Image of Riu Palace Madeira Hotel

Riu Palace Madeira Hotel

1 of 2 hotels in Canico

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
4 stars
Praia dos Reis Magos, Canico, Madeira, Portugal
Impressive facilities and a stunning location further add to guests enjoyment and are sure to make this hotel a success.

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Colin Eyley
10 years 3 months ago
Excellent - have tried to think of a negative and the only ones we can offer - hard butter at breakfast and need to bread through toaster twice - te get decent toast!!

Staff in Restaurant and reception remarkable!! Well done to everyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Billy & Sally Owen
10 years 11 months ago
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rui Palace Madeira. The hotel is very clean and tidy the staff were very friendly and polite. We asked to change our room after our first night, and this was arranged immediately for the next day with no fuss whatsoever. Our luggage was taken to our new room whilst we were out and about in Funchal.

The rooms themselves were some of the best that we've stayed in. Spaceous, comfortable, plenty of cupboard and wardrobe space and the beds were very good too. Not to hard,not to soft. The balconies are quite large, with comfortable chairs.

We can't comment on the entertainment as we went out every night.

We stayed at the hotel on a B/B basis. The breakfasts were very good, with plenty of variety. We did have one evening meal in the hotel, which was ok but quite pricey. We did find a nice little restaurant/pub called Habeas Coppus (and would recommend the Steak on the Stone and Spag Boll)just 5 Mins away from hotel and very reasonable pricewise.

We have no problems recommending this hotel. The location is a bit of a problem if you want to be spontaneous, you do have to plan your days if you want to go anywhere, but the local bus service is excellent as is the curtesy coach provided by the hotel.

Don't be put off by the hotels location, we went into town nearly everyday using either of the above. (Funchal is about 20-25 mins by coach)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: SecurityTravel.co.uk

Recommended
Don & June
11 years 9 months ago
Hotel was excellent in almost every respect.

4 out of 5 for location because there was very limited scope for walking in the vicinity. However free shuttle bus to/from Funchal compensated for this.

Nice tennis court, but expensive: ten euros per hour. We found decent public courts in Quinta Magnolia in Funchal for four euros per hour.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Lind Nixon
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel rooms were immaculate and spacious as were all public areas.

Loads of choice of fresh food to suit all tastes. Linen table cloths and napkins.

Nothing was too much trouble for the excellent friendly staff.

The hotel is out of the way with not much around it and the entertainment not the best. OK for the older residents though who enjoyed dancing every evening.

Regular courtesy bus and the local bus stop is right outside so easy to get into Funchal.

Would stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Kevin & Janet
12 years 6 months ago
We could not agree more with the positive comments made by the previous guest reviews.

Hotel staff could not have been more helpful and professional.

We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Stuart Watson
12 years 10 months ago
First impression was "too posh" for us. Marble entrance and reception. Greeted by a glass of Madeira wine. Staff couldn't be more helpful and attentive. Bags taken to room, no hassle. Welcoming telephone call to ask if room to our satisfaction. Certainly was. Balcony views marvellous , blue sky and sea.

Maid service to rooms.

Food too much to describe. Excellent service from staff. Waiter service above reproach. Real friendly atmosphere.

Location quiet. No discos or similar.

Very good courtesy bus service. Also local service from outside hotel.

Honestly, too much to mention but my wife and I and friends will be returning next year as will many other hotel guests we met.

Entertainment every night, not over the top. If you think this is a bit over the top then all I suggest that if you want relaxing and peaceful holiday you go yourself to see that this is an honest report.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
13 years 7 months ago
Excellent hotel, everything worked, the staff were friendly and efficient.

Other guests were mainly couples between the ages of 40 and 60. Virtually no children, and those that were there were well behaved. The British were in the minority.

Plenty of choice of food.

No comments about the entertainment as we never watch hotel entertainment.

Our room was large and well equiped.

The hotel is set amongst other hotels. Their is a courtesy bus to Funchal and a local service bus to the nearest village.

One strange thing, the outdoor pool was warmer than the indoor pool.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Flour-girl
13 years 8 months ago
Fabulous hotel with fantastic staff. We were lucky enough to be allocated it on arrival. The staff were always pleasant, polite and appeared to be pleased to be working there. The entertainment wasn't too great, but we are in our mid-30's and were on the younger side of the age range.

In generally Madeira doesn't attract people who want to spend all day asleep on the beach and all night in the bar (there is no real beach and there are no real night clubs !!! thank goodness).

Madeira attracts visitors of the more mature nature and as such tend to respect people, property and posessions and therefore hotels are pleasant and well cared for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomsons

Recommended
Stuart & Jeni Barnes
13 years 11 months ago
This was our second stay in a Riu Hotel and it won't be our last. They really are fantastic. The rooms are a good size and are very comfortable.

The staff cannot do enough for but are not overbearing. If you are on a diet you can forget it for however long you happen to be staying because the food is superb and what a choice.

The British were very much in the minority at the hotel but that didn't bother us. As long as you just accept from the start that the majority of Germans are very arrogant and absolutely refuse to queue for anything, you'll be fine! Having said that we shared a table for dinner with a german couple who could not have been nicer.

The hotel pools are situated at the rear of the hotel overlooking the sea and are a very pleasant place to chill out and read a book.

Lunch can be had very reasonably at the snack bar next to the pool area where the usual high standard of the rest of the hotel is maintained. I would have no reservations in recommending this hotel to anyone.

If you like the hustle and bustle of a big resort right on your doorstep then it's probably not for you but if it's a good relaxing time you're after then this is the place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Ken
14 years 2 months ago
This was quite simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in - and I am very difficult to please. The accommodation was just splendid, and the food was marvellous and plentiful. The staff were the best I have ever encountered, and a real credit to the hotel management. From the Reception staff, through Bar staff, Restaurant staff and Cleaners, the helpfulness and efficiency shone through. The Managers were also high profile, and chose to mix freely with their guests every day. There was also good entertainment every night in one of the bar areas.

The hotel is located in a developing resort, and in truth the area is, to me, still a little bit of a hotch-potch. Nevertheless the promenade is at the bottom of the hotel gardens is a lovely area for guests to walk of a little of their dinners in the evenings. A courtesy bus operates several times a day between the hotel and Funchal (the main town of the island), and this enables the chance to explore an interesting town. The island can be explored well by booking on the many Tours which are available, though I chose to hire a car for a week of my stay, and this gave me the chance to explore at my own pace. I would think that about 80% of the guests are German, with French and Spanish also well represented. All staff seem to be multi-lingual - which puts many of us to shame.

I enjoyed Madeira, but wouldn't say it was the best place I had ever been. However, my initial statement about this being the best overall hotel I have ever been to is absolutely true.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
What's nearby