Image of Blanc Palace Aparthotel

Blanc Palace Aparthotel

1 of 2 hotels in Sa Caleta

4 out of 5 from 48 reviews
4 stars
Caleta Bowling, C/ Ã?ries (Urb. SA Caleta), S/N, 07769 Ciutadella, Spain
The Blanc Palace is marvellous for those families with youngsters under the age of 10. It's not only just 100 metres from the charming, sandy cove of Sa Caleta, it's also got a massive swimming pool of its own, loads of things for the kids to do.

48 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    27
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Bridget Jevons
Disappointed
5 years 1 month ago
I booked an all inclusive holiday at a hotel in another resort but was switched to the Blanc Palace. I assumed I would be in a room in the hotel but arrived to find it closed and my party were put into an apartment. This was very nice but not what I had booked for.

After 4 days the restaurant was closed and all guests had to walk to the hotel, which had reopened, for all our meals. We asked to be moved into the hotel but this was ignored. There was hardly any entertainment unless you were a child. The was a live group but they only performed for 1 hour. My friend and I were really disappointed. It was like being at a holiday camp and not, as we were reminded by the rep, a 4* resort. We will not be going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Co-operative Travel

8 years 4 months ago
Very disappointed by Blanc Hotel, Sa Caleta Playa Apparthotel, and Menorca Club (these 3 names more or less describe the same resort).

They advertise a beach 10 metres from the resort. It's true, but... it's more an abandoned/unmaintained patch of sand rather than a beach. It's only 20 metres wide (yes, just twenty metres). On either sides, there are kilometres of rough rock formations; not even shingles. The "beach" is littered with algaes that are left to rot. Except if you clean an area yourself, you will have to put your beach towel on these algaes. The water has a beautiful colour once you cross the 10 first metres, as depending on the tide, these first 10 metres are filled with dead algaes, turning the water into a dark and dense soup which makes crossing these first 10 metres very unpleasant. Out of the 20 metres of width, half of it are actually delimited by floating cones and reserved for boats. 10 metres of dirty sand does not make it a beach. It's misleading to even mention the word "beach".

I was on an all-inclusive package, and I need to mention the food...

The Blanc Palace restaurant is on the ground/lower floor. It will always serve you pork. In all shapes and form. I did not know there were so many ways to cook pork. If you do not like or want to eat pork, it will most of the time be the only meat on offer. 30% of the time you may also find chicken on offer. And 1 night per week, you will be able to also find lamb. The restaurant has a tendency to reuse the same ingredients over and over again. And they do that with deserts too. You will find the same cream served in different ways. Cakes contain so much heavy cream that they should not be called "cake" at all. Breakfasts offer English and German food, but even the worst B&B in England probably offers better-tasting food. There are also croissants and pastries at breakfast, but they taste worst than any industrial croissants found at any leading supermarket in the UK. All in all, there appear to be choice, but in fact you will eat the same thing every time. And you will not enjoy the taste, even the first time. We really felt like cows being fed in a factory.

The Sa Caleta Apparthotel on the contrary has an on-site restaurant. Go there! There is choice. The food is good. The staff is charming. It's by the pool. It's outside. It's quiet (except when the kid's disco happens there between 8 and 9 PM). If you are on all-inclusive just forget about the lower ground restaurant (except for breakfasts). If you are on half board or self catering, that restaurant is pricey. But being in a residential area, there is nothing else other than the on-site grocery store (labelled "supermarket") or the other restaurant 100 metres away.

But if you are on an all-inclusive package... stick to the one pool either by the hotel or in the centre of the apparthotel complex. I was by one pool, and I was told I had to walk 150 metres to get to the other bar by the other pool and bring my drinks here. The waitress was dead serious, and blamed it on her management. The fact they use the same computer system able to cross-charge the other bar did not cross her mind. The fact it is ridiculous to ask a guest to go to the other side of the resort to get something she could serve me right now did not bother her at all. Being refused something at the bar was not only humiliating but also made me feel unwelcome. That was my personal experience, but listening to other guests, they all had similar experiences, leaving a bad taste for everyone.

The Blanc "Palace" looks like a bunker from outside. A large German bunker. It's painted white all right, but from the outside it's terrible. The Sa Caleta Apparthotels look lovely from the outside, and together look like something traditional. The insides are boot well cleaned and very modern.

Overall, I would not recommend Blanc Palace for all its flaws. I would have recommended Sa Caleta Apparthotels, but not anymore as they are now the same company as Blanc Palace. Do not short-list either of them!

A least we had sunshine and nice temperatures during our 2-week stay. But we could have had that anywhere else in Menorca...



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Co-Op

J.Cottrell
8 years 5 months ago
Stayed at the Blanc Palace in May 2010, booked this hotel as it was in Thompsons Platinum Brochure, as I would assume it would be a little more special as it was platinum!
This was no where near a 4 star hotel, stayed in better 2 and 3 star than this, although the brochure says its in a quiet area, its in a residental area with nothing nearby, the beach is non access able if you have small children and its a cove with a few tonnes of dirty sand, and thats it.
The 1st night of our stay, we went into the Bar/Kids disco area and there were about 5-6 couples smoking inside, the place was half full of smoke even though there were signs everywhere saying "this complex is non smoking", complained to rep, the next night they put all the ashtrays outside on the balcony tables, the following morning a couple of old moaning women were complaing to everyone that they could not smoke inside the hotel,.
The Thompson kids reps are excellent "Vicky & Nina" who were superb with the children, even though there were not many children over 3 staying at hotel at the time of our visit they stilled opened the club most days, the kids mini disco was on for 45 mins each night and was not on one night due to parrot show which frightened most of the kids and all they wanted to do was to put parrots on the adults and make money by taking your photo, all the kids were disappointed as there was no disco that evening. All of the entertainment / events during the day and evening are held by one person who works really hard at his job but could do with some help! the adult entertainment in the evening is also held by him, but mainly picks members of the audience to get up on stage, and either dance, strip off or make fouls of themselves.
We asked the thompson rep to be moved / transfered to another hotel on the island, which was within walking distance of a beach and had a few shops, bars etc nearby and we were told that it would cost us an admin fee to be moved which we would'nt of minded paying for, but he then quoted that the price to stay at 4 star hotels with rooms available was the following - HOTEL ROYAL SON BOU - 600euros, INSOTEL PUNTO PRIMA - 450euros and then he said that there would also be a cancellation fee for our current hotel of 495euros , making the cost for a transfer to a proper 4 star hotel over 1000euros, this was on top of what we had already paid for this holiday! this clearly proves that this is not a 4star platinum hotel. Over the last few days, we hired a car and visited a lot more of the island (do not hire a car from the rep, he charges 40-50 euros per day, walk up the road and hire one for half the price including insurance, etc, and all the cars were new) . Also quite a few of the rooms are looking out onto the road, which has dogs barking all day long, local kids on scooters going past all day, if you are staying there, dont stay in a room near a lift, noisy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

8 years 5 months ago
is ok
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
10 years 1 month ago
We stayed at Blanc Palace form the 6th-13th September, one of the main reasons we booked it was because of the flight times!!!!!
Had never been to Menorca before, but had read that it was a quiet resort especially where we were staying, which is fine for a week if i want to just chill.......which is what we done.

We stayed in apartment 104 it was great, (Pool View) you got the sun from the afternoon through till the end of the day!!
FAB!!

We were self catering, the apartment has a microwave, 2 hobs, toaster (only fits 2 slice of bread) an a kettle and loads of cutlery plates etc, my only complaint was there was no wine glasses, but not a major problem when you are drinking it in the sun!!!

The hotel is VERY clean, and the maids are always sweeping the floor! pool is quite big and there are plent of sunbeds and inflatables to use.

You can also get takeaway pizza, chips and take it up to your apartment, think it cost us on average 10 euros!!
We never ate out much so cant really comment on the restaurants nearby, although the jolly barrell across the road does great tapas!!!!!!
The hotel restaurant itself is quite good, there is a full menu and they do a set menu each day 3 courses for 12 Euros.

Julie on reception is great, she speaks english and has a good knowledge of the area.
There is internet facilities at the reception, 2 euros for 30 minutes.and car and bike hire also.

The resort itself is around 45mins from the airport.

And there are a few supermarkets in the area

All in all a great place to stay!!!!!

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct holidays

Recommended
Ian T
10 years 2 months ago
This was our 2nd visit to the Blanc Palace following a fantastic holiday last year. The standard of cleanliness has remained very high. The staff are the same as last year and remembered us and were very welcoming again. The rooms are more than adequate for a family of 4 with aircon and satellite TV.
The Airtours entertainment team worked extremely hard as usual particurlarly "Disco Stu" organising the daytime and evening acivities.
The only problem we had once again was having to get up every day at 7.30am so we could ensure we got sunbeds as they would get towels put on them and sometimes the owners went out for the day and didn't return until late afternoon. There is a hotel policy that you can not reserve beds with signs posted but were totally ignored.
On the whole though an excellent choice for a family holiday if your children are under 11.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Mcphearson
10 years 4 months ago
I stayed at the blanc palace in jun 07 i went for a two week holiday with my wife, friends and kids. We all agreed it was the perfect holiday. The food was of a high standard and also the rooms too. The reception staff were all very helpfull and most friendly, really made you feel welcome. The daytime entertainment was great expecially for the kids. The entertainers were great also, i didnt really see my kids during the day as they were all off playing with the entertainers expecially if Crazy Chris or Kool Kev was on. These two entertainers were great with the kids and my 3 followed them around all day. They do work very hard and such long hours tho. Evening entertainment was great again Kool Kev and Crazy Chris stood out for us both the only 2 who could sing really. Although Jumping jenny did a great version of Mustang sally, Would have liked to seen more of her but she only really came out at night. Didnt think much of the other rep, he was a bit in your face but friendly enough. When we were there The entertainers said their good bye to Kool Kev as he got moved to another resort which looked like an emotional time for the team. Didnt enjoy my holiday as much when his replacement came in, She was not so friendly towards the kids. But seriously a must do holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Jo
10 years 4 months ago
Arrived back from the Blanc Palace, dying to go back. The hotel was great the staff were so helpful and friendly.
The only downfall was the food in the restaurant, not what we expected. Ordered a chicken kebab arrived with HP sauce smothered all over it!!! And the other times we ate there we can out feeling a little disappointed. However, went to the Bar Sa Nacra - very good, and Sa Quadra(chateaubriand Fantastic) both in Calle Santandria.
Very beautiful small beach which we also would recommend just a 5 min walk away. The benefit of this hotel was that it has the bus station right outside so you can travel to other parts of the island with ease.
The hotel entertainment was great for my 2 1/2 yr old but not quite what I would want if it was just myself and my husband, they did try though!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
Mr And Mrs Parkinson
10 years 4 months ago
the rooms are well equiped, clean and spacious.
maid service was on top form.
the food in the restraunt was ok, nothing special really, certainly not 4 star grub!
when we booked this holiday we were aware that it was a quiet resort, but just too quiet for us,we caught the bus into cala bosch a few times, it was lovley there around the marina. i cant remember the name of the restraunt but it was linked to the tex mex place and aquarium, they do a super lasagna!!
staff were good, any problems we had, they were sorted out.
The entertainment was good for kids and the entertainment team kept them entertained well but if its west end stuff you want then this is not it, overall we all enjoyed the shows on a night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: my travel

Recommended
Williams
10 years 4 months ago
We had a great holiday in Menorca and found the Blanc Palace to be a fab base for our first family holiday away with our 2 children age 4 and 3. The staff were great, always very friendly and helpful. The rooms were kept pretty clean (although mostly the floor was just given a quick swish with a mop and some potent smelling floor cleaner, bathroom sink etc was not cleaned).

The hotel food was pretty bland and I would go so far as to say the kids food is woeful, basically deep fried food with chips, although to be fair, this goes for the whole of the resort. If you want your children to have any vegetables at all on your holiday, head to the large supermarket. It's an easy walk from the hotel and will at least guarantee them some vitamin C!

For that matter, getting anywhere is super easy as the bus stops just outside the hotel. The kids facilities at the hotel are great, even when it rained, they could play in an indoor soft play shack right beside the play park, brilliant. The kids club staff are absolutely lovely and really put you at ease when leaving your little ones for a delicious couple of child free hours! We particularly liked Cheeky Charie and Silly (I Think) Susie. Our children really enjoyed all the entertainment put on for them but unfortunately it's a bit lame for the grown ups. The reps do try but the evening shows are fairly lacklustre. The hotel next door had a professional entertainer and you could really tell the difference, we ended up there a few nights. All in all a great place to stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
What's nearby