Image of Festa Apartments

Festa Apartments

3 of 5 hotels in Estartit

4 out of 5 from 53 reviews
2 stars
Avinguda de la Costa Brava, 17258 Torroella de Montgrí, Spain
150m to L'Estartit Beach, bars, restaurants and cafés 100m away. The shops and the resort centre are 1km away. Area gets busy during high season and at weekends.

53 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    15
  • Very Good
    21
  • Good
    14
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Beverley Wootton
11 years 2 months ago
We stayed at Festamar when we first went abroad in 2001 and loved it. Very close to the beach and clean, friendly staff etc. Decided to go back this year for 6 days with our 14 year old son and booked a 1 bedroomed apartment for 7 nights (so we had the benefit of the room right up until our departure which was late on day 6) My son met several other youngsters there aged between 12 and 16 and they got involved in the football, swimming and pool competitions etc and were having a great time. The staff at the hotel were on the whole fairly pleasant although we didn't need to see them apart from check in & check out.
I would warn all families to avoid Dino's bar which is attached to the apartment complex but apparently a separate entity as far as responsibility goes. The children were made to wait between 50 minutes and 1 hour for food due to children with their parents being given priority. Priority was also given to anyone French staying in hotels opposite who went to Dino's for their half board food. On our last day two children, including my 14 year old son, were awaiting food (50 mins) and were staring at the lady working behind the bar who did no more than make a middle fingered gesture to them. I witnessed this happening and was less than pleased. I asked her to apologise to the boys and was subjected to a barage of abuse in Spanish from her. The hotel reception staff didn't want to know and the Thomson Rep was never anywhere to be found. Overall it ruined our time in Spain and I will never stay at the Festamar Apartments again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Deborah
11 years 2 months ago
Our holiday was only
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Suzy Hall
11 years 3 months ago
We were a bit dubious after reading some of the reports on here but our fears were unfounded. The Festemar was a wonderful place to visit.

We travelled on a self-catering basis but upgraded to half board once we arrived as the food is quite expensive in L'Estartit. Half board consists of 5 days and 5 nights breakfast and evening meal. The breakfast is a buffet style with full English and your cereal, crossiants etc! The evening meal is a set menu with choices and you can have one starter, on main course, dessert and a drink. I have to say the food was absolutely delicious and the lemon mousse is to die for! All food is made on the premises and if you go try the tuna bake also delicious. There is a BBQ on the Friday and to be honest I do not know how everyone managed to eat everything put on their plate - boy do these guys know how to feed you.

We arrived during the night and were able to get into our rooms pretty quickly. Our night flight home was 3.20 a.m and we were not picked up till 1 a.m. We did enquire about keeping the room on but it was 35 euros and you could only keep it till 5 o'clock!!! That was a bit annoying especially considering we had an 8,7 and 3 year old. They do have a luggage room and a courtesy shower room BUT THEY DO NOT PROVIDE TOWELS!

The rooms are fine and we received clean towels 3 times out of the week we were there. The maids do not do anything else in the room - not even collect rubbish although we had bagged and tied it. We realised on the last day that you are expected to put your rubbish in the green bin downstairs!!

The pool is a good size with separate children's pool with steps leading down. The pool is cold but once you are in you do not notice. It is a welcome "cool down" if it is very hot!

Entertainment is good - usual apartment style entertainment. Paul the entertainments manager is a lovely chap though and very knowledgeable and helpful re the area in general. See Paul for upgrade to Half Board also! We had disco, karaoke, magic show (which was amazing!!).

My daughter turned 8 whilst she was there and they arranged for her to get a kids cocktail. The bar manager Salvador ordered a cake for me and the magician presented it to her - very nice and very much appreciated by us!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Paul
11 years 3 months ago
Hotel nice and clean,2 minutes from beach,nice staff,usual british entertainment(bingo,karaoke,
kids party games),and also some games for the adults d
aft enough to let their kids get them on the stage,but on holiday it,s all in the
name of fun
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Graeme
12 years ago
We stayed in Festamar Apartments. Through Thomsons we requested a late check out and a pool view, both of which were honoured. Upon arrival we were already assigned a room and handed a key by the staff who were very friendly, even though it was 1:30am local time.

The apartment was on the top floor, facing east so we had sunshine on the balcony til mid afternoon.

The apartment was basic layout with kitchen/lounge together and bathroom and bedroom to the left as you walk in. The videos of the apartments [found elsewhere on the web] are fairly accurate, although we were pleasantly surprised when we saw it in real life. It is not the lap of luxury or the most modern apartment in the world, and I would class it in the same bracket as a 2 star tourist class hotel.

The apartment was well kitted out with kitchen utensils, cutlery, crockery, glasses, electric cooker [idiot proof], microwave. There was no grill or oven but then they would be difficult to keep clean. There was a small welcome pack with a scrubber, 2 small cloths and a single serving of washing up liquid.

The lounge had a dining table [chairs were wicker, too small and not very comfy], sofa bed [again not greatly comfy but adequate], sideboard, TV. The TV had BBC News 24 and BBC 1, along with channels from Belgium, France and about 5 Spanish channels.

The bedroom was spacious enough, had a large wardrobe which had iron/board to use, hangers, extra blankets and a chest of drawers. The beds were comfortable and the sheets changed by the maids one day. As per previous reviews the sheets are left for you to re-make your bed.

The balcony was spacious enough and had a standard plastic patio furniture set of 4 chairs and a table. There was also a clothes horse for hanging your towels out etc. I didn't see any laundry facilities, but didn't need any during our stay.

The bathroom again is adequate size and does the job. The water ranged from scalding hot to cold. To be safe put the mixer to the middle before pulling it out to put the tap on and wait a second before using the water. Our sink tap had a small leak and the shelf part did not run water into the bowl, which resulted in a puddle on the ground. It did not really cause us any bother though. The shower was powerful and refreshing.

Outside the apartment there is a pool, with a separate shallow pool for young children. The pool is not heated and is pretty cold, but does the job. We found loungers were free but I think other reports said you had to hire them from the reception. We were never challenged, so we never paid for them. The decking has good sun from around 10am until 5pm. It is longer next door at FestaPlaya's pool, but FestaMar residents are not allowed in there.

Within FestaMar there was Dino's bar, which again has been commented on before. It offers food but the range was not tremendous. Their toasties are good for a snack but the main meal was ok. There are better places to eat in the town so we stayed away mostly. The average for a beer was about 2.50. Their half board menu offered a choice of 4 meals so it might be better to go self catering.

The entertainment at Dinos seems to have been exaggerated a bit in previous reports. Although Roy the DJ did do a decent pub quiz, he was only there a couple of our nights. The rest of the time just seemed to be the same old holiday music over and over, with some shady megamixes thrown in. And karaoke....

The apartments with pool views all look into the "square" between FestaMar and the next door complex Festa Playa. In this there are two outdoor terraces for Dino's and Cafe Barracuda. This is fine as you either get sun in the morning or evening depending what side you are on, although the entertainment can go on until 1am, or 1:30am as it was on the Friday. If you are looking for peace and quiet at night this might be a problem for you. Outward facing apartments all look onto other apartments or towards the beach, overlooking a campsite on the south facing apartments.

The apartment overall did the job for us. It was clean and in decent condition, aside from some peeling paint and the odd dent or scratch here or there. There were a good mix of clientelle at the apartments from very young couples with babies to older couples, full families, friends, etc.

Late check out and a luggage room are on offer. There is also a kid-zone type creche but it is downstairs in a basement, but I dont know if it is good or not.

FestaMar was definitely not a place for the 18-30 type holidaymaker - neither the resort or apartments are geared up for it. If that is your thing don't go here. If you are after a short break in the sun, in a quiet-ish resort at a reasonable price this might well be for you.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Wood
12 years 1 month ago
The Festamar apartments were very noisy, you can hear all surrounding rooms. Staying on the ground floor near to Dino's bar was bad, you'd get kids running from the pool area through the corridoor into the bar all night long.

Didnt really rate the food in Dino's bar cheap English style. And on second to last day couldnt get any food as they were jet spraying kitchen down ready to close for the winter, hope the people departing four days after us got fed! Ran out of all draughts and only had limited bottles.

DJ Roy was apparently good , or so we were told but he left early to return to UK
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Pezza
12 years 3 months ago
I went with my family for the fourth time to the Festamar apartments and had as much fun as any other years because you never get bored.

In my opinion it is the best place in the world and we have booked to go back after being back for 2 days,the barmen are really funny and are also joking around and roy(the d.j)always puts good entertainment on every night like quizzes,karaoke,games and he gets a singer or a magician to come in and perform.

The food is really nice and a place called Bryliz is nice aswell, the apartment are dead clean and get cleaned once a week.

It is rated 3 star but I would definitely rate it a 5 star, to round up I would like to say it is the best place in the world and would reccomend it to any family because it also has a really good games so go to the best place in the world L'ESTARTIT!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Susan
12 years 3 months ago
Apartments very well equipped and clean.

Location fantastic 2 minute walk from beach and supermarket and ten minute walk along prom into main Estartit.

Pool was lovely but not enough loungers for peak season. entertainment great for kids party games etc bingo and quizzes for adults DJ very friendly.

Safety deposit boxes for hire and could pay extra to keep room on until 5pm 35 euros expensive but worth it when you have kids. would definitely return to Festamar.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
Lesley
12 years 3 months ago
17 of our family stayed in the Festamar in July this year with ages ranging from 4 to 45.

On arrival we found the apartments to be clean and all items needed for a self catering holiday easily available, kitchen has a microwave,toaster 4 ring hob and all pots and pans to cater for a small army.TV in lounge but only 2 English channels, but did the job.

The apartments a re in a brilliant location, only 2 mins to beach, which is never too busy and sea not too deep so we aware able to let younger ones play safely.

Hotel entertainment bit Butlinsish but after a few cocktails soon get into the swing of things!

Would not recommend Estartit as it is very quiet, but if this is your thing then so be it.

All in all it was a good 2 weeks but as there were so many of us we sort of made our own entertainment, visits to Barcelona, Water park at LLORET-de-Mar and Marineland highly recommended for all ages.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Pestell Family
12 years 3 months ago
Me, my mum, dad and two brothers have been going to the Festamar apartments since 2002 and every time we come back off holiday we go and book for the next year. We think that it is the nicest place in the whole world and we can
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Estartit