Image of Soldoiro Apartments

Soldoiro Apartments

2 of 2 hotels in Praia da Oura

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
3 stars
Praia da Oura, 8200-604 Albufeira, Portugal

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Karen Willis
9 years 8 months ago
We have just returned from 11 days at the Soldoiro. Me, hubby, and four teenagers!!

The rooms themselves were very spacious - we were allocated a 3rd floor apartment, with 2 good sized twin bedrooms, 2 beds in the lounge area (which opened up to a very small kitchen), a good sized bathroom and an extra toilet with washing facilites - which was handy for the lads to shave in while the girlies showered in the bathroom. Our room (no 70) had a lovely view of the sea, looking down cardiac hill.

There are no lifts, so the 3rd floor (after climbing the hill!) was a nightmare - I wouldnt recommend it for those with walking difficulties.

The hotel and rooms were quite dated, and in need of a refurb. The pool area was nice, not many sunbeds, but was always quiet till mid afternoon anyway.

The pool bar was ran by the laziest member of staff I have ever known - I would sack him!!

To avoid cooking bar meals (which were advertised on menus put out by another member of staff) he would say there was no food left, or the kitchen was closed, and would then retreat to the bar area and go to sleep! I don't know how he gets away with it.

Its a good job the Old English Cafe and Fish Shop are 100 metres up the hill!

The hotel seemed to attract groups of stag parties, of all nationalities - probably due to the closeness of the strip. It could get noisy at night while they made their way back. Our teenagers were probably as bad, but this has made us not want to go again. Also, because of the ages of most of the guests (early 20's), the music played around the pool was always very loud and 'clubby'. Not my idea of a relaxing holiday, but at least we were close enough to the beach to escape.

The location was probably the best in the resort - close to the beach and strip.

The apartment doors are opened using a card system - and almost every day we had problems with the cards and had to get them recharged. As reception closes at 2am, I was dreading this happening to us any later and envisaged us all curled up sleeping on the beach!

The maid came every third day - which is not enough when you need clean towels for 6 adults.

We had a fab holiday - and love Albufeira, but will be stopping somewhere a little more modern next time.

Saying that, it was cheap, so I suppose we got what we paid for. I booked with the hotel direct, and actually bartered with them to get the price down.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: DIY

10 years 8 months ago
Just returned from two weeks at these apartments and had a nice time.

The apartment was very spacious and I did receive the seaview I requested. However, the apartment faced out onto the hill which is ok during the day but at night time and early morning the noise is disgraceful. Don't expect much sleep if you go to these apartments.

Reception is not 24 hours. You usually cannot get into your room on arrival until 3pm onwards.

The pool is small, deep and very cold at times. We did manage to get a lounger most days but non-residents use the pool although nothing is said about this.

We had a leak in our bathroom ceiling and although they said they repaired this, this continued to leak at regular intervals during the day and night. We complained to reception and were told there was nothing they could do and supplied us with towels for the floor to mop up the water. When we checked out the lady on reception said they would need to break the ceiling to repair the leak from upstairs apartment but as they are fully booked they could not do anything about it. I hope anyone going to stay in these apartments are not allocated room 82.

Overall, I did have a nice time but won't be returning to these apartments or Albufeira.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked direct

Dianne Hilton
10 years 9 months ago
We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned every other day. The room we stayed in (studio no. 49) was a little small but adequate with good facilities - kettle, fridge, microwave,crockery, cutlery, tv and wall fan.
We had a brilliant sea view from the balcony. The only down side being the noise from the road below - it was busy but only to be expected as it was the main road down to the beach!
There was a childrens pool as well as medium sized adult pool, which were very clean. There were plenty of sunbeds and a snack bar selling drinks and limited choice of snacks.
The entertainment was a bit limited with only kareoke a couple of times a week so we just went to the strip.
On the whole a great place to stay within walking distance of the beach and the strip. Will be back and will probably stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach

Recommended
Soldoiro Apartments
10 years 11 months ago
Was very worried about arriving at this apartment after reading some very bad reviews,however myself and my daughter was very pleasantly surprised.

Its in afantastic position, right in the middle of the hill, half way to beach and half way to strip.

We stayed in a studio apartment on top floor, few stairs to carry case up, but worth the view that we had of the sea. They were clean, and maids come three four times in the week.

I will definitely go back to these apartments,and would recommend others.

As we went in may there was no entertainment on but thats because its too early into the season,as was the food but staff were friendly enough.

Must recommend Farnels cafe for food you get loads for your money and food was excellent, first croosroads on the left in midle of the strip.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: holidays direct

Recommended
Angela Dearnley
11 years 11 months ago
The Soldoiro is perfectly located.

Clean with a little need of some decoration.

Staff were friendly and we did not use the bar as we were so close to the strip.

I must stress the only complaint is there is no oven and the kitchen is a little basic with only 2 rings and a fridge and sink but we did not cook that much. You will need to take a hairdryer and iron although I believe you can get these from reception. We were in room 82 which over looks the sea and pool. It is up a lot of stairs so if you are older or disabled you will need help. Balconies were wide and fantastic views just right for breakfast and sunbathing.

All in all good value. If you want luxury then pay more and go elsewhere.

Pool was great if a little small. May get crowded further into season.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpha Rooms

Recommended
Danielle And Bev
12 years 1 month ago
When we first arrived at Soldoiro we were a little wary due to all the negative reviews we've read. Ignore them all!!!!!!

Absolutely fantastic, yes it's basic and yes it could do with a face lift, however, the apartments are very clean, spacious and have fantastic views.

The location is second to none, being half way between the strip and the beach. Cardiac hill isn't as bad as people make it out to be!

The staff are excellent, friendly and all speak English.

The bar is always open! and the Sauna is excellent after a night on the beer!

The apartment is well equipped and the beds are comfortable. We will definitely be returning! And the Karaoke was made better by the staff always staying behind and joining in!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Booked everything ourselves

Recommended
Chris Fulton
12 years 3 months ago
Me and my fianc
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travelled Independently

Recommended
Sonny
12 years 7 months ago
Our room must be the smallest room I've ever stayed in. Also there was a nasty damp smell and a lot of ants crawling around. We didn't even have proper beds they were camp beds. However apart from that the staff were ever so freindly and helpful, and speaking to other people in hotel not all rooms were as bad as ours. The bar in hotel was good fun had lots of T.V screens for football also pool was okay too.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpha rooms

Willie
12 years 8 months ago
The apartments are situated on a 1:4 hill about 150M from the beach and about 150M from the Montechoro Strip, ideal location in our opinion.

The room was very cramped and not cleaned often (the maids always seemed to turn up at our room about 5pm which wasn't ideal as we had usually just returned from the day out and asked them to come back tomorrow, they did about 5pm.

Found the Rep. And staff very helpful(apart from the maids).

Entertainment was quiz or karoke which was ok depending on who was there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

13 years 3 months ago
We stayed in a one-bedroomed apartment, which was basic but had character. The only problem was we had two single bed's which were literally impossible to put together!!

Check-in was 4pm (which the rep declined to tell us until we were virtually there), and we arrived at 11am, but luckily our room was available, but this was January! If our room hadn't been available, I would have been extremley annoyed as it was a Sunday and virtually everywhere was closed.

We had a beautiful sea view from the balcony which was a sun trap as it caught the sun most of the day. Most of the apartments seemed to have nice views. We had no trouble with noise (although I have read several independent reviews about the problems with noise), but our bedroom was around the back and we were in low season. We were two minutes from the beach and the night life.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
What's nearby