Image of Maspalomas &Tabaiba Princess Hotel

Maspalomas &Tabaiba Princess Hotel

10 of 34 hotels in Maspalomas

4 out of 5 from 60 reviews
4 stars
Avda. Tour Operador Tui, s/n (Campo internacional), 35100 Maspalomas (Gran Canaria), Spain
This complex appeals to couples of all ages and some families seeking a relaxing location and quality accommodation. Already guests are returning two or three times a year. When guests return several times a year, you know that service here is excellent.

60 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    14
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Wendy Mackie
Luxury holiday for working couple
4 years 11 months ago
We arrived to a wow! The hotel looked fabulous on arrival and only gets better. Staff brilliant and our room was excellent, very clean with plenty of towels, toiletries.

The food, well you just need to look at the old waste line and the liquid refreshments were great served by bar staff who were all helpful and friendly’s. Entertainment was very good - four tenors were our favourite. Pools and outside very clean and well used.

Plenty of trips and walks about and the weather was great. All in all it was a great holiday and we plan to go back later this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dave & Jane
6 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Maspalomas Princess and found it to be as good as the reviews say it is.

The staff were very friendly in the restaurant and the bars, the reception staff weren't that helpful though.

The rooms were adequate and kept very clean every day, the whole hotel was spotless.

The bar prices are a little on the expensive side but you do get a good measure for your money.

The usual towels on sun beds at 7am tends to get on your nerves but seems to be the norm.

The beech is about 25 mins walk and well worth it, lovely sand and ample watering holes on the way back to stop at.

Only downside was that the cash point in reception broke down and the nearest one was at Faro 2 shopping centre or at the new shopping centre by the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Long queues on arrival
7 years 4 months ago
We stayed in the Tabaiba. The weather was superb, as was the food, it could not be faulted. Only moan was the entertainment, very hit & miss! Nice hotel, very clean, situated a little way out, but we like walking & the area is very flat.

The beach is approx. a 25 min. walk away. Plently of sunbeds, go & see your holiday rep. for a parasol. AI bars shut early at 12 midnight. Went over to the other hotel for different entertainment, but if you are AI take your drinks with you. Drinks quite pricey in the other hotel. €12 for a vodka/orange & a baileys! Ideal location for a chill-out holiday!

As already mentioned elsewhere, only 1 person checking in guests & when it's 1.30 am, it's not ideal to be in a long queue!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ellah
7 years 5 months ago
Moaners!I was quite put off after booking my holiday when i looked at the reviews from some. Therefore after being on this holiday staying at this hotel i have decided to write my own for some honest feed back.
For anyone looking to stay at this hotel you will be sure to have a great time, the pools are magnificent and the weather is great. Yeah the location isn't great but their are taxis avaliable and this may also appeal to someone who doesnt mind a stroll. Hotel was grand and clean and staff were always smiling.
And thats that. Hotel was great!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
The Burton's
7 years 5 months ago
After reading some reports we were expecting the worst, that way it can only get better.
This is one of the best holidays we have had.
The staff are over friendly.
The hotel is spotless.
The food was great (For a Spanish buffet the best we've ever had)
Drinks are not served in half measures, and plently to choose from.
The day time activities were loads of fun.
Met loads of great people, but we do chat to anyone :o)
We would / will return again.
Only down side, we arrived at 3:15 am with only one guy checking us all in.
Too many Germans but you get used to their "ways"
You need to be up early to get a sun bed.
Other than that I hope who ever you are reading this, you have as good a holiday as we did. Enjoy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mike Norris
8 years 5 months ago
Stayed for 2 weeks at the hotel,very impressive well
worth its 4 star rating,rooms airy with plenty of clothes space, bed comfy air con o.k.Food was good
which was pleasing as heard a few comments about it not being very hot, good selection with 2 theme nights per week, we stayed in the Maspolomas section which was 1/2 board, cannot comment on the Tabiba section which was all inc, which i dont think was available to thomson guests, seemed to be mainly Germans.
Staff we found very good especially in the main bars and around some of the smaller outside bars, prices for drinks & food was very reasonable but if your a lover of cocktails forget it, Margarita with sugar around rim forget it they couldnt make cocktails to save their lives, still only a small problem.For once a hotel with pretty good entertainment, makes a change
from club reps doing the entertaining.Location of the hotel wasn't brill but plenty of taxis available with a fare of between 3&5 euros getting you to most places,ventured into Playa to a steak bar called El
Gaucho's well worth visit as they can at least cook
a good steak, had a T bone filled the whole plate and was excellent valve at 18euros.
Ooops forgot to mention the pool area,plenty of beds
we were putting towels down around 7.30am and found we were one of the first, you'd proberly get away with 8-8.30 and still get where you want, as far as the man made beach was concerned don't bother its like walking on the bottom of a bird cage, not so much sand as grit... and with about 3/4 cats on the complex well i dont need to say anymore, but all in all a great pool area very very big.
To sum up, a great relaxing holiday would'nt go back as the 3rd time to Gran Canaria but a lovely island, my personal favourite as we've done all the Canaries.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Steve & Angie Browne
8 years 6 months ago
We stayed at the Maspalomas & Tabaiba Princess hotel from the 15-29 June. On arrival we were immediately impressed with the fabulous entrance and alround cleanliness. The hotel staff were ok but always expected tips after every round of drinks and go off in a huff if you did not tip! Food was fine but breakfast every day bacon burnt, but plenty of other choices. The evening meals were acceptable but often only warm instead of hot, again a good choice but became repetative after two weeks, but you never starved! The hotel location is a fair distance from the local shops and the main shops being Faro 2 about twenty mins walk. (Top tip) Go out rear gate turn right and use the small dolphin shop, saves on shoe leather! The sand dunes were a nice stroll but beware of the mid day sun so go well lotioned up. Entertainment was quite good, all outside so lucky weather fine, but four guggling acts in one week became boring, some were excellent and some cringable! Would i go back? No! Not as good as many Platinum hotels but still a lovely relaxing time around the exotic tropical pool area and no hastle for pool sun loungers what ever the time of day! The tabaiba is used by overseas residents and they got offered all inclusive, which was a topic of many a conversation due we can only get half board and the drinks are expensive!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Gerry Marsh
9 years 5 months ago
This was our seventh year at this hotel. It is very impressive with elegant decor. Overall the standard of cleanliness is very good.

You cannot fault the food for quality, quantity and choice. My only complaint is that such a beautiful hotel does not enforce a dress code instead people go to diner wearing shorts etc., it really spoils it for the people who enjoy wearing more formal clothes i.e. pretty dresses and shirts and long trousers for men.

The staff are all very polite, helpful and friendly, you feel completely at ease.

I cannot understand the detremental remarks about Maribel Garcia the singer with Flash Union, I can only think they do not recognise a wonderful talent. We feel the band are the best part of the entertainment. We did not enjoy the evening entertainment being outside this year, it was not easy to dance on the uneven surface and there were a lot of flying bugs. It was better in the salon.

Would we come back? Definitely money permitting. Unfortunately we cannot afford it in 2009.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tompson

Recommended
K Matthews
9 years 9 months ago
We have just returned from the Maspolomas Princess, stayed there for a week, we had a fab time. Its a large hotel linked with the Tabaiba Princess which is exactly the same bur mirror image.

We could not fault the hotel, its beautiful with a wondeful reception and glass lifts, it really is eye catching as you walk in.

The rooms were quite large with ample storage for clothes etc, and everywhere was spotless throughout the hotel considering its so big.
The Maspolomas Princess seems to be full of brits whereas the tabaiba was full of german tourists. The pool area is very large and links both hotels together. The grounds etc are lovely with palm trees and little bridges running over the pools. The area has been made to look like a beach and has a type of artifical sand which are more like very tiny stones but it does the job!

The food was beautiful plenty of choice, something for everyone, only criticism is the cooked food at breakfast was only just about luke warm which did spoil it, the food in the evening though was much hotter. There were chefs always cooking something fresh in front of you, beware!! you will put on the pounds!!! And the desserts were fab!!
The location of the hotel is a bit of a dissapointment, it is quite a long way form the beach, its a good 25min walk to the actual sea front where there is a lovely promenade to walk along and lovely shops, bars and restaurants. So it is a bit frustrating that there is very little around the hotel, there is just a superamarket across the road, a restuarant and thats about it. However, the taxis are cheap and it is only about 2-3euros to the seafront, just ask to be dropped off at the lighthouse., and thats the start of the main promenade if you bear right. The beach and dunes are to the left of the lighthouse.

We did have one trip with Thomsons, we went to Puerto De mogan which is worth visiting, it is a pretty fishing village and has a large market on a Friday where you can barter for all those bargains!

If you like camels it is about a 15min walk from the hotel where you can have a 25min ride on a camel through the dunes, that was a bit of fun!!

All in all we had a lovely time and would definatly return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Pam Swain
9 years 10 months ago
We stayed for a week at the Maspalomas Princess. We had stayed in other Princess hotels and once again we were not disappointed.
The staff were very friendly.
The food was excellent with a special buffet set out for children.
Set in a quiet location, but the beach can be reached on foot, if you feel like a 20 mins walk along the side of the dried up riverbed. Otherwise a taxi will take you there. Taxis are cheap, but local buses also run from outside the hotel.
Plenty of swimming pool/childrens pools, although only one was heated but you soon got used to the cold and the children didn't seem to mind.

I would visit this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: