Image of Best Sol d Or Hotel

Best Sol d Or Hotel

2 of 3 hotels in La Pineda

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
Camí del Racó, S/N, 43840 Salou, Spain

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tracy
Brilliant holiday!
8 years 6 months ago


We arrived at hotel while the World Cup final was on and, when Spain won, the atmosphere was absolutely electric. Good mixture of people in hotel from Holland, Spain, France, Russia and the odd British & Irish person. Everybody was very friendly and just got on with enjoying their holiday.

We were half board and got up next morning to first experience of dining room, pretty well organised by Vincente & Maria, plus delicious fresh omelettes & pancakes cooked while you wait and a great variety of cereals, cheeses, breads, cooked foods etc. Coffee machine sometimes busy but always managed to get a couple of cups down us. There's also champagne at breakfast if that's your thing. Same at dinner time there is such a good selection of meat, veg, etc and always a few cooked right there in front of you. We decided to pay extra for all inclusive for the last 5 days of our stay and it was well worth it, considering on half board we had to pay for drinks at dinner, in the evening & any snacks etc which tends to mount up. Just wish we'd done it earlier.

The hotel is in an excellent location, just a few mins walk from beach (past the Golden Donaire) and about 15 mins walk from Aquopolis (got 2 days for price of 1 which was great value). You can easily get a bus to Salou & Portaventura, not far from the hotel.

The entertainment staff were brilliant, they worked so hard and did their best to involve everyone although they were not at all pushy. If you didn't want to join in then that was fine.

The bar staff were also great, nothing seemed to be too much trouble, especially Maria who always had a smile & an Hola for you.

All in all we had a wonderful holiday and have booked to go back this year again. All inclusive for the whole two weeks this time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mandy
9 years 4 months ago
We have just returned from this hotel! We only booked a week before and had very little choice, and having read the reports, though the latest one was ages ago, we were slightly concerned! What a great holiday! Bars, shops and the Aquapolis Waterpark are along a spotlessly clean promenade parallel to the beach, just two minutes walk from the hotel! The hotel is spotlessly clean, we had two rooms with three beds in each, we were overlooking the pool area! No need to fight for sunbeds, there were plenty. There was a variety of nationalities at the hotel but they were all very friendly, and a lot of Spanish people take there holidays there which must be a compliment! The all-inclusive food was superb! Breakfast consisted of the usual british breakfast, including scrambled, boiled, poached or fried eggs! A chef made your fried eggs fresh on a griddle, cooked to your requirements, he also made omelettes at your request and had a constant flow of freh pancakes! Lunch and evening meals also had the chef doing burgers, hot dogs and a choice of meat or fish being cooked while you wait (the wait was sometimes tedious), this was all in addition to the usual hot buffet which always had a nice choice of meat, fish, chips, veg etc... The All-inclusive snacks, (burgers, hot dogs, chips, toasties, ice cream and lollies), were available from 10am-11pm at the bar! All-inclusive drinks were from 10am-11.30pm and included a couple of cocktails, nice quality drinks too! A pool table was available frr for all-inclusive guests! The entertainment wasn't the best, ut it wasn't bad! In 9 nights we had only one night where we could say it was total rubbish, and there was a mini disco every night! The animacion team worked hard, providing activities throughout the day! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Late Great Deals

Recommended
Gill Hughes
11 years 6 months ago
All in all a great holiday - but entertainment seriously lacking.

Okay if you have children under six, but you can only watch the little darlings for so long. After childrens time the music changes to pumping music more suited to 18-30 ibiza until midnight the clientel being mostly families and middle age drove people inside to escape the noise.

Leaving a handful to enjoy the so called music. The same when trying to relax around the pool during the day the same pumping music is played.

However a few visiting artists broke the mould a few nights.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ryan air/internet direct

Recommended
Louis & Tracy
13 years 3 months ago
If you are requiring a quiet holiday then this is not the hotel for you, our 1st room was over the pool area directly above the entertainment speakers, which burst into action at 10am and continued till midnight, no chance of a seista then.

After three days of complaining to the hotel staff our holiday rep got involved and we changed room, this was a beautifully peaceful room until the building work began at the site up the road, we think the hotel staff were having a joke!

Breakfast was tolerable, after the 1st night we ate out across the road at the Bowling, a lovely pub with good food (superb paella) excellent staff and great entertainment.

The only good thing about this hotel was its proximity close to the beach (which was excellent) and bus stops.

This is Not a hotel we will return to
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Karen Wild
13 years 3 months ago
We were really impressed with the friendliness of all the staff. On arrival we were greeted well & apologised that our room wasn`t available until later, however it was 11am. So we went over to Raco beach, which was only a few minutes away.

The room was very clean and was kept tidy on our 2 week stay there.

The buffet restaurant was excellent,catering for anyone.

The entertainment was a bit poor though, I think it was coming to the end of season, as we got told the hotel was closing soon for the season.

A very enjoyable stay here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunset

Recommended
David Dodson
13 years 5 months ago
Hotel very clean & tidy, reception staff plesent & helpfull.

Hotel restraunt was mad anyone would think people have never eaten before pushing into you also food was all the same every night and made us sick.

Hotel location was very good with only a few yards to the beach.

Entertainment was rubbish never heard anything like it played the same tape every night heard KISS KISS twice on most nights.

We will not be visiting again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Paul
13 years 5 months ago
Rooms cleaned every day. Pool cleaned every day.

We found a good choice of food with full english,fruit,pancakes etc of a morning and a selection of meat and fish dishes on an evening also pasta ,chips even fish fingers and chicken nuggets some days.

The entertainment was basic but our kids loved it. Ideal for 8 to 9 year olds and younger. We spent a lot of time around the hotel as the few shops and bars were a bit of a walk so if we returned we would probably go all inclusive.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: a1

Recommended
Mrs Hodkinson
13 years 6 months ago
On arriving at the hotel we was made to wait 1 hour and 45 minutes as a group of 50 spanish school children were being booked in, our room was on the 3rd floor over looking the pool.

The food was repetative as was the taped music, but the hotel staff, waiters and maids were very pleasant and very helpfull, me and my mum were the only 2 english people in the hotel but we was made welcome by all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

John O Brien
13 years 7 months ago
Hotel was fine, clean and tidy.

Food very good. Nice place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Internet

Recommended
Paul
14 years 3 months ago
Stayed in this hotel in early September 04.

The hotel was quite clean, but the house keeping was on a whole quite basic.

The food was very bad, the choice on offer was typically Spanish made to be British (not very good) the entertainment was very poor it sounded as if they had only one CD that they played over and over again.

The drink prices seem to change every time you buy a round, but we did manage to find some lovely places if you just venture out of the hotel.

The Bees Knees across the road was lovely very friendly staff and good food, 10/10.

Will not be coming back again!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunset

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum