Image of Four Views Oasis Hotel

Four Views Oasis Hotel

2 of 2 hotels in Canico

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Canico de Baixo, Canico, Madeira 9125- 024, Portugal
The Oasis Atlantic offers a seafrnot location in spacious, immaculate accommodation and is particularly suited to families looking for a quieter holiday away from the hustle and bustle of Funchal. Kids will also love the indoor and outdoor play areas.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Andy&sue
11 years ago
We stayed at the Oasis Atlantic hotel on a bed and breakfast basis but upgraded to 11 nights flexidine.
The hotel was one of the best we have ever stayed in.
The rooms and hotel were kept up to a high standard by the maids,who were friendly and always smiling.
Hotel food was of a very high standard(hence the 9pounds i put on) Paul the resturant manager and his staff take care of you and nothing is to much trouble.
Hotel is in a quiet location exellent for a quiet getaway but funchal is reached via the hotel bus which is very well run being able to book your return seats 24 hours before so its not first come first serve.
Pool and surrounding areas kept very clean plenty of sun beds no need to get up early to reserve one.If you require a matress for the sun beds they will even get them for you free of charge (towels supplied free as well).
Entertainment bit dissapointing Bruno on the organ very good but needs to be more shows.(Rita the parrot very entertaining.)
Wouldnt recomend hotel for families not a lot to due for kids but for adults its exellent.
Would visit hotel again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Peter
12 years ago
We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon.

They left a bottle of wine and a basket of fruit in our room on our arrival. The room was a lot bigger than we expected, with a kitchen, it was more like an apartment.

We had a sea view and were not overlooked by any other room. The hotel was clean, the food we had in the hotel was good, and the staff friendly. The entertainment was Bruno on his keyboard with visiting act s 2/3 times a week.
The pools (indoor and outdoor) were good and cleaned every morning, (the outdoor pool is salt water).

There is not a lot in Canicio but there is a free shuttle bus to Funchal if you book the day before, or the local bus is quite cheap.

In summary, it was a great hotel for a quiet holiday and I would recommend it to anyone, (though maybe not much for kids to do)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Paul
12 years 7 months ago
Probably the cleanest hotel we have stayed in so far, staff very nice and most helpful.

Entertainment a little repetetive but for out of season ok, local dancers highlight of week for us.

Everybody in hotel genuinely nice, hotel shop was most helpful and even arrange to get for us items not in stock.

Only misshap was on last night unwelcome guest in my salad ( small black moving creature !!! ) reported to restaurant manager, very apologetic, other than that a very good hotel with all the facilities you would expect, and more.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Shumi & Ben
13 years 2 months ago
We were pleasantly surprised by our room, which was spacious and comfortable. The en suite bathroom was also quite big. You really do not need a sea view, if you have a patio facing the big garden, which is really beautiful, green and luscious. You walk through and past the gardens and you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRSTCHOICE

Recommended
Shumi & Ben
13 years 2 months ago
The location of the hotel was perfect for us as it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRSTCHOICE

Recommended
The Langford Family
13 years 5 months ago
When we first came to the hotel we were'nt sure about what it would be like. We had a half board which meant use of everything except having lunch.

The cleanliness was exceptionly good with the towels changed everyday. The staff were very friendly and understanding and they had a good idea of the english language.

The entertainment I think would be the best because you had Bruno playing the keyboard and singing and about 1 hour later there would be a show whether it was dancing or singing, e.t.c My favourite was the Parrot (rita) she was so sweet and friendly We even got to hold her.

We made many friends on the holiday and would definately consider coming again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Lynn & Dave
14 years ago
We stayed 2 weeks and booked 7 nights half board and 7 b & b which worked really well. The food was excellent. Plenty of choice and no stomach upsets! Hotel staff were friendly and all spoke English. The entertainment was good, not "over the top" and may not suit everyone, but as we were looking for a quiet relaxing holiday it suited our needs. Its location in Canico de Baixo is perfect, right on the sea front, but it took quite a long time on the service bus to travel to the centre of Canico. However using the local transport can be quite entertaining and we looked upon it as part of our holiday and not a chore. Hotel cleanliness is second to none. Clean sheets every day. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Joyce And Ralph Patterson
14 years 2 months ago
Until now we have always said that we would never go back anywhere, but we may well make an exception in this case. This hotel is among the best we have ever stayed in, and although situated about 12 km from Funchal there is a choice of the hotel courtesy bus, or a regular, but much slower, service bus, stopping outside the hotel - if you use the service bus find out the location of the bus stop for the return journey - we didn't and it cost 18 Euros for a taxi!

We could not believe the friendliness of the Madeiran people in general and the hotel staff in particular - others have said it, but it's true, nothing is too much trouble for them, and they seem to be blessed with endless patience and smiles (even after Portugal had lost in the final of Euro 2004).

Although we were on a B&B basis, there was no formality when we wanted to eat at the hotel, having the choice of the a la carte menu or the buffet.

Not only were the views from the hotel spectacular, and the swimming pool faultless, but the grounds were impeccably maintained and full of beautiful flowers, trees and shrubs.

We booked late and didn't have the option to buy a seaview - instead of the expected view over a car park, our patio led onto a lovely garden area, two personal sunbeds, two patio chairs and a small table - so pleasant (and private) that we did almost all of our sunbathing there!

When we did choose to go to poolside there were always plenty of vacant sunbeds and parasols.

The room was first rate, very clean and well-maintained, with about 30 channels on the TV, there is a mini bar and on the one occasion we used room service we found it to be good and quick. Luckily though we had taken a travel kettle, as there are no tea or coffee making facilites in the room.

The hotel shop is quite small, but stocks most things you could possibly need (English papers arrive at 5pm same day)and is run by a lovely couple, who are so nice you have trouble getting away!

Entertainment mainstay is Bruno, who plays keyboards and sings and has a good repertoire - we were trying to get him to rock it up a bit, but as with all entertainers, Bruno plays to his audience which was predominately older people, and we got the impression that some have complained when music got too lively! Before Bruno there would usually be a dance, folklore or speciality act. Bruno finishes promptly at midnight and bar service ceases then, but not before the staff have asked each customer whether they wish to order a final drink or two. Prices in the hotel, although noticeably higher than in the surrounding area were still reasonable by UK standards - a large beer and glass of wine costing less than 5 Euros.

There is a fairly well equipped gym, and in that humidity it doesn't take long to build up a good sweat! plus a sauna, indoor pool and outdoor hot tub.
The star of the hotel is Rita - a lovely, lively grey parrot who is perched (literally) opposite reception, and won the hearts of most guests.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Peter
14 years 5 months ago
This Hotel T Share resort is First Class
Courtesy bus waiting for us when we arrived at airport so no hastle .Room Excelent and spacious and clean
linnen and towels changed daily. TV with several channels including english ones .
Food out of this world (put on 8 Lbs in 2 weeks)
Soup(choice) Starters(Choice)Main Course (choice) Sweets (Yummy) Biscuits cheese and tea or coffee.
Head waiter welcomed you at the door with a friendly handshake and led you to the table then it was help your self !!
Pool Spotless so salty you could float,outdoor jaquisie too.Fitness Room,Indoor swimming pool too Sauna,billiards room ,internet room, video room, room. Also shops inside hotel thet were very reasonable and helpfull They will get you fresh rolls daily if required at no extra charge .
Curtesy bus ran daily except sunday to Funchal from 9.15 til 4 15.
Friendly staff very helpfull too nothing a task (you dont see a lot of that nowadays )
nightly entertainment in the lounge Keyboard player singer nightly with a variety of entertainers doing a 1/2 hr spot.
Security was excellent (they even checked if i had signed a chit for my dinner as they did not recognise the sig! must have ben the wine)
Recomend this Hotel to anyone who wishes a quiet restfull holiday and yes you can get a sunbed !!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: T share

Recommended
Mitchell Griffiths
14 years 6 months ago
We stayed in this hotel from 9th to 16th February this year (2004) and were completely satisfied. The location of the hotel in canico, about 3km from funchal means that you either need to arrange your own transport (we hired a car) or be content to stay at the hotel - there is nothing really within walking distance and the hotel is at the bottom of the mountain - right on the sea front. If you are going to use the courtesy bus to Funchal, book early! Having said that, it is easy to remain at the hotel as it is very pleasant. The rooms are spacious and well furnished though have seen better days. The hotel is immaculately clean and the bed linen is changed daily. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the food was very good - so good in fact that we chose to eat at the hotel restaurant rather than dine at other local restaurants. Entertainment is aimed at the older generation and is fairly basic - mostly just one fellow playing a variety of keyboards and singing. There are a number of other amenities though including a full size snooker table and table tennis - the equipment is in good condition. The place is not really suited for children and indeed was mostly inhabited by septugenarians, of course, this means that it is very quiet. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a high quality, quiet & relaxing break and doesn't mind travelling about to find their own entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
What's nearby