Image of Port Aventura

Port Aventura Holidays

3 out of 5 from 41 reviews
One of Spain's most popular water parks, the Portaventura Aquatic Park offers a combination of rides, shops and restaurants and even a hotel for the hardcore water fun fan. Located near Salou and La Pineda, visitors to the park can ride its many water slides, take a raft trip or relax by the wave pool that laps onto Bahama Beach. Children are well catered for with a Caribbean-themed playground as well as the slides while there is a choice of four hotels and even a caravan park to stay in. Daily shows also take place in the water park's six themed areas which cover everything from the Polynesian region to the Wild West.

Hotels in Port Aventura, Spain

Image of El Paso Hotel
1 of 2 hotels in Port Aventura
44 Reviews
Image of Port Aventura Hotel
2 of 2 hotels in Port Aventura
37 Reviews

41 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    20
  • Good
    10
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    5

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Wilkinson Family
10 years 3 months ago
We were there for a week and went to the water park once and the beach club once. Both were very, very good - with excelent facilities. Free towels at the beach club were good, but when I went out to go to the local supermarket - 10 mins up the cliff side stairs, I wasn't allowed back in with my provisions (which were for later on anyway). This attitude disappointed me, although I understood that they wanted you to buy their food and drink. The reality was if I had had a large rucksack and had my wine and water in there, they would have been none the wiser - don't try to bring shopping in white carrier bags, else you'll have to leave it at the gate. To be fair, I did get it back at the end of the day. Regarding the theme park itself - great rides, great layout, great choice of food and plenty of it. The Mexican Canteena was good especially with the floorshow. The bubble show was our 3 year old's favourite. The only down side is our daughter is on the small side (96cm) and they are really strict with the measuring. There were many 'family' rides which needed the child to be 100cm, so she didn't get on. However, we enjoyed ourselves that much that we've already booked up again for next year.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Derek
10 years 5 months ago
Salou itself was very busy and we still regard it as one of Spain's Blackpool areas so would only recommend you pop down to say you have been and for any necessities as the hotel only stock limited supplies,this will also save you on park prices
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Adrienne
10 years 5 months ago
The nearest resort to Portaventura is Salou and while i enjoy the Universal resort the town of Salou is a little less inviting. It is typical of any spanish resort town, full of drunks and very seedy in some areas. especially after about 10 in the evening, however there are some nice little cafe/bars in the main street where you can go and have an evening coffee or glass of wine/beer. Also there are some very cheap little boutiques where you can buy next years summer clothes at very good prices. Amd there are very efficient taxi ranks with spotless taxis that will take you to and from your hotel at a very reasonable rate. The last time we were there I think it was only about six euros. All in all a very enjoyable family holiday with something for all of us. See you Soon
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
David King
10 years 7 months ago
The Portaventura park is great with plenty of rides and super shows.
Don't miss the 'China Town' show. Astounding!!
Be prepared for gangs of Spanish children 'que jumping' which seems to be accepted by the locals and is frowned upon if you make a fuss about it!
The Water park and exclusive Beachclub are good.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Cath
10 years 7 months ago
ok wou;dnt go again blackpool in the sun
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Suzanne Moore
10 years 7 months ago
Park is brill,lots of rides and parrot show was excellent. Beach really clean and patrolled by police.we recommend paying for a sunbed (7 euros each)you can get away with 2 for 2 adults and 2 kids.

Town is nice,lots of gift shops,but watch out for pushy shopkeepers,they pull kids in shops to try things on!!

Just say no thanks and walk on.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Smith
11 years 2 months ago
The El Paso is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from Salou. Train buses run regularly to the resort and back. I am not a fan of Salou. It is full of the usual souvenir shops and British bars. It does have a lovely beach and promenade though. We went to Cambrils for a trip and that was lovely, real old Spanish town with lots of character. Visited the Aquapolis water park on its last day of the season and it was filthy. The toilets were stinking and the water wasn't to clean. It had obviously been let to run down for the end of season but the place was packed and they only had one shop open and that was only selling bottles of coke and greasy chips and burgers and even that ran out. There was a real problem with flies here to.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Steve Shaw
11 years 3 months ago
salou it self was quite good the beech was clean and the resturants werfe good
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Stuart
11 years 4 months ago
Again the security at the Port Aventura was nil.A bit scary in these times!!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Chris
11 years 4 months ago
Port Aventura
This depends on what is meant by 'the resort' If it is Port Aventura, well it isn't really a resort as such it is one 5* hotel and two 4* hotels, a theme park and a water park. It doesn't have a beach. It's clean and the parks and hotels are your entertainment and they are brilliant. That is why I have given them a rating of 4.

Salou
If it's Salou. We it isn't my cup of tea. I did actually go there one evening on this holiday, which is more than I did the first time we went to Port Aventura for a week. We had a stroll along the promenade by the fountains which was lovely and actually much nicer than I thought it would be. (Just goes to show you shouldn't make assumptions really) Also had cocktails in a very upmarket bar at one end of the prom. Although more expensive than in London! Guess you get what you pay for.

Still wasn't impressed with the main part of the resort, which we saw whilst being driven round on the bus that took us from our hotel out at Port Aventura to the hotel's private beach club. Too many concrete high rises for my liking. Totally devoid of any charm. I guess it might feel different is you were actually staying in one and I would imagine there is plenty of entertainment in resort loads of bars, restaurants and icecream parlours. The beach looked nice but it was 10pm. LOL.

The family we were on holiday went in on there last morning to shop. They thought the shopping was disappointing. They were looking for surfer makes of clothes, quicksilver, billabong and similar which were more expensive than the UK. They reported the main beach to be packed like Sardines. I think we saw the beach at Cap Salou but this may be considered a different resort. It was smaller but not too crowded and more of a cove. I would have prefered that.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Port Aventura Hotel
Port Aventura Hotel
Port Aventura, Spain
I am Mrs Fussy when it comes to hotels but this on…
Image of El Paso Hotel
El Paso Hotel
Port Aventura, Spain
The El Paso was virtually faultless!!I do not know…
Other popular destinations
Image of Benidorm
Benidorm
Costa Blanca
Image of Salou
Salou
Costa Dorada
Image of Alcudia
Alcudia
Mallorca
Image of Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico
Gran Canaria
Image of Puerto Del Carmen
Puerto Del Carmen
Lanzarote
Image of Corralejo
Corralejo
Fuerteventura
Image of Palma Nova
Palma Nova
Mallorca
Image of Caleta De Fuste
Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura
Image of Fuengirola
Fuengirola
Costa Del Sol