Image of Lighthouse Hotel

Lighthouse Hotel

3 of 5 hotels in Ortakent

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Kargi Plaji Ortakent Yahsi, Ortakent 48400, Turkey
Located on a quiet bay, just moments from Ortakent beach, this impressive hotel boasts stunning sea views and modern decor. Set within landscaped gardens, guests can relax in the sun with dips in the pools and drinks from the poolside bar.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Morris
13 years 2 months ago
We arrived at the hotel in anticipation of what to expect. All was well with an excellent layout and everywhere always kept clean and tidy. We are very fussy about food and hygiene and we were very pleased with our breakfasts which had lots of choice cereal fruits etc, and on alternate days omelettes,pancakes,eggy bread,fried eggs etc.

We did a turkish night at the hotel and the dancers were very good and the food was excellent.

Our two children Emma 13 Adam 16 enjoyed the holiday even though their is no activity club on site. However their are lots for them to do. Pool, table tennis and on the beach front many water sports etc. The sea views from all rooms are spectacular. We found the staff to be very helpfull.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
ALISON VAUGHAN
14 years ago
Lovely location, great staff but a problem with them not speaking English. The hotel does not have any atmosphere but that should come in time.

Rooms clean and tidy and both pool areas very good although there could be a problem in peak season with the lack of sun beds /umbrellas. Food at Vira's and Jimmy's very good and also in the snack bars on Camel beach. Hotel pool bar food was well presented and adequate but hotel prices for drinks /food etc. are horrendous.

We saw no sign of truncheon wielding security guards but the hotel is quite strict about bringing in outside bought food and drink. Penny, our First Choice resort rep. very helpful and we had a wonderful time on all the trips out that we did.

The turkish bath was a laugh..a real experience if you've never had one before (which we had). All in all we were very happy there and would go again...in off-peak season though.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended
Aimee Layfield
14 years 2 months ago
We originally had booked with First Choice to go bed and breakfast but changed to half board a couple of days in to our holiday as it was about a 20 minuet walk to the other tavernas, which we did not want every night in the heat.

There is a beach bar but does not have all that much choice, still haveing said that it was fine for a bit of lunch, or a light snack.

The hotel cleanliness was second to none with the maid (ayeseiure) who was lovely and worked very hard in the heat leaving our room spotless and fresh each morning, although there was no window or fan in the bathroom so the floor did become slippy and very stuffy easily.

The hotel did tend to cater for more exotic tastes, but still had stuff like spegetti baolgnase and fresh bread each morning and evening. The staff all love children and are VERY family orintated which was lovely, the staff were always trying to put a smile on the childrens faces.

Although it was quite a big hotel the staff tried to make it a family environment, and i learnt all there names when saying hello which made it more personal, this was the first time I felt really sad to leave and have missed there cheary faces.

I can not wait to go back! The entertainment is ok for smaller children as they have "theamed" nights which looked good, but maybe children aged 10-12 may find there is not that much to do. All of the balconeys (can differ dramatically in size) have a lush sea veiw of the greek island of Kos in the distance.

However as the hotel is B&B or Half board the manager does expect you to buy all food and water from the complex (although this is not cheap normally double the price of the shops outside the complex, and you are not alloud to take it in to your room, although it is slightly confusing that a fridge is supplyed although nothing can be kept in it... BEWEARE security guards do have an alterior motive and that is to confiscate any food or water bought outside the complex untill your departure, this seems totatly obseen as it was 45 degrees and no shade. But yes this is true.

I have to give the reception staff a mention as language can be a bit of a barrier with some understanding little english, still try there best and are very helpfull to a certain extent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
DAvid Clark
14 years 3 months ago
Newish hotel spoilt by staff.

This hotel looks very good and has wonderful views across Camel Beach. However maintenance of the hotel was poor both in rooms and general area. It took two days to get the phone in the room and the door lock repaired only after a significant row with the manager.

Areas of decking around the lower pool was broken and no-one seems to care. The management have hired security guards (some with truncheons) to stop and search people with bags and towels to ensure that no-one is smuggling food and drinks into their overpriced hotel. "Guilty" people are escorted with their goods to reception.

The First Choice rep told us that we were not supposed to be searched but this went on throughout the holiday. We had WATER we wanted to chill in our room overnight consficated when the management knew that we needed it because were on an all day excursion to Ephesus.

One day the cleaners had not entered the room at all with little attention to cleaning the sink and toilet on the other days.

Breakfast was good buffet with choice of hot and cold dishes and the beachside restaurant provide freshly cooked and well presented food. I can't comment on the entertainment or the main restaurant for evening meals
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Kate
14 years 3 months ago
On arrival at the hotel the check-in procedure was extremely un-organised and took nearly an hour which was a bit much!!

The hotel itself was set in a beautiful, quiet location overlooking the sea.

The cleanliness was generally very good, however in our bathroom the shower plug-hole was blocked with gunk and hair - urgh!!!

The food buffet at breakfast and dinner offered a good selection, but very little for vegetarians.Drinks with your evening meal and from the pool & beach bars were quite expensive.

The staff were generally friendly, however those on reception did not speak very fluent English at all. The whole scenario of having security guards on the beach and outside the hotel to check that you were not bringing in food & drinks from outside the hotel was a bit much - completely un-necessary.

Predominantly a mostly German orientated hotel with very few Brits!!

There was some evening entertainment - Turkish nights, bingo etc but we generally went out most evenings anyway.
I would possibly visit the hotel again if it came up on a good deal!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Valerie
14 years 4 months ago
For a new Hotel I expected all the rooms to be in tip-top condition but having to change rooms three times because of one thing and another not so. I still had a shower room full of water for 2 weeks.

It does have stunning views and the staff are very friendly.

Breakfast had omeletes made to order but not always with fillings,toast,boiled eggs, fruit tea, coffee, and more. Never had any other food.

They never seem to have enough sun beds about 28 when we counted when we left. Even though it was the beginning of the season they were not ready. Around the bottom pool area the floor is wooden decking looks nice but provides lots of splinters, need to keep shoes on.

I'd like to say that lots of the rooms were nice we just didn't get one.

The Hotel has a strict rule no food or drink in the rooms if found they will confiscate and returned to you when you leave.

Advertised was sauna, Turkish Bath etc, but not finished when we were there even though it was there, last year we were told.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Julie & Carl
14 years 4 months ago
The Hotel opened with a few problems but the staff are very keen to help to but anything right.

The hotel added more sun beds while we were there but there are still not enough and the decking does give you bad splinters.

The food got better as the days went on and in the second week they started to cook pasta or a hot sweet while you waited and also they cooked outside turkey, fish or keebabs on a barbeque.

The hotel is in a stunning setting the only moan was that to get to the village where there are a few shops and places to eat you have to walk along the beach and along an unmade path, so ladies don't take high heel shoes and take a torch.

The bus for Bodrum stops right outside the hotel and goes every half an hour and was 2.25 lire.

The hotel staff are friendly but the reception staffs' English was not great.

The entertainment was very poor and the young staff like to play loud music on the beach which was a pain. Drink in the hotel was also very expensive compared to the village.

We had a very relaxing holiday and would consider going again as the place is lovely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
ANNE MCARDLE
14 years 4 months ago
The hotel is set on a hill overlooking the sea, the view is really wonderful.

I agree with the previous reviewer about the reception staff's lack of English except one girl, but they tried to be helpful. We did have a issue about a upgrade for our room booking and tried to get things sorted but the Reception Manager was very unhelpful and couldn't care less, although it was their fault the booking was wrong.

We went into Bodrum a couple of times where there are a variety of restaurants and plenty of shops, just round the bay from the hotel you can eat in a few restaurants. The best we found was Vira's the set menu was very good value, but it would be repetitive if you went there a lot,

All in all it was a enjoyable holiday. We found prices higher than our last visit to Turkey 4 years ago.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended
Caroline
14 years 11 months ago
The Lighthoouse Hotel in Ortakent.

Newly opened in July of 2005 hadn't quite found its feet by the time we arrived (1st week in October, added to the fact that the seaso0n was almost over by the time we arrived!

The staff numbers were minimal and quite young but strived to please the guests as much as possible. The hotel itself is beutifully situated on the side on a steep hill, with fantastic views over a small bay and onto the islands of Rhodes and Kos in the distance.

Comprising of 5 floors each with its own redeeming features and very nice gardens. As it was so new(we were the first people to stay in our room)it was all prestine, we really could not fault the room at all. Air con worked fine, TV channels fair, bathroom clean and well appointed and hot water all day...(there was only 200 of us staying...what it will be like when they are fully booked remaines to be seen).

Our only gripe was the food ...sorry! Buffet breakfast was lovely with loads of fresh fruit and omelettes to order. The dinner was not so nice....meatballs, meatballs, meatballs...no sign of steak, kebabs or koftas, no fish or chicken.

Hot vegetable dishes were very strange and I have to say virtually inedible. ( I have a varied diet and am willing to eat anything but this was not at all good!)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
15 years 1 month ago
We were actually the first British Tourists to stay in this hotel(August 2005) we found the hotel to be stunning a perfect setting, our rooms were excellent very modern with lovely sea views maid service was also good.

We stayed half board and found the food to be top notch with the barbeque nights a favourite the steaks were superb.

We basically had the whole upstairs pool to ourselves as it had just opened, the staff were quite poor to be honest though we gave them a chance as they were still finding their feet and should improve with expeirence, some only spoke broken English and if the hotel was full it would have been a nightmare.

The manager we found to be very helpfull and a nice guy he would try to make you feel very welcome, overall a good hotel and I would return again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Ortakent

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.