Image of Occidental Lanzarote Hotel

Occidental Lanzarote Hotel

21 of 37 hotels in Costa Teguise

3 out of 5 from 43 reviews
4 stars
Avda. del Mar, 35509, Costa Teguise, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Spain
Located next to the small beach "Playa del Ancla" 500m down a moderate slope, though the hotel offers a free shuttle bus to the main beach, Las Cucharas.

43 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    20
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Manni
great holiday
6 years ago
I stayed 13th to 20th December 2011. Food was excellent and plenty of it. The complex was very clean. My room was cleaned every day. New towels, even the way the bed was made was different every day.

All staff are very friendly and did everything to help. My special praise goes to Roberto at the reception.
I'm not into entertainment so I cannot comment on that but I will definitely visit the complex again. I had a lovely week and I wish all of them A Happy New Year.
Manni
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Nice hotel but not great location
6 years ago
All previous reports are long out of date. Food was excellent, fresh cooked steaks, pork, chicken, lamb, pasta cooked by chefs while you wait and very nice wine served with everymeal. Roast joints on two nights while we were there.

Champagne with your breakfast if you want it and a full english everyday if thats what you want.

Entertainment in piano bar and main room every night. I didn't see the shows as we tended to stay in the piano bar with light music with some dancing. San Miguel beer and local spirits served in all bars.

Rooms cleaned and towels changed everyday.

Nice Hotel but in wrong place as there is nothing outside and its a long walk to Costa Teguise only to find very few shops all selling the same stuff. 3.5 euro taxi fare bus to Puerto del Carmen outside but its always full by the time it reached our hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
7 years 9 months ago
Anything good about this hotel is outweighed by the disgraceful cold food served in the dining room. The quality of the meat was poor and dishes were rehashed from one meal to another i.e. pork kebabs for dinner were in a stew for next days lunch - you could see the holes the sticks made, and breakfast scambled egg was served again at lunch.

If food is important stay well clear.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Alan
7 years 10 months ago
Hotel recommended by a friend and I had read mixed reports before booking. The food was awful,cold every day and only one working micro-wave, ludicrous for such a large complex. Left-over 'hot food' back out for lunch the following day ! Drinks on the All inclusive not good quality and only non sugar soft drink was diet coke. Staff in restaurant and bars friendly enough but at times had to wait over 20 minutes to get served, the reception is seriously under-staffed, queues for information and taxi requsts ended in heated disputes with queue jumpers.The fabric of the building is very tired in places with large cracks in walls and plaster falling off. The pool areas are filthy in places with uncleaned ash trays and cigarette ends in planters.The sun loungers are well worn and filthy, they are in need of replacement.To finish off, I have left the worst for last. My elderly mother fell in the room having tripped over the patio step on the balcony. She was bleeding from a wound to her head but the reception staff refused to call an ambulance and the only offer of first aid was to provide a wound dressing. When treated by Doctors at Aricefe hospital she was found to have severed an artery !!!
Finally, the corridors to the rooms are open air with a small wall and planters (lacking colourful plants) the height of the wall is on just over 2 feet in height (sorry for old imperial measure) between knee and the hip....if you were to slip or trip the drop in places is over 50 feet. They have fitted bannisters in the srea which surround the restaurant as obviously the do not want some falling into a cold meal. This place needs to close for a few months for complete refurbishment. Do Not Go
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook/Airtours

Lyn And Terry
8 years ago
We stayed at Barcelo Costa Teguise for a 10 day Xmas/New year break and was very disappointed. Food was always cold and not good quality. There were lengthy queues most of the time for food and drink. You had to wait for tables to be cleared before you could eat, this was after queueing to get into restaurant. Hotel was always running out of things like milk, vodka, red wine and ice cream to name a few. We spent most of our holiday going to town for our food along with a few other couples we had met from this hotel who felt the same about the food and service of this hotel. This made it an expensive holiday as we had gone all inclusive. This hotel is very understaffed so cannot provide a 4 star service that you would expect. On a plus side hotel is very clean although some of the hotel is very tired looking. My advice is dont go there if you are looking for a good 4star hotel, this hotel is not 4star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunshine Holidays

Mike
8 years 2 months ago
We have just returned back after a fantastic holiday the hotel was brill it deserves all 4 stars the whole hotel and complex was very clean the rooms were cleaned everyday. The food was great plenty to choose from and different choices every day the restaurant was beautifull and staff very friendly, and snacks by the pool bar were good to. The hotel was about 1.5 miles from the resort which the hotel ran a free bus every day. All the staff were fantastic nothing was to much trouble and very friendly.There was different entertainment all day and night every day
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Scott
8 years 3 months ago
hotel needs a good overhaul bathroom dirty food repetative location terrible staff ok entertainment noisy all day and night never return
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first chice

Susan
8 years 5 months ago
We had read several reviews on the hotel before travelling so were a little apprehensive. However we would definetly recommend this hotel for a relaxing family holiday. The accomodation was very good and there was plenty of choice for food both in the main restaurant and snack bar. The only fault we found was the evening entertainment although the team did try their best.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Scott
9 years 2 months ago
We had a fabulous time at this hotel the cleaners work really hard to ensure that your room is cleaned every day along with giving you fresh towels. The all inclusive good was excellent with alot of choice each day, you could also get snacks for the pool bar which was great for lunches. The location of this hotel is about a ten minute bus ride into the main resort, the hotel puts on a free bus. The hotel staff were friendly and always polite. The entertainment was great we stayed there for one week and had a top quaility show put on each night. Day time entertainment was excellent as well and with two teenagers to please it must have been good because they want to go back. We would defintately recommend this hotel, it is lovely and although the pools were really cold the weather was really hot in October so the kids did not mind that at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Fisher
10 years 2 months ago
Just returned from Barcelo Lanzarote after 8 days there. Weather was hot and air con helped to keep room cool. We had 3 suites which were clean and spacious, cleaned every day and fresh towels. Pool towels can be hired at 10 euros deposit. Staff were very friendly and worked hard. We were all inclusive and food was great with plenty of choice for us all. Snack bar was good too. Free bus to resort is provided as it is quite a walk but for us we didn't really need to go out. Small shops next to hotel cater for those odd bits you might need and papers, also gifts. Many different nationals use this hotel which makes it more interesting. Pools were cold but didn't bother us or the kids. Plenty of competitions for men and teenagers but nothing for women, no aquarobics or massage etc. Kids club was ok.
We really enjoyed our visit and would go again but maybe it could do with a refurb in some areas fairly soon.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices