Image of Riu Atlantico Hotel

Riu Atlantico Hotel

4 out of 5 from 29 reviews
4 stars
Punta del Moral s/n, 21470 Ayamonte, Spain
The Hotel riu Atlantico has proved to be popular with discerning holidaymakers. The hotel will appeal to couples and families of all ages looking for a relaxing holiday in spacious and comfortable surroundings.

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tom&Lynn
Lovely holiday
7 years 6 months ago
We have just returned from our stay in the Riu Atlantico. The hotel is very clean, spacious rooms and plenty of wardrobe space. Wonderful views of the harbour and sea views.
The food is plentiful. Plenty to choose from, salads, Fish, pastas, pizzas, meats, vegetables you name it! Wonderful deserts! There are two meal sittings. 6.30 & 8.30. If you don't get the sitting you prefer just ask and they will change it for you and if you don't like where you have been seated they will change this for you as well. The table you are given is yours for the rest of your stay for dinner but you can sit anywhere for breakfast.

Staff are very friendly and if you need anything they will help you. It was our silver wedding anniversary while we there. Got a lovely surprise when we went for dinner. A red candle on the table and a nice chilled bottle of champagne. It was a nice touch. We didn't bother with the hotel entertainment as there was not much going on. Only a couple of shows a week.

There was a resident duo on every night. We frequented the bar area around the marina on the evenings especially Nolan's the Irish bar. You can sit there and watch the lovely sunsets in a nice relaxing atmosphere.

We had a lovely holiday, met some nice people and would definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Karen Lock
8 years 4 months ago
Stayed at the Riu Atlantico eight years ago when it was just about theonly building in the resort so was interested to see how it had changed.

Still a beautiful hotel in a quiet resort. Do not go here if you want loud and rowdy! it is gorgeous.

The two managers were excellent, one attended the welcome meeting along with other hotel staff. They were always visible, friendly and making sure that everything was perfect.

The food was excellent, lots of choice and beautifully prepared.

Rooms were spotless and cleaned every day.

Lovely pool and plenty of beds for all, even though some guests left towels on them all day and bever sat on them!

Ian, the Thomson rep was excellent, easily the best rep I have ever come across. He was always around with a smile and always ready to help, especially with the trauma of a missing wallet!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
8 years 5 months ago
We found the hotel to be clean, staff friendly and helpful. Food, plenty of it but a bit repetetive. We didn't bother with the "entertainment"
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Ann Robb
10 years 1 month ago
The hotel itself was clean, however there was an infestation of ants in the room, especially the bathroom. The bed was like an instrument of torture, I got my sleep beside the pool or on the beach.
The village itself was like a ghost town, the beach was lovely though and nice and quiet.
The hotel staff were friendly and on the whole helpful, the restaurant and bar staff were particularly pleasant and made the stay a lot more enjoyable. The entertainment was laughably awful, not even 2nd rate, where on earth did they find them??
The biggest plus for this hotel was the fantastic food, the flavours were exquisite and the choice vast.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: None

Hartley
10 years 3 months ago
The Rui Atlantico is everything that the contributors say, it is the best that I have stayed in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Cassie
10 years 4 months ago
This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and the rooms were very spacious and immaculately cleaned every day. The food was to die for - something for everyone. There were four adults in our party and every meal was fantastic especially breakfast. We didn't stay in the hotel at night so cannot comments about the entertainment. Location for us was perfect for a totally relaxing holiday but if it's shops and clubs you're looking for then this is not the place for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson platinum

Recommended
Debbie
10 years 4 months ago
This hotel is one of the best that we have ever stayed in.

We were welcomed by a glass of champagne on arrival and from then onwards the service was second to none. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and cleaned to a very high standard.

The food is great with lots to choose from. The location is right on the beach-front and just a very short walk to the square where you will find some restaurants/bars and a supermarket.

The entertainment is just what you expect when on holiday and adequate for our needs, a couple of show nights and live music the rest of the week.

We were unable to find any faults with this hotel. We could even pay a deposit of 10 Euros and have clean towels for the pool every day.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
As we have stayed in a RIU hotel in Mexico we knew this hotel would be fine.

It was better than fine, every aspect was great. The hotel was spotless, the variety of food was important as my wife is a vegetarian, and again no problems here. We chose the earlier seating time (6.30pm) as we thought the 8.30pm time was to late-but there is no problem with changing the time you eat.

The staff could'nt do enough for you. We never saw the entertainment so cant comment on this although there were different shows on each night.

We will definatly be visiting this hotel again!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Dixie
12 years 2 months ago
Riu hotels certainly know how to look after their guests.
This is the third hotel in their group that we have enjoyed. The others being in Mexico and Torremolinos.
The standard is just amazing.

Owing to a delay at Manchester airport we arrived too late for dinner. Staff were still on hand with our welcome drink of Cava and to check us in with a smile and a friendly manner. The hotel management put on a late cold buffet at 11.30pm especially for our group, it was much appreciated.

The room was superb and spacious with a lovely view over the river estuary and gardens. The patio style windows are double glazed so very little disruption from the fishing boats sailing with the tide in the early hours. Thoughtfully the windows had a secondary set of heat reflective curtains which also cut down the noise, heat and strong sunlight in the early morning.
The room was well furnished plenty of hangers in the wardrobe and plenty of drawer space. The air conditioning was perfect and operated independantly to the electric which switched off when leaving the room. We found that by removing the plastic card (this controlled the electric supply)from the key ring and leaving it in the slot on the wall all was well and the minibar fridge stayed on!
The TV had a fair selection of English speaking channels, although OK for us BBC and ITV were tuned to BBC and ITV Wales, odd!

The Main bar/lounge and the reception lounge are exclusively non smoking. The public areas are vast.
The thing that stuck us most was that although the hotel was reportedly full the hotel public areas always had spare seats and never seemed busy. Same by the pool so many loungers that even the Germans could not cover all of them. One negative thing, around the pool the tiled area sloped away from the pool side so water splash from bathers contantly ran under the longers soaking anything in its path.
The Thompsons rep was a little odd, no very odd, and very abrupt with one word answers to any questions. The trip to Sevilla booked through the rep was poor value for money at 56 euros each for a 3 hours bus ride round trip. The sights were extra paid locally.

The hotel runs a free bus into Ayamonte the nearest town, you need to do this if you want to buy gifts and tobacco goods. They do shut down in the afternoon for Siesta.

A small critism of the hotel was that no late check out room was available. However the changing rooms in the gym proved adequet for a quick freshen up and change of clothes before leaving.




Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson Platinum

Recommended
Huw And Cathy
12 years 5 months ago
We booked our holiday through the Thompson Platinum brochure, so we expected a reasonably high standard of accommodation. However, what we found far exceeded our expectations. The hotel was fantastic, brilliant out of this world. From the moment we arrived the "feel" of the hotel was of the highest order.

The staff were very friendly to us(especially to our 15 month old son) and we were made to feel welcome at all times.

The room was huge (corner room overlooking the front entrance)and all facilities were to a good standard. The room was cleaned every day.

The rest of the hotel was just as pleasing. The main pool was immaculate with life guards in attendance at all times. We lived in the kiddies paddling pool which was just right for our son.

However, the best part was the food. We were allocated the 7.00pm sitting and which was perfect for us. The head waiter made us welcome from the start and ensured each night that all was well. The standard of food was to the highest order.My mouth is watering just thinking about it now.

We enjoyed the Riu Hotel so much that we are booking the Hotel Riu Ferrara (Torrox) later this year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum