Image of Riu Atlantico Hotel

Riu Atlantico Hotel

4 out of 5 from 29 reviews
4 stars
Punta del Moral s/n, 21470 Ayamonte, Spain
The Hotel riu Atlantico has proved to be popular with discerning holidaymakers. The hotel will appeal to couples and families of all ages looking for a relaxing holiday in spacious and comfortable surroundings.

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Liz And Bill Hawkins
13 years 5 months ago
We have just come back from our second visit to the Riu Atlantico and can't wait to go back. As we found on our first visit in 2004 the staff were just as friendly and helpful.

The hotel is situated in the best position on a beautiful beach and was just as clean and spectacular as we remembered it.

The restaurant offered a wide selection of food both morning and evening with the poolside restaurant offering an equally good selection of snacks. The poolside staff worked tirelessly offering a waiter service to guests on sun beds around the pool.

Our room had spectacular views overlooking both the sea and the inlet to the fishing harbour and the marina. One afternoon we watched seven / eight dolphins following one of the fishing boats back into the harbour it was absolutely fantastic. The room itself was very clean and spacious and had two full size wardrobes and plenty of chest of drawers (for all those clothes we take and never wear).

The entertainment team I can only describe as simply the best they worked very hard to ensure all guests had the opportunity to be included in a great programme of daytime and evening entertainment and respected those guests who did not. The daytime entertainment (cocktail games) certainly gave everyone who took part and those who watched a great laugh and enhanced the friendly atmosphere between staff and guests.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
WALES
13 years 5 months ago
This was our first visit to this hotel and I certainly hope that it is not the last. It is rare to return from holiday and find that you cannot think up a single improvement to the hotel but that is the case with the Atlantico.

The hotel staff from cleaners through to management went out of their way to be helpful and friendly,and in a sincere not forced way.

There was an extensive choice of good quality food with something for everyone.

The entertainment was some of the best that I have seen in any hotel.

This hotel is pure quality and a credit to the staff and the Rui group.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMSON

Recommended
14 years 2 months ago
Just returned from this faultless hotel.

The food was fantastic as were the bedrooms. I feel it is touch and go with the rooms, as some people have commented on them not being up to standard, the 2 double's we had were like brand new.

The resort of Isla Canela is made up of newish, 'up-market-ish' apartments owned mainly by the Spanish. There is a nice harbour, around which there are a few bars/rest's- no tacky shops or pubs at all, which we really liked.

On to the entertainment - I am not one for it really (not abroad anyway!) but the Riu animation team were superb for our children, bits and bobs of things during the day (not in your face) and shows of an evening (Grease etc...) They loved it, so they told me!

All in all we had a fabulous time in a superior hotel with the best food ever. I would say one thing, and this is only my opinion, the hotel is more suited for families during July/Aug as it was very busy with lots of children, if you are a couple I think May/June/Sept would be just perfect.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Steven & Kath
14 years 2 months ago
The hotel itself was very nice. After initial problem with 1 of our parties room suffering from a bad smell, we were moved as a party to alternative rooms which were fine.

We had a problem with 1 of the waiters, which the bar manager resolved immediately.

Food was good to excellent, although only 1 'desert' station for a hotel of that size often lead to long queues.

Downsides were that the location of the hotel meant there was nowhere to go in the evenings, which was unfortunate as the entertainment whilst we were there was really poor. Being outside in the evenings was not really an option, as 4 of the 5 of us were constantly munched by mozzies.

Finally, the Thomson Rep was the least helpful we had ever met, and was sometimes rude.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Kay & Wayne Hall
14 years 3 months ago
After just returning all relaxed from this great hotel, we feel we must tell everyone how good it is.

The hotel is set in a very quiet and new resort which is not yet big on English tourism.

The reception area is lovely with fountains and tropical plants. The staff on reception are so helpful and they really can't do enough for you. We received two telephone calls in the week we were there from reception, checking that our bedrooms were satisfactory - which they were.

We would recommend requesting a sea view room as the view is fantastic. The bedrooms at the front of the hotel look over the car-park and on to new apartments and wasteland that is having building work taking place on it!

The food is excellent. We are both very fussy, as we do not eat a lot of meat and there was so much choice that we did not in anyway starve! It is all buffet style and there is a good variety with not many of the dishes repeated. The waiters/waitress's do not speak very good English so be patient-you do get what you want in the end. This goes for the whole of the Costa de la Luz, English is only briefly spoken, it's lucky we can speak Spanish otherwise we would have struggled.

Overall, the hotel is very clean, apart from some of the public areas, such as the toilets in reception and the indoor swimming pool-yuk!

The only complaint I have about the hotel is the cleanliness of the public-areas and that the pool area is very cramped with sunbeds. Although we did not struggle to find a sunbed you were very much like "Sardines in a can
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland direct

Recommended
Chris And Kelly
14 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the hotel for our Honeymoon and we were very impressed at the high standard. On arrival we were given complimentary champagne and an upgrade to a sea view room.

The staff were helpful and friendly and always said "hello". It was nice to have the main staff introduce themselves at our welcome meeting, which made it feel more personal.

The food is a very high standard - spoilt for choice! The only down point was the evening entertainment which wasn't very good and as the hotel is in a quiet location, there were few places to escape in the evening!

All in all a lovely hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Matty Allen
14 years 6 months ago
I have stayed at the Riu Atlantico several times and always go back there.
As with all Riu hotels I have stayed at they are spot on.

The food is excellent, the service is second to none and the price (including my Riu Club Card) is very reasonable.

We are staying again in September this time with our baby daughter and have no reservations about our stay.

I would advise anyone to make this your preference when visiting Isla Canela Half/full board (or hire our apartment for self catering!!)

Riu = class all over the world.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Own

Recommended
Colin Matthews
15 years 1 month ago
I have stayed here on numerous occasions, everything about the hotel is fine, but I must say the rooms look very tired and could do with new furniture.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Thomas
15 years 2 months ago
The hotel was excellent. The staff friendly & very helpful. Any problems were resolved very quickly. The food was fantastic - such a wide variety & as much as you wanted to eat.

We could not fault the hotel facilities, staff, food or the area.
We also had a trip to Seville which is not to be missed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson Holidays

Recommended
Liz & Bill Hawkins
15 years 2 months ago
The Riu Atlantico has to be the best hotel we have stayed in. The moment you step through the doors of the hotel and into the spectacular reception area you can see and feel the superior quality and friendliness of the hotel and its staff. High standards of cleanliness are apparant throughout the hotel all times of day and night, the food was great and the service was second to none, ALL the staff were smiling and friendly towards guests and each other (always a good sign). Entertainment was varied and good especially the themed nights which was carried through into the restaurant through its excellent, wide and varied choices of food, the tastefull decoration of the area leading into the restaurant and the costumes worn by the staff. There were also area's for guests who did not want to be entertained to simply relax, chat and enjoy the surroundings. The location suited us as it was quiet with no major shops other than a couple of supermarkets and gift shops but it is developing. The sea on one side and the harbour on the other made for pleasant strolls both day and night. A hotel we would definitely visit again and again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.