Image of Barcello Hamilton Hotel

Barcello Hamilton Hotel

2 of 3 hotels in Es Castell

4 out of 5 from 9 reviews
Passeig Santa Ã?gueda, 6, 07720 Es Castell (Menorca), Spain

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Summer break
2 years 3 months ago
We stayed in this hotel from 20-27 July 2016. We had been to Menorca on previous occasions and this hotel was easily the worst for service. Its reputation is undeserved. Reception staff were hopeless and unhelpful. They seemed to be concerned only with adding costs and charges to customers' bills as the queue lengthened. We were even charged twice for the same holiday and the manager refused to talk to us as we sought to resolve the problem. We had to report the issue to our card company.

Having booked a seaview room, we had to settle for a double room on arrival and this was very basic. The fridge in the room didn't cool, the TV remote control was at best erratic, and the pillows were uncomfortable. The drinks in the sky bar were overpriced and all that this location had going for it was the sea view.

The restaurant was the only positive aspect of a dismal experience even if the menu was limited.

We have had the pleasure of being at far better albeit less hyped hotels than this and we would never stay in the Barcelo Hamilton again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Will definitely be back!
7 years 6 months ago
This hotel is located right on the waterside with fantastic views of Mahon harbour - it is well worth paying for a sea view room - you can watch the boats go by sipping Sangria.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the beds were changed every day. The curtains for once did block out the sunrise which is directly on the seafront rooms first thing every morning.

Food was a wide range of varied hot and cold items on the buffet - all were very good and tasty - bacon was the best ever I have had in Spain.

The hotel staff were very helpful, courteous and polite. The 'entertainment' was very poor - but then we don't go on holiday for entertainment.

The hotel is best suited to mature guests - there is no kids club or playarea. Th

Mahon has a daily market where there is fresh furit and veg, meat, fish and there is a massive supermarket underneath it.

I will definitely be going back there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Snowden
10 years 1 month ago
We stayed all inclusive with saga. The meals were ok you could get by, but unlmited tea and coffee but no bar until 3pm till 11pm, and then you had to watch what you ordered as some things were not for a/i.The afternoon cakes were a laugh a biscuit in a wrapper. The rooms were clean and the maids were good but i dont think the beds were changed in a week.The entertainment was good something every night but it did,t start till 10 and the free bar shut at 11 so you had to be quick.The staff were very good and very helpful.The location was good you could watch boats from your balcony but we had to book a sea view and pay for it.The pool side dont get any sun but we got sun in the morning.You could walk round the bay to bars and cafe's and a lovely jewelery shops.You need to get a bus into mao to get to anywhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Saga

Recommended
Mackinnon
11 years 3 months ago
Harbour view room presented a steady flow of entertainment with boats coming and going throuout the day although the balcony lost the sun by midday.

The swimming pool area was quite small with not many sunbeds and, being v enclosed got extremely hot.

Es Castell as a resort is a little isolated and with limited opportunities to explore on foot. However it was v easy to use public transport into Mahon and from there to other parts of the island.

Possibly best for a quiet, relaxing holiday. Car parking is quite restricted.

The all inclusive package was good and the buffet meals were always extensive and well presented with a good choice.

One week was enough for me
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

The JB's
11 years 4 months ago
The hotel was in a pleasant location overlooking the bay of Mahon with excellent views. It is a pity there was no nearby beach or sea bathing facility. T

he pool was adequate & very clean, but rather small with a noisy spa pool. There were always enough sunloungers & reserving them was stricly forbidden.

All the staff were very courteous & helpful.
Unfortunately, we, along with several other British couples had been sold this holiday hotel as "adults only".

There was a large number of noisy, ill behaved children & babies at the hotel. When we approached our holiday rep, he said the hotel was only "recommended for adults" & he would look into getting us moved. He never came back to us on this.

The situation was then made worse by a party of Spanish schoolchildren, who woke us up by returning noisily to their rooms at 11.30 - midnight all week.Wherever we went, there was a squawling baby or unruly child & parents seemed oblivious to the disruption they caused to others.

This spoiled an otherwise good holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
A 3 star hotel right on the waters edge in Es Castell. Part of the Barcello group currently offering huge discounts to celebrate their 75th birthday.

Rooms at the front have the best views across Mahons natural harbour, but the sun goes off here around lunch time.

The rooms have no fridge or kettle. The bar staff will chill your cava & supply glasses (free).

We found all the staff really helpful & friendly.

Most guests were very friendly, with a large proportion on SAGA holidays all inclusive.

The entertainments seemed to be low key.

We found a car (PT Autos) essential, even for visiting a beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independently

Recommended
Eric Holt
13 years 1 month ago
The hotel is situated on the harbour entrance to Mahon with magnificent views. The staff are helpful, friendly and courteous.

The food ( dealing with a multinational clientel) is of a high quality. The entertainment is lively, but the wonderful thing is that it stops dead at 11.30pm giving a restful and quiet night.

Again, Barcello have come up trumps, happy to reccomend it to anyone (No I'm not a Barcello employee, but I have not visited a bad hotel of theirs yet).
Eric Holt
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own arrangements

Recommended
C Edgley
13 years 1 month ago
Fabulous location. Right on the water front. We loved the hotel from the moment we arrived. The food was so good that we upgraded from half board to fully inclusive. Staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The entertainment was varied and good. As two couples we don't usually return to the same place but have all agreed we must return to Menorca and would most definately stay at this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Lilian Else
13 years 4 months ago
My husband and I (sounds like the Queen) first stayed here in September 2003 (with Direct Holidays) We were so impressed we tried to book for 2004 - but could not get in (went to Sol Gavilanes in Cala Galdana).

Booked for 2 weeks AI for June 2005 - first one ever for us. Not a problem with anything . Hotel spotless, Food - probably too much but you have to give it a go. Staff - good with a few unique characters.

Entertainment is limited and targeted at the time we went to a mature audience - this did not effect the overall holiday -

We are going again in May 2006 - superb deals via Barcelo 75th anniversary, direct flight from Manchester with Monarch, Car Hire - sorted - can`t wait
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum