Image of Waterfront Hotel

Waterfront Hotel

2 of 16 hotels in Sliema

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
115 The Strand, Sliema, GZR1027, Malta

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
We will not go back!
10 years 4 months ago
My wife and I stayed at this hotel in June 2011 but we will not go back.

These are the problems we found with our room:
cracked bathroom basin, chipped bath, dirty tiling above toilet, black mould round tiling in bathroom, rotten bathroom door from water damage, heavily stained and torn bed cover, no tea or coffee making facilities, very old and faulty TV.

Astonishingly, this was rated 4-star by Thomsons. I wouldn't expect these conditions in a 2-star hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Chris&Frazer Griffiths
Good clean accommodation
10 years 6 months ago
Had a good stay at the Waterfront for my 60th birthday.

We were on B&B so didn't eat in the dining room except for breakfast which was good. We did eat once in the restaurant on the mezzanine floor which we thought was poor for both quality and service. The choice of eateries in the immediate area was very good with the Chinese/Indian restaurant especially good as one likes Indian and one likes Chinese - perfect.

The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff friendly with comfortable seating and a nice atmosphere in the bar/reception area.

The only downside to the hotel is the very loud noise at the front of the hotel at night with only single glazing to the bedroom windows. This was after asking for a high floor after hearing it was a problem. The hotel hadn't received our request from Thomsons and didn't have another room for us but with the ear plugs Chris always takes this cured the disturbance.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Young
12 years 5 months ago
This is a very good hotel and deserves it 4-star rating. The staff were always helpful, friendly and keen to help. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the food was excellent with a wide choice.
My wife had a problem the first night with the traffic noise but the following day the hotel moved us up to the fifth floor, also with balcony, and this cut out the traffic problem and the view was very good. Cannot comment on the pool etc as it was too early and the pool was very cold, but we sunbathed and the area was good and no doubt great in the summer. Location was fine and handy for all the tours and the promenade was good for a walk after lunch. It did in fact exceed my expectations having read some reviews.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Gaynor
12 years 6 months ago
This is a lovely hotel in a convenient spot. We were within walking distance of Sliema centre and a short bus ride away from both Valetta and the bustling resort of St Julians. We travelled as a couple and found the hotel peaceful & relaxed with a very pleasing decor. It was clean and the staff were pleasant & helpful. We had a spacious room and had paid to have a harbour view,which we loved and would highly recommend. We were half board and thoroughly enjoyed the food (not a chip in sight!). The hotel is quiet with the only entertainment being live music one evening a week which suited us. In my opinion it is not an ideal hotel for families with children and more suited to couples or single travellers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
13 years 10 months ago
Stayed at the Waterfront for our first visit to Malta end of October/November, We found the hotel staff very helpful and knowledgable. We had a lovely sea view room overlooking the harbour and valetta, it is well worth paying extra for this. The room was cleaned daily and the breakfasts were very good with quite a good choice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
13 years 10 months ago
The Waterfront Hotel is in a good position on the Sliema waterfront; about 10 minutes stroll from the ferry landing, the main bus stops, loads of bars and restaurants, and Marks & Spencer. It is on a corner site with a revolving door opening into a very pleasant reception, lounge and bar area. This is modern with a yachting theme; pale timber inspired by sailing boat fittings, and lots of atmospheric photos,

The reception staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful. The bar and lounge area is comfortable and well ventilated. Prices were reasonable and the service good, personal (and therefore a little slow). A new coffee bar next to the bar opened on our last day, so we did not have a chance to try it.

Our first-floor room was large with a fantastic view over Marsamxett Harbour towards the picture-postcard skyline of Valletta. There was a small balcony with a table and two chairs. The room was of four-star standard in terms of facilities, cleanliness, maintenance and appearance.

We stayed B&B, and did not try the main restaurant for dinner. Breakfasts were what you expect, a mixture of English and Continental, with a good selection of fruit, cereals including muesli, cold meats, and cheeses. The restaurant is light and airy with the same excellent view towards Valletta.

Most nights we ate in the Waterfront
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
16 years 1 month ago
There are no problems as such with this hotel it was just not to our taste I found it quite formal and business like, I prefer somewhere more relaxed. We also had just come from a fantastic hotel in Gozo "The Grand" its a small hotel, very homely and friendly with amazing food, if we had just went straight to the Waterfront we would probably have enjoyed it better.

I did not find the staff to be particularly friendly.

It is however ideally for the cruises which leave from Sliema and it has lovely views.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thompson

Bill
17 years 1 month ago
Good hotel, staff friendly and helpful we had a good time.

My only criticism is that it is a bit business rather than holiday orientated - nothing for the kids to do.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Heyde
17 years 3 months ago
If visiting this hotel,book the rooms with seaview if possible.The view at valetta especially just before nightfall is stunning.

The breakfast is of a 4* categorie en the hotel staff is really very friendly and helpfull in all your questions.However no entertainment in the hotel but nearby you have all you need.Excellent hotel for people who like to avoid big noise on there holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunjets

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.