Image of Castell Montgri Camping

Castell Montgri Camping

4 of 5 hotels in Estartit

3 out of 5 from 15 reviews
17257 Torroella de MontgrĂ­, Spain

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jennifer
Definitely recommend, a great site for all ages.
8 years 8 months ago
Just got back from my fourth consecutive year at this site! Its by far the best campsite I have visited. Stayed with Interbrava and got a caravan in a great location, right by the big pool!

Lots of evening entertainment, a choice of family shows, movies, singers, piano bar or club, depending on which part of the site you go to! Excellent location, can walk to the beach within 15 minutes down a straight road, and there is even a bus that runs in June and July!

Great pools, La Bassa's my favorite! But its a bit of a trek up there, definitely worth it! In regards to sunbed hire, instead of hiring a sun bed at the main panorama pool, my family simply sat at one of the many tables available, so it didn't cost us a penny!

Overall a lovely family site, shops and food is a bit expensive, but its what's expected as its convenience, however we shopped at Lidl about 5 minutes away form site and supermarket near the sea front, around 10 minutes away from site.

Definitely recommend, a great site for all ages with lots to do and lots of variety!

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Louise
8 years 9 months ago
Just got back from this camping site today, having returned home 8 days early. The price of food & drink at castell montgri is ridiculous. Also, they charge 4 euros per sunbed per day. It is a very hilly resort and is not suitable for prams/wheelchairs etc.
Most of the staff were rude and hardly spoke any English (that is those who work directly for castell montgri....the reps of the holiday company were great) Pools are very deep and very overcrowded.

There is different entertainment every night but it doesn't start til 10pm which, when you have childen, is quite late.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Lifestyles

Yvonne
9 years 6 months ago
Oh my god where do you start... Do not have any ideas about this place it is a CAMPSITE Siesta said they are lodges since when do lodges have wheels?Granted we went at the end of season but still paid good money and was not informed that 80% of the place would be closed down making this a naff break.Got charged 4 euros a day for a sun bed and they was not even that good. Bar prices were VERY over the top the shop was a joke 4 pound for a loaf of bread cause they didnt stock any of the cheaper stuff.Staff were rude and if you had the cheek to say anything you was told well we are shuting down.Dont forget there is also a lot of walking into town as they took the bus off and it took over half a hour to walk into town.didnt feel safe at all entertainment is a joke and not worth bothering but i have to admit one thing i got what i paid for RUBBISH.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: siesta

Gillian Walsh
9 years 7 months ago
We travelled in our own car to the resort and stayed in a 'lodge' close to the large swimming pool. We had our 15 year old daughter with us and her friend! It was so ideal for teenagers as they met so many friends that they said it was the best holiday ever! There is a large pool which has a bar and entertainment area, cafes and shop. The site is very hilly and in the heat this can be very draining! Intabrava were by far the best company we have ever been with as they were very friendly and when the AC stopped working fixed it the same day. Lodge was small but very clean. Food and drink was expensive but you could get cheaper food just up the road at liddle! Staff in shops were quite rude and always over stretched. But overall the teenagers on site were kept in line by security staff so they kept the noise down at night so everybody could enjoy their holidays! Try to go to 'la bassa' the bar right at the top of the site for a lovely(but expensive) cocktail! You might need oxygen getting there though! Lovely small pool there as well! Overall a great site if you have older kids and a beautiful beach not too far away!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Interbrava

Recommended
Nigel Smith
9 years 9 months ago
Rude Staff, Food is fed to you like slop, never eat there, Dirty, Prices stupid, To many rules about coming and going, Lock gates at 10pm so you can't drive to your caravan if you are late back.
Stick to France at least the French appreciate business.
Change the management I might go back..
Worst Holiday ever done.
GO4SPAIN great people it's just the site... I wish Go4Spain would find another site.
Ow Don't forget your Golds Chains, Tattoos & football shirts you will fit in better.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Go4spain.net

Chris Simkins
10 years 6 months ago
ave visited this campsite many times over the past 20 years. It has without doubt gone down hill in recent years. It desperatly needs upper grade managment if it is ever to return to it's former glory. Staff in the supermarket do not tally up your goods correctly,ie always something left on the side that they tally with each customer and when pointed out to them they say it's a mistake, Siesta holidays charged us
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Siesta

Hodgson
10 years 7 months ago
Staff at the site were ignorent and not friendly at all.The free bus to the resort was stopped on the 24th as it was classed as not in high season,you had to dodge the traffic on the camp site all day long as campers were allowed to park their vehcles out side their caravans, as it was hilly most of these people used them every day, vehicles should have only been only allowed on the car park outside the camp for the safety of young children, the only time it was free of traffic was between 12pm and 8am and that was when you were in bed as no one was allowed to speak after 12pm due to a silence policy.
The food on the site was diabolicleand over priced 9euro50cents for a cooked chicken from the takeaway, the supermarket had sky high prices, The bars were over priced 3euro 50cents for a pint.We as a group felt that the staff did not want the English there. Our Siesta reps were great, if it was not for them we may have left early.
The site is also full of groups of teenagers from all countries there on their own,you could here them coming from the disco on a night
The camp site is a beautiful one,but did not make up for the bad management of it, I would never visit it again.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Nicola Yates
10 years 7 months ago
Second time at Castell Montgrit for two out of three of our families. Great site, but hilly. All ages catered for. Food prices have gone up this year but still good food and portions. Security on site is good and we felt safe at all times. 20 minute walk into town.

Our caravan with Inter Brava was clean but basic and the seating was uncomfortable after 5 minutes.

Inter Brava reps were friendly and helpful - our caravans were on lower level which was great at night as no noise from bars or returning groups and yes, it is a trek up to the panaroma pool and supermarket but downhill is better on return. Pool stayed open til 11.45pm - no other pool does this and it meant my older children enjoyed themselves longer.

Did find it unbelievable that so many under teenagers could buy alcohol from the bars but we saw no trouble with them.
Entertainment is varied with the same kids music every night but if it keeps kids happy all is well. The rodeo horse was fun to watch.
Camp site is kept clean - cars only allowed to travel 8am-11pm and were reasonably cautious.
I would recommend if you want a pool based holiday and with the olympics or football on the big screen, or crazy golf or ping pong there is something for everyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Inter Brava

Recommended
Kempton
10 years 8 months ago
We stayed in a lodge when we visited castell mongri, and overall it was great, it was clean enough and had all utensils and everything. We only had one problem the shower kept going cold, but with plenty of shower block facilites close by this wasn' a major issue.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Interbrava

Recommended
Hemsleys
12 years 6 months ago
stayed in delux8 mobile home with siesta these were great and very clean also they are right next to the main pool and stage area
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: siesta

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Estartit