thought the beach bungalows were in a great position and the aircon has a night setting so it doesn't get too cold and its not noisy. Best night's sleep definitely!

The food was great. Lots of choices. Breakfast was pastries, cakes, breads, homemade yogurt (which was amazing) cereals, omelets and eggs cooked to order, bacon, mushrooms, sauteed potatoes, beans. Lunch was just as good with salads, soup, breads, pasta cooked to order, vegetable curry, fish curry, pies, chicken in sauce - I think you get the picture; there was plenty on offer.

The all inclusive wine was really good, the red and white were very fruity and easy to drink. All the usual spirits are on offer and I recommend the rum and pineapple. Fresh mango juice is also on offer and this is very refreshing.

The staff were very amiable and friendly. Always smiling and happy to help. The welcome talk is worth attending to find out all about the facilities and you get to meet some real characters - lots of fun.

The entertainment is based around the bars, very low key. They do special nights such as crab racing and the white party which is stunning (they decorate the bar in white and everyone is asked to wear white and then they put on the ultraviolet lights!) There are shisha pipes available which is interesting to watch.

We visited the golf course - hubby played and said it was novel to play golf in the Maldives. The bar here is lovely - the scenery is so lush and the fruit bats swoop down to catch their supper to entertain you as you have a tipple. Very relaxing. The bar staff are really friendly and love to chat.

I would recommend this island and I would visit it again one day. Its great for families with teenagers as there is a pool, the snorkeling is fab and there's plenty going on if this is what you want. If you want a quiet, intimate holiday you can also achieve this as its a big enough island to find your own piece of paradise. Large islands are not everyone's cup of tea but we loved it and enjoyed our week here very much.

The seaplane transfer is exciting, though it is hot and cramped and noisy. We both agreed we preferred the boat transfer but Kuredu is too far away from the airport to go by boat (5 hours on a good day and up to 8 hours when the sea is rough).


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr And Mrs Cox
9 years ago
Well what can i say, the island is paradise, no words can dexcribe until you experience it yourself.
We were on our honeymoon and couldnt have asked for anything else.
We were lucky to be upgraded to a water villa for 2 weeks. The rooms were amzing the view onto the ocean was lovely. When you stepped out onto the decking you had 2 levels of decking to sit or sunbathe on.
Hotel food we could not fault, everything you wanted was there, and also the chef would cook food in front of you. The waiters again very friendly and would ensure you always had a glass of water. You could eat inside or out on the beach.
All inclusive drinks; there was not a lot of choice. Others you had to pay extra for. Happy hour 6-7pm for cocktails.
suitcases are taken away the day before you fly and left at the airport for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kuoni

Recommended
9 years 10 months ago
Just returned from Kuredu yesterday on our honeymoon and cannot fault the resort in anyway.
Rooms were so clean, we were lucky enough to have the new o'beach villas. Restaurants and staff were so friendly and helpful. Roomboys who clean your room twice daily were very friendly and always stopped for a chat.
The food in our allocated restaurant was great, buffet with all meals so eat and drink as much as you like! Variety of food was great and the chef is always up for a chat while he cooks infront of you.

The island itself was kept in good order - no rubbish, staff always seen clearing pathways.
We booked in the monsoon season but that didn't bother us, the rain was so refreshing. And when it rains, it rains!

I recommend this resort to anyone. Just a magical paradise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years 5 months ago
All inclusive great but as anywhere in Maldives cocktails and some spirits/drinks not included.

Food good but sometimes (as in Indian night) not a lot of choice if you didn't like chosen food.

Location beautiful, staff really helpful.

Entertainment not really our thing but okay if you like disco nights, bingo, quizzes etc. They try to please all with different bars with different things (i.e. quiet blues, disco and sports in different bars and just peaceful chill out in sunset bar- pool bar in eves was the 'in' crowd!).

Would definitely go again. Like a little bit of paradise!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Exploere travel

Recommended
Clark
10 years 10 months ago
This holiday was paradise and a lot better than expected. We met some fantastic people, Maureen and dougie, Elena, Susan and Alan, and a lot more. It was certainly not a quiet holiday we had approx 4 hours sleep a night for two weeks. It was hectic but fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
11 years ago
We returned from two weeks on Kuredu on 19th April. We are
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 11 months ago
We went to Kuredu on our honeymoon for 2 weeks and it was beautiful and we met a lot of other couples on their honeymoon too.

We had a beach villa about halfway up the island to the right of the jetty as you get there, bear in mind you can walk round the whole island in about 50 mins.

When you arrive in Male you are taken by bus to a big warehouse looking building where your hand luggage is weighed in and you wait for your sea plane transfer, it is very hot here so make sure you have water, although they do sell it there. Sea plane is fantastic and goes much higher than I thought they would. When you get off you are greeted in reception with a fruit juice and a cold flannel which is heaven. you are booked in and given your room details, your luggage will come to your room later on as it comes but speed boat so make sure you have sun cream and bikini in your hand luggage(you will need it).

Rooms are gorgeous, although would definitely pay the extra for a beach villa as the bungalows are set back a bit from the sea.

You will have your own waiter for the duration of your stay as well as the same table so no clearing up, the service is fantastic and the staff cannot do enough for you.

The bed is even made up with flowers and petals when you arrive and they come round to turn your bed down every evening, you will also have the same room boy for your stay. My husband had a birthday while we were there and they laid our table up specially and made him a cake.

Resident geckos are everywhere but leave them in your room as they eat the mozzies (if you get any in your room) although beware the sand flies and do not lay directly on the sand as they bite.

Entertainment is ok, usual disco in the main bar and some games and competitions by the pool bar, but this is an island to relax and not to party.

Shop is a little expensive but it is the only one on the island so to be expected!

The food was fantastic and a lot cooked in front of you, a lot of their cooking is oil based but the Maldivian night was great and try the fish curry-they are caught fresh every day, you can see them bringing them in at the end of the jetty every night.

Water villa side is choppier sea but you will see turtles and great sea life this side, and reef sharks up by the beach(harmless).

Golf course is basic and you have to carry a small square of fake grass around to hit from on the greens which is very funny. full size driving range though. Water sports are very good here too.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum