Image of Coastline Hotel

Coastline Hotel

4 out of 5 from 26 reviews
4 stars
Triq Is-Salini, Naxxar NXR 9030, Malta

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Andy
Very run down
10 years 1 month ago
Overall we had a very enjoyable stay at the Coastline.
The food was very good with a selection of local and more British dishes served at the buffet restaurant. One very good point is that the restaurant is free seating so you select your table on arrival, much better that having fixed seating. The local drinks and wine were fine.

The public spaces are large and there are activities available for those wishing to join in but thankfully no pressure to do so.

The furniture around the pool is nearing the end of its useful life and the whole area suffers badly from fly infestation.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would say that the hotel is looking a little tired in places. We had a sea view room on the second floor which was large and had a pleasant balcony with two plastic chairs and a small table. Of the room itself everything looked a little past its best with obvious signs of wear and tear to the furniture and furnishings. The fridge barely worked and the TV picture was appalling (even on channels which were first class in the public rooms such as the shop). The bathroom had a very low bath with shower over (when are hotels going to realise that most people now shower and would prefer a proper walk in shower). The sink was cracked and the toilet seat was of very low quality plastic.

We did enjoy our stay and had a relaxing time but I would rate the Coastline as a three rather than a four star until some refurbishment is undertaken.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Nunn
11 years 3 months ago
The Coasline hotel is excellent in everyway. large clean rooms, friendly staff, good food. However the downside are the flies around pool area and sometimes in the restaurant. We understand the tip which is about three miles away is no longer in use. Behind the Hotel is a cattle farm , a few smells , but not to bad. The only reason we would not return are the million flies. Such a shame . If you have already booked , I would suggest you take a beaded glass cover.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: saga

Ken & Sue Peckham
13 years 2 months ago
The Coastline Hotel was probably the best Hotel we have been to ever. We stayed all inclusive and the food was excellent. Always something to choose from. We had maid service to our room every day, between us we had 3 rooms 2 couple and 1 had 3 teenage girls. The maid did an amazing job with the girls room (us Mum's would have just shut the door again!). The staff were polite at all times, happy and extremely helpful. We would go back tomorrow if we could, it is a shame it is going over to Saga in September for 3 years. Entertainment was a little cheesy if not laughable but if you are in a large party then it is just back ground entertainment and quite acceptable. The location is of the track slightly though you have a fantastic view across the bay and this is not a problem as a curtesy bus runs frequently from the hotel to the centre of Buggibba and Quwra. This is most definately worth a visit.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Patrick Keaveney
13 years 7 months ago
Although We had seen the "Coastline" on various other visits, and new it's location We had never stayed at this Hotel. However this proved a revelation. As I stated We have stayed various Hotels in Malta,but Pound for pound,this must be one of the best on offer. It is truly
a four star Hotel, served by the most obliging Staff.who also keep the Hotel spotlessly clean. Food is of the highest order,and something to suit everybody is on offer. As You may judge this Hotel is hard fault,however if I must.....It would add to the Hotels esteem if a jug or plain drinking water was available on the table at Dinner (without Charge ).Surprisingly there is no dedicated T.V. room,this is often used for other purposes. The Room T.V. Handset. A deposit Maybe but a charge to use it ?... No
We would return to This Hotel tomorrow.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Mercury Direct

Recommended
Paul & Philippa
13 years 8 months ago
This is the third time we have visited the Coastline although not for 6 years.

It is still a fabulous hotel - great food, rooms, entertainment and everything else!!

We opted for a high floor country/inland view room as these get virtually all day sun. They are so quiet and are not overlooked. In the height of summer a sea view might be preferential as the inland view rooms would be very hot!!

We were so pleased to see that the colony of cats that live at the back of the hotel were in beautiful condition - probably due to the fact that each day there were piles of meat from the previous days dinner put out by the hotel staff. Even steak one day!! The cats are very friendly and are a delight to watch.

We would certainly return to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
14 years 1 month ago
The Coastline sits back from the coast road, just short of Qawra, overlooking Salina Bay, with views across the bay to Qawra (if you can, get a sea view room, it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Belle Air

Recommended
Shirley Robinson
14 years 2 months ago
A Beautiful hotel spotless clean marble mirrors glass every where. It is a four star hotel without a doubt. The food is top quality and variety is fantastic. If you find you dont like any of the 10 different meals on offer each night then all you have to do is ask a waiter foe a steak or chicken and they will get the chef to do it for you. Nothing is to much for these chefs. Outstanding staff are conrad the wairer, karen the evening receptionist, if you want anything go to see her, shes lovely. Head waitress correen shes always smiling and very helpful. The only down side of this hotel is the problem they have with students, the second you have a problem with them report it to reception, dont put up with it' ask to be moved to a different floor' these students are there for 6 weeks so it wont get better. Phone before you go and ask what floor they are on and ask for a different floor. I would go again but i would certainly find out about the students first. I have left a letter of complaint with the hotel general manager, lets see if he replies.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
B & M Newbould
14 years 3 months ago
HB as stay only one week and hired car to travel around a lot,(Car hire cheap, driving on the left, roads poor in places, driving standards ditto but a car really makes the holiday as you can look out the highlights at will. Discover the 'real' Malta and all at your own leasurely pace(A/C essential!).

Would reccomend A/Inc for two week stay or if you are a "arrive, sit by the pool, go home' person.

Hotel very clean in all areas. Bedrooms/lifts slightly worn but absolutely nothing to write home about.

Food good + with fine choice at breakfasts but slightly bland dinners which if staying for more than a week would become a little boring. Well cooked and presented, excellent starters and sweets, good main course selection (no chips = bliss!)rising to v good on occasions. Super dining room with great view. Ditto large bar and most imposing marble reception/lounge.

Location 'out on a limb' but thats why we like it and have given it 4*. (not 5* as road outside can be noisy at rush hours but hotel is set back and upwards so it is not a problem most of the time. Fine at night with doors closed, we are v light sleepers and slept fine after first night) Great views from seaview rooms (reccomended) across bay.

Regular free hotel mini bus to centre of Qwara/Bugibba area. Nowhere really for a long stroll outside hotel in evenings.

Staff very friendly indeed. The odd surely waiter/barman but as a whole they really make you welcome.

We are not entertainment types and what we did see, apart from the v hard working likeable Johnny Gee, was pretty bland, boring stuff.

Would visit again (avoiding school hols) as its 40+ age range is ideal, (used to be a Thomson Gold) very laid back, few if any screaming kids (done all that), lovely pool area , never crowded and as far as we have seen/heard one of only a few hotels in Malta that is anywhere near its star rating. Most 4* to UK eyes are 3*, most 3* are nearer to 2* etc. As they say Malta has a unique character many love it many don't. Definately no grey areas. Its ramshackle in a lot of places but its highlights are very good indeed. As one guest said, 'it needs a good wash and brush-up' in places but you would equally apply that to much of blighty too! Personally we have become endeared to Malta and its lovely people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Direct.

Recommended
Roger &june
14 years 6 months ago
The hotel was excellent and the cleanliness was very high.The food was good also at the snack bar.staff are friendly,The entertainment in the hotel was ok.I would re-visit the hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Pearce
14 years 11 months ago
We have been to Malta many times. The Coastline Hotel is close to a busy road, but does not suffer from too much traffic noise. As others have said it is also located between a landfill site and salt pans. In the height of summer you can get smells in this area!

There are flys and wasps all over Malta, not just at this hotel.

The food in the Hotel is good, however we find hotel food gets boring so we eat out (the standard of food in Malta is high) and only ever do B&B at the hotel. Breakfast is very good in my oppinion. Local wine and beer is excellent, try Marsovin Special Reserve red wine and Cisk lager, both are cheap and great

The location of the hotel means using buses or car hire, we always hire because its cheap and they drive on the same side like us

The hotel is clean, staff friendly. I would say it represents good value for money. We book through the internet and sort our own flights. Last year we paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own Arrangements

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.