Image of Agamenon  Hotel

Agamenon Hotel

1 of 3 hotels in Es Castell

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
C/ Agamenón, 16, 07720 Es Castell (Menorca), Spain
Situated slightly off the beaten track, the Agamenon is perfect for couples and singles looking for peace and tranquillity. Relax in the well maintained gardens, enjoy a drink in the bar or a meal in the restaurant all with panoramic views of Mahon harbour.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ian
8 years 4 months ago
Hotel was excellent very clean and the staff were pleasant and very helpful.
The pool was very well maintained and there were plenty of beds and parasols.
The views from the rooms, bar and restaurant are excellent.
We only stayed B& B but the breakfasts were average.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Elaine
10 years 5 months ago
Chose this hotel as we wanted somewhere peaceful with a bit on nigtlife in the resort if we wanted it. This hotel was ideal. Having not visited Menorca before we chose this hotel after looking at various review sites and we were not dissappointed.

There have been a lot of commnents that it is only for older holiday makers, but we did not find this to be the case (on the whole a good mix of ages). It is maybe not suitable for really young children as there is no beach, but having said that, there were a few during our stay and they seemed to be having a good time. Not always a sunbed poolside, but plenty around the garden terrace which is very well kept. Pool very clean but be warned even on the hottest day it was always cold!

View from room was lovely, very picturesque. All rooms have sea views and there is always something to watch as Mahon harbour very busy.

Rooms cleaned daily and towels changed as often as you want. We were happy with our room (409)as we had morning sun and cool in the evening. Staff happy and friedly, food choice good. If you don't like full english (I don't) then the buffet style breakfast is ideal.

Es Castells is quiet with a few bars/cafes but in the evening it is nice to walk down to the habour (calas fonts) as there are shops and bars open late. Try the Blue Bar, can't remember its name but has blue chairs and awning, the staff there are among the friendliest we met on holiday and drinks/tapas reasonable.

The bus runss every 1/2 hour into Mahon or you can walk in along past the marina which takes 30 - 45 mins at a leisurely pace. Mahon well worth a visit. Buses from there to all over the island are cheap, clean and frequent. No need to hire a car.

Would recommend the glass bottom boat trip round Mahon harbour. We went on Don Joan as it was less crowded. Very pleasant, lots to see and takes about an hour.

All in all, we enjoyed Menorca very much even though the weather was not always sunny for us. Would go back to this hotel again.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Louise Walker
11 years 2 months ago
Would recommend the Agamenon to anyone, and am not sure where some of the earlier critics have been staying! The hotel is bright, airy and spotlessly clean. Towels are changed as often as you wish. Rooms are very adequate space wise and have a well stocked mini bar - useful to have a fridge in the room. We were blown away by the breakfast buffet - food of a high quality, and every kind of breakfast food imaginable, from fresh fruit to fried eggs. There are several different varieties of bread, rolls etc and at least a dozen different cakes and pastries as well as cold meats, cheese, bacon, eggs, sausages etc. Brilliant!

We enjoyed the Menorcan buffet on the Saturday evening in the hotel - an amazing selection of food and very good value.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and the location is fine - we didn't hear a dog bark whilst we were there, and traffic noise wasn't bad at all. There is no sense of the residential apartment blocks overlooking you, and I very rarely saw anyone on a balcony. We would hearily recommend the Agamenon to any couple wanting a quiet relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Louise Walker
11 years 2 months ago
Would recommend the Agamenon to anyone, and am not sure where some of the earlier critics have been staying! The hotel is bright, airy and spotlessly clean. Towels are changed as often as you wish. Rooms are very adequate space wise and have a well stocked mini bar - useful to have a fridge in the room. We were blown away by the breakfast buffet - food of a high quality, and every kind of breakfast food imaginable, from fresh fruit to fried eggs. There are several different varieties of bread, rolls etc and at least a dozen different cakes and pastries as well as cold meats, cheese, bacon, eggs, sausages etc. Brilliant!

We enjoyed the Menorcan buffet on the Saturday evening in the hotel - an amazing selection of food and very good value.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and the location is fine - we didn't hear a dog bark whilst we were there, and traffic noise wasn't bad at all. There is no sense of the residential apartment blocks overlooking you, and I very rarely saw anyone on a balcony. We would hearily recommend the Agamenon to any couple wanting a quiet relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
It's a real shame that some people give this hotel a bad review. My children are 2 1/2 and 11 months and we had a great time.

We upgraded to a superior room which was worth it in my eyes. The room was cleaned daily by very friendly maids. towels changes etc.

We found all hotel staff very friendly and happy to help. The food is what most three star hotels serve. I think people need to remember what they're paying for!!

Entertainment again is like most three star hotels. My children loved the mini disco. The five pools are great, a choice for all. We loved the childrens pool with Knee level water, safe for little ones. There is a mini club where you can leave children age up to six which we found on our last day. My little boy loved getting away from us and the lady (isabela)was lovely.

The hotel is right next to the beach and a short walk to a few shops. If you're looking for a quiet holiday which is great for small kids then this is the one for you.

If you expect 5 * facillities at a 3* hotel then don't go!!! You get what you pay for.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: jmc

Recommended
Yates
12 years 4 months ago
Very pleasant 5 night stay, very good value via Travel Republic.

Comfortable but not large rooms; clean and reasonably well equipped (no kettle).

Easy 5 minute walk into Es Castell.

Pleasant public areas, friendly and efficient staff, effective air conditioning.

Would definitely use again due to value for money.

We are a couple in late 30's who would usually stay in 3/4 star hotels or private villas for holidays.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
Greenhalgh
12 years 5 months ago
Hated every minute of our stay at the Hotel Agamenon Menorca.

On arrival 45 min wait for room, no porter service,
room furniture cheap chipboard construction with the veneer chipped off in places, two dinning room style chairs as the seating arrangements, bathroom roof panel had holes in it with visible signs of a water leak. Wall light not working, balcony door would not lock, room looked out over pool but overlooking the pool are two residential apartment blocks that can see into your room.
One block has dogs that bark all times of the day and night.

Lots of noise from residents cars and motorbikes

Pool area had cracked and broken tiles around it small amount of sunbeds even less brolleys some which are broken.

Food absolutely rubbish ok if you like bacon and runny uncooked eggs for breakfast. Dinner no better chicken nuggets, ham fritters and beefburger on offer.

Hotel staff service very poor.

Best thing about this holiday was the flight home. This hotel is rated at 4 star but is more like a very average 2/3 star hotel. A most unpleasant visit for great hotels with good food, accommodation and staff try the Greco hotel Imperial Kos or the Rodos Palladium Rhodes cannot be faulted.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Maggie
13 years 4 months ago
This is a refreshingly air conditioned throughout, beautifully presented hotel.

The breakfast buffet was brilliant. You could choose from traditional full English through to smoked salmon and champagne bucks fizz. The choices of food and presentation was superb. Sitting eating breakfast whilst overlooking the Mahon waterways full of yachts and boats was a great start to the day.

All rooms where spotlessly clean and serviced everyday. The view from our east facing balcony was beautiful.

The staff all spoke English and where extremely friendly and helpful.

The pool area and gardens are spotlessly clean as is the entire hotel.

We didn't stay in for the entertainment or meals at night time so I can't comment on that.

I would say though that hotel is superb for couples wanting a quiet romantic break. Calas Font is only a stroll away. And there is a great Italian within a couple of minutes that you will find superb.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson / style

Recommended
Glynis
15 years 2 months ago
We booked the hotel independently and asked for a sea view, front facing room which we got. The view was absoloutely fantastic, overlooking the Mahon harbour waterway with the little Island.

The room itself was well presented, double bed, full bathroom, mini bar, and air conditioning.

We weren't that struck on the food however. It was well presented etc, but just not to our personal tastes.

There isn't much around the hotel and its a 10 - 15 walk down to the harbour where there is good choice of restaurants.

For a quiet, relaxing break, in a clean hotel with beautiful views this hotel is ideal.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Kathml
15 years 6 months ago
A 4 star + hotel overlooking Mahon Bay & Port 75 rooms over 5 floors all with sea view as hotel faces end on to sea half rooms facing east (out to sea) other half facing west (to Mahon) So if like morning sun ask for east side evening sun west side Best views from 4th & 5th Floors towards sea end of hotel Swimming pool gets sun from midmorning at this time of year The hotel is described as being a 7 storey building but is really a ground floor with reception bar etc
lower ground floor with dining room facing sea & 5 floors of bedrooms

We stayed from 17/5/2003 to 24/5/2003 on a B&B basis and had a wonderful time all staff were so friendly & efficient at their jobs none more so than the receptionists Sylvia & Peggy

The clientele were a mixture of various nationalities with at this timeof year a UK majority but also Spanish German & various other nationalities it is also used by Aircrew

Would say that it is not really suitable for families as there are no facilities or a beach nearby for youngsters

Es Castell is a lovely small town with a very local atmosphere not really a holiday resort although Cala Fonts harbour has a great selection of restaurantes set along the waters edge

It is situated 2/3 Kms from Mahon with a bus service every halfhour until 9pm so is ideal for exploration Taxis are also readily available not expensive

Travel operator: Unknown

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum