Image of Barcelo Ponent Playa Hotel

Barcelo Ponent Playa Hotel

17 of 37 hotels in Cala D Or

4 out of 5 from 32 reviews
3 stars
Cala Ferrera-Felanitx, 07669 Cala Ferrera, Majorca, Spain

32 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
F Family
13 years 3 months ago
We have had a great holiday and would like to share comments on this hotel to you all.
Fantastic location, I believe one of the best within Cala d or. We had a sea view which is well worth paying the extra for. Others had mentioned how busy/noisy it can be around the back of the hotel near the entertainment.
Friendly and lovely staff.
Clean room. Not massive, but quite enough space.
We went for two weeks and our little ones of 2 and 3 really enjoyed themselves on the beach etc.
Would recommend this resort and hotel to others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended
Kath
13 years 3 months ago
A very large hotel,kept very clean ,room,s were very nice we had a spectacular sea view,comfortable beds & plenty of hot water whenever you wanted it.
the dining room is not large enough for the amount of guest,s every day ther were queue,s for the evening meal especially if you had more than 4 to seat together,& the food often ran out at every meal especially breakfast i often gave up & had toast or cereal,also the air con in the dining room was not usually switched on in the morning,& it was very hot.
never went in the pool as you had to get up at stupid o clock to get a sun bed so we laid our towel,s on the sand [2 sunbeds & parasol 11.50 euros a day] we didn,t use hotel entertainment,as there were plenty of nice walk,s & lot,s of bars to go for a quiet drink.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Fat Boy
13 years 3 months ago
hotel was Great,Had to pay to park car for the duration of stay though!Breakfast was like world war 3,Food was below average.Although we changed our evening meal to lunch and that was far better,plus you didn't have to dodge the old Blue rinse mob to get fed( mostly non Brits for lunch time)so thats why?? why are people so rude,always blame the foringners" heh we are foriegn too in Spain
Location is first class,get a room with sea view though?
spotless maid service every day( gave her a good tip,she deseverved it)reception has one English girl was great for anyone who didn't do the nightschool classes on Spainish "Ha Ha".the only down fall is the Euro,poor rate of exchange made for a very expensive two weeks(spent
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Sarah And Co
13 years 3 months ago
Hotel is very clean, food is good, we only ate out once in the evening during the two weeks we were there.

Location is exellent, right on the beach, its worth paying the extra suppliment for a sea view. Hotel staff are polite and friendly, the maids work really hard, as do the waitreses and waiters.

Entertainment in the hotel was ok, however we only went there twice.

We have been to this hotel three times as we have always had a great holiday there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
H
13 years 4 months ago
holiday got off to a bad start with the thomsonfly flight being delayed nearly 3 hrs! flight was also delayed coming back by 45mins.

however the wait was worth it. the hotel is beautifully located on the beach at cala ferrera. take beach towels with you to avoid paying for sunbeds on the beach. or use a sunbed on the hotels terrace next to the sea.

we had a single room for 3 people and it was abit of a squash but fine for sleeping in. very clean and nice bathroom.

food was good. arrived about 11 and they provided a cold dinner (this is left overs from dinner but nice enough. breakfast had the usual mix of cereal, fruit, beans, bacon, eggs, toast as well as cakes and cold meat and cheese.
dinner was buffet too with soup, salad, pasta, meat, veg and stews etc available. the restaurant did get very busy at 7- 730. i would recommend waitng to go until 8ish.

went to thomson welcome meeting the day after arrival. the rep was pretty useless. she didnt know anything about much and couldnt answer most of the questions she got asked. and the directions she gave us were totally wrong!

the sauna was 6E for 1hr and very nice. they also have a turkish bath and indoor swimming pool. make a booking at the reception.

never used the outdoor pool but it looked nice!

they did have some entertainment in the bars at about 9pm but i didnt rate it. we were happy enough trying out the cocktail menu!!

there is a massage tent on the terrace by the sea. the woman only comes when it is good weather, see her to make appointments not the reception. not cheap but she is great! sooo relaxing

they play a film in english everynight at 9. not a very good selection of films but better than nothing!

reception are very helpful. they will answer any questions. they also give out things like extra towels and pillows and you can borrow hairdryer & iron too.

took bus to palma from up the road. 7E 60 cents for a single. took about 1hr and it is in fact a coach so a comfy journey.

all in all it was a great holiday despite the weather not being very good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
N
13 years 4 months ago
From the moment we left home it was one long holiday!

Staff were spot on,from Reception down to the Cleaners it seemed you were wanted.

Our three rooms on the fifth floor had room service everyday and the seaveiw into the bay was a bonus at know extra cost.

Food is always inportant and we had plenty to choose from a nice choice of styles and a few strange but interesting items.

Entertainment was't to everyones taste but the Saga Group had a good time.

This was only my second "overseas" holiday and if I only had this choice,I would grab it with both hands!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travelcare

Recommended
Heather Gibson
13 years 4 months ago
have just returned fron a week in the ponent playa.lovely location right on the beach gorgeous views from 5th floor well worth payin for sea view although i think the veiw from any rooms would be good. food and drink well priced infact it was cheaper to drink in hotel bars than some out and about.
food was okay only complaint that noone to show you to tables at meal time and you have to find your own tables.
rooms cleaned daily no complaints on cleanliness pool areas clean, sunbeds comfy although we did go to beach most days...invest in a lilo on the beach
as sunbeds 11euro for 2 beds daily!!
entertainment team very friendly as were all the staff
cala d'or short stroll away to bars shops etc
all in all a pleasant and relaxing time would go back again although the journey from the airport a bit tiresome @1hr 15 mins
would however recommneded
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Moore Family
13 years 4 months ago
Just got back after a week's holiday in Cala D'or. Was really disappointed with hotel after reading reviews. In our opinion the hotel was rated far higher than it should have been.

The food was appalling. The evening meals tended to be what was left over from breakfast and the previous evening's dinner - mixed up with some rice and then called the chef's special. Ice creams and drinks were very expensive - cross the road for everything to be half priced.

Hired a car and was shocked to find that we had to pay three euros 50 cents per night to park in hotel car park. Never had to pay for hotel safes before - again there was a charge for this. No hairdryer provided!! Only two British channels on tv (both news). We were due to leave the hotel at 7.45 and went to the restaurant for some breakfast at 7.15. The doors were locked and we were told by the reception that we were not allowed in because entry was 7.00 or 8.00 but not in between (ridiculous).

The smokers all congregated around the main doors so that everyone had to walk through a cloud of smoke to enter or exit.

All in all very disappointed with the hotel although the position was quite nice. The hotel was clean but overall appeared dated. Wouldn't recommed to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Emma
14 years 1 month ago
wonderful hotel, food exellent , better than some four star hotels I have stayed in.
Hotel is spotless. Location is wonderful,hotel is on the beach side, which is a lovely cove.
We payed extra for sea view which amounted to four euros a day each,well worth it, we had a sixth floor room which meant we could see for miles beyond the beach, and was able to watch the boats come into the cove.
Staff were always helpful and courteous.
We did not use the entertainment, as we went a walk into Cala D or each night.
This was our second visit, and wont be our last, we are going back next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sky tours/ thomson

Recommended
Nicola, David & Hayden
14 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Hotel Barcelo Ponent Playa in Cala D'or. The location of the hotel was excellent right on the beach and we had a sea view room which was wonderful. The rooms were kept very clean and tidy and the twin rooms were quite spacious, as we even had a cot and still some space. The food was always hot and plenty of choice, although my litte boy would not eat anything other than chips!
The pool at the hotel could have been bigger especially the kiddies pool which was tiny, and the hotel could do with a park/activity area for the children, although there was a slide opposite... In general though we thought the hotel and its location were great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.