Image of Lanzarote Bay Apartments

Lanzarote Bay Apartments

20 of 37 hotels in Costa Teguise

4 out of 5 from 83 reviews
3 stars
Avenida de las Palmeras, 30, 35509 Costa Teguise, Spain

83 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    10
  • Very Good
    38
  • Good
    20
  • Average
    14
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kayleigh White
Clean and Quiet
5 years ago
Stayed here for a week all Inclusive on the 2nd December. The complex was quiet, clean and we had great heat.

The only downside was the entertainment and food.

Bingo - isn't bingo as we know it. You get just one card (15 numbers) and a sharp cocktail stick to mark your numbers. These are dangerous.

The meals weren't thought about at all - you had meat and only had pasta or salad to go with it, no veg, gravy etc and the desserts were the same all week. A sort of mousse with the same distinctive flavour. We ate out most days which cost more money.

The pools are FREEZING! Be warned.



Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Tanaban
Pool was dangerous
6 years 7 months ago
Just returned after a 2 weeks stay at this hotel with my family. We stayed all inclusive.

I feel the most important part of my review is that the pool is currently dangerous; in our time here we witnessed at least 8 incidents of children cutting feet in the shallow end of the main pool which is the busiest part. My own child got a cut foot in the first week. One 7 yr old slit his foot from his big toe to the middle of his foot. One of the Life guards told us that he deals with around 1-2 incidents a day within our stay. Not everyone informs the reception and after he has given first aid that’s it. One family where given a free trip to the water park for the day because of the boys foot being cut.

Reception told one guy that a couple of months back the tiles started coming away from the pool floor leaving patches of sharp grout because the building company had done a bad job and gone bust.

In general the pool area is very poor rubbish everywhere and lack of cleaning in the evenings although you’re told this happens around 7 pm every night I didn’t see this happen for the whole 2nd weeks. The outside pool toilets were filthy and graffiti from 2009.

This hotel gets good reviews but we cannot understand why as we spoke to many couples and families that had issues and complaints. One couple had human waste come up through the shower into the room flooding the toilet area because the maintenance worker was trying to unblock next doors shower which had also flooded.

The food at this hotel is not 4 star over the 2 weeks stay I’ve never seen so much pork, it made us feel sick just looking at it. Fish, chicken and other food is on offer but it would be in a sauce chopped in cubes. The drinks in the whole hotel are served in small child sized tumblers to have a nice beer with your meal you would need to use at least 2 glasses people would fill up the large wine glasses with coke and larger just to get a decent drink from the self-serve machines or you were up and down getting drinks.

The entertainment is not Good it was a small basic team of around 5 including 2 students it seemed to us and many others that they struggled to get people interested in activities so they would target the kids to join in the shows. The put on in the evenings where very poor bingo and men Vs. women type shows winner gets a bottle of cheap plonk and a toilet roll.

They brought in entertainment, it was ok, the circus show was about the best and the drag act was so poor, I wanted to scream out! We have seen the same parrot show 8 yrs ago complete with the same tricks and guy.

The rooms are a good size and fairly clean but we had to prompt the maid to sweep the balcony and then she didn’t really bother.
Next time I would pay extra and go somewhere else.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Chris Titley
7 years 5 months ago
hotel excellent, apart from the location, which was quite a far bit away from the main resort areas. we tended to stay in the hotel at night being all inclusive but would have gone out more if it had been closer to everything. food excellent always plenty of choice. nationalities more or less evenly distributed with brits spanish and germans
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On the Brach

Recommended
Suzanne Skinner
7 years 7 months ago
I stayed at Lanzarote Bay for one week all inclusive at the end of May with a friend. The food is good, always a good choice (especially deserts in the evening). Our room was cleaned every day with clean towels provided each time. Apartments very clean with some nice views. The only let down to Lanzarote Bay is the evening entertainment - I know you can't really expect much but thats exactly what we got - not much and as we were all inclusive and didn't really want to go out we did feel let down by the entertainment. However, if you have children this would probably suit you as it is very much for families with children. There is a seperate bar however, where they have a singer on two evenings so much better for adults. Would I stay here again? Possibly, but with the other choice of hotels in Lanzarote i'd probably go for one that catered more for adults.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Sharp
8 years 1 month ago
We have stayed at this hotel twice before when the accomodation was about to be refurbished. We loved the place then. The staff were all really friendly and the food was amazing. Most people returned because the food was so good.
We couldn't wait to visit the refurbished hotel.What a letdown!
The food was awful, not much choice, usually cold, and vegetables a rarity.The breakfast was probably the best meal of the day.
We left our dirty towels on the bathroom floor to be replaced but they were just hung up again! Not many staff at hotel. Entertainment poor. Drinks good measures. Will never return, very dissapointed.This is really only 3 star hotel at the most.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Broadway Travel

Ted Phillips
8 years 4 months ago
Arrived at hotel told that they had no top floor apts left even though we pre-booked with this requirement months ago, we were shoved in a ground floor apt directly outside the childrens play area, shame really as we were on our 1st holiday on our own for the 1st time in 20yrs (children free) oh well thats life as they say.
Staff were good and dealt with any queries we had.restaurant staff also good.
Food in restaurant was very good some Brits moan about the food but HELLO! ITS LANZAROTE, ITS A FORIEGN COUNTRY try the food you may like it there is no mash, gravy,pies etc but hey there is loads of chips for the fatties or those who just wont try the various local/Spanish foods on offer.
could walk into town in 15mins although loads of people chose to get the bus or taxis and yes it looked like they had 1 set of working legs.
Right sunbeds: no ways could you get a sunbed after 11am they were "reserved" with towels draped across them and most of their owners did not turn up till after lunch (2 or 3pm) if at all we saw some people catching the bus or going on trips even though they had a sunbed "reserved" the hotel has a policy that people should not do this but people do because the hotel does not enforce it.
I would love to see hotels enforcing this rule or maybe even charging people a nominal fee per day to hire the beds, we do not reserve beds because we feel it is morally wrong if the bed is not being used, i think the Brits are the worst for this and the Spanish have now caught on.
All in all a very good holiday though and would have no qualms of going back there

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own Arrangements

Recommended
Mrs Pringle
8 years 4 months ago
Stayed at lazarote bay for 1 week all inclusive, the hotel was very nice, rooms very modern,towels changed everyday, on the maids day off we got clean towels at reception. After reading other reviews i was a bit concerned about the sunbed situation, need'nt have worried there was loads of spare beds all day every day. Not a lot of british holiday makers at this hotel, mostly spanish. Food was a bit repetative but there was allways something, resturant staff and bar staff were very efficient, all in all we had a very relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct

Recommended
Mrs Corish
8 years 6 months ago
This was our first time to Lanzarote and we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spacious, roomy, modern and very clean. We were in E block and didnt have any great views etc but it was nice and quiet. It was nice to have kettle, cooker, plates etc.. so nice to have a cuppa in the morning without having to go to the restaurant for it. Cleaner came 6days a week and always changed bedding, towels etc. Some rooms had bath as well as shower and hairdryer(ours just had the shower). The food was the usual all inclusive, edible but not 5* and you could eat from 8am-12pm. At the pool bar you could help yourself to all drinks apart from spitits. The location was fine for us as we hired a car (only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Peter & Christine
8 years 10 months ago
We chose this hotel because of the all-inclusive package and low price that we paid. Due to this we did not expect it to be as good as it was. The hotel is clean. We had a 1 bed apartment which was cleaned 6 out of the 7 days we were there. A welcome pack was provided with basic essentials. All the staff were pleasant. The restaurant was very good. There was always a good selection of food, which was always hot, even at the poolside buffet. The bar staff were very efficient. We did not wait more than a few minutes to be served. Considering most people were all inclusive this was very quick compared to our previous all-inclusive holidays. We would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Peter Cowden
9 years 2 months ago
This was our second stay at the Lanzarote Bay, the first being in 2007 before the refurb. That was, without doubt, our best holiday ever, largely due to the efforts of the entertainment staff which included Sandra who has been mentioned in other reviews. She couldn't do enough for the guests, worked really hard and even turned up on her days off! We have been to Costa Teguise a few times and stayed in various hotels where Sandra has been on the entertainment staff and had a fantastic time.
We turned up at the Lanzarote Bay this time and found that the refurb was out of this world. The hotel is utterly fantastic, the restaurant is phenomenal. (It's still run by Rafael who is the most professional Matre d' I've ever seen). The food is absolutely fantastic and there is a separate vegetarian area. All the staff were superb, friendly and helpful and the rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished.
That being said, this was the worst holiday we've had, due entirely to the diabolical entertainment staff this time, and we couldn't wait to get home again.
Ramon sold the bingo tickets and called the numbers. That's all he did. The only time you saw him was when the bingo was due, or at meal times in the restaurant. Marco got dressed up in the lion costume and wandered around a bit and then took the kids mini disco. This consisted of him standing on stage and miming to the words. The songs were exactly the same every night, in exactly the same order. At no point did he ask the kids what song they wanted, like Sandra did, he didn't play any games during the disco, like Sandra did, and he didn't even speak to the kids to introduce the next song. In fact, I never heard him speak once, and there were no certificates handed out for the winners of the days activities, either kids or adults. Neither were there any games to win a bottle of champagne like Sandra used to do.
Naomi appeared to be in charge of kids activities through the day, but seemd to have her own select clique, and at no point did she come and ask our kids or the kids they palyed with if they wanted to join in the activities. I've no idea if there were any adult activities because no one came round to ask us to join in. (When we were at the Puerto Tahiche earlier this year which is also owned by Hotetur, Sandra and Johann came round the pool and tried to get everyone to join in the kids and adults activities and then gave out certificates during the evening entertainment).
Basically, this hotels' amenities, staff and food & drink are absolutely superb, but the entartainment staff this time absolutely ruined the holiday. They desperately need to get Sandra and Johann back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Alpharooms

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices