Image of Medisun Hotel

Medisun Hotel

4 of 5 hotels in Ortakent

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
4 stars
Oyder Cad 8, Yahsi Yalisi, Ortakent, Turkey

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Karen Bennett
12 years ago
Had 5 rooms in total, 3 were located at back of hotel on ground floor, which was poorly lit and surrounded by waste ground. Arrived at 4.30am so went straight to bed. The following morning we went to check out facilities and had something to eat. The public toilets near the dining room were out of action (a regular occurrence all week) so my friend went to his room to use that one. His room had been broken into and his wife's bag containing passports, cash and credit cards and a small amount of jewellery had gone but a camera, mobile phone and camcorder left. The theft was reported to reception who called the Police. They were 'advised' to report it as a 'loss' rather than a theft as it would speed the replacement.

The food was repetitive, chicken nearly every meal every day! And once it was gone it wasn't replenished. One night was barbeque and even though evening meal was until 9.00pm the meat ran out at 8.15 and that was it.

We also got talked into going for a meal at the Meysun which is the beach bar that gives free soft drinks until 5.00pm. We were promised free salads and other extras but when we received the bill we had been charged for all the free extras! Including 40 lira for a bottle of house red!! When we challenged Ali he told us it was a mistake but didn't offer a refund just told us to come back and we could have free drinks if we had another meal.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
12 years 1 month ago
we stayed at this hotel 5 years ago and standards are very poor compared to then, we had to pay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunmaster

12 years 3 months ago
The Medison has vastly improved since we were there two years ago.
We were shown by Volkan the manager, to a newly refurbished room. The owner is refurbishing the hotel gradually, next year it will be the bathrooms, which are going to be replaced with shower cubicles.
The food consists of the usual Turkish breakfast. Lunch was two hot dishes with veg. soup which was always good, and an array of salad and mezes. Not to mention the lovely Turkish sweets.
Dinner was the same, but with a different menu.
Kazim was the manager/head waiter in the restaurant, and he really did a good job. He looked after his guests as friends,
On reception there was Emine who was a lovely little young lady who was trying to learn English. Derya is the owners daughter, and I can't thank her and her father enough for helping us.
Volkan is the Hotel manager, and he is a godsend to the place. Nothing is too much trouble, just ask him and he will provide, if it is at all possible.
The bar staff were very new to their jobs, and need a little more training. But all were pleasant enough.
The drinks were limited to beer, local wine, vodka, gin, water, soft drinks, tea and coffee. After 11.00pm you had to pay.
On the whole, the Medisun as now a lovely hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Sam
12 years 11 months ago
the front of hotel and pool area are clean but the rooms were not cleaned hardly unless you say that putting in a loo roll counts as the room done!! the seal around the bath/shower didn't do anything to stop the river of water flowing around the bathroom which then had to be mopped up with copius amounts of loo roll!! the beds and sheets etc would be fine if you were stone drunk everynight and could sleep anywhere, what ever you do don't take off the pillowcase, i have thrown out cleaner pillows to the dump! i came home with such a bad neck i think i need an oesteopath! while contemplating going to bed if you decided to sit out on the patio at the back of your room (very dark) no outside lights, a few large rodents wondered around no doubt late back from their late night excursion from the drains! take a torch with you! As for the food if you can call it that more like the slop buckets that you think they have in prison whoever dreamt up spagetti with battered fish (no Jamie Oliver recipe books) we couldn't stand it any longer and went to Jimmy's for our evening meals. terrible entertainment but staff friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hayes

13 years 2 months ago
We stayed in the Hotel Medisun,Staff were Brilliant apart from Russell or Rasal as some folk call him could think of a few more names but will leave it there,All other staff so friendly and funny including the manager.Turkish Bath at Hotel is not to be missed Fab.Food was same just about every day at Lunch and Dinner if you like Meatballs and Rice your sorted.Definetly go back to Hotel but they need to sort out their Food Menu and A/I policy as dont see the point of going A/I and having to fork out for Toast,Omelette,Fresh Orange at Breakfast.And pay for Drinks other than Vodka,Raki,Lager,Also need to pay for Tea/Coffee in the morning before Resturant opens.Again lovely Hotel,Quiet,Friendly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Imperial Travel

Recommended
Sally Hawkins
13 years 10 months ago
we arrived at this hotle at 6 in the morning had no trouble getting our room and was informed that the bar was open for drinks....
when we got our rooms they were down stairs and as it was dark when we arrived we just wanted to sleep so didn't really get a chance to ahve a good look. when we woke up the sun was shining what a change, we opened the balcony door to be greeted by a wall covered in water which was pushed down from the pool area. we went to reception and informed that we weren't happy with rooms so they sorted new ones for us but explained that they could sort one the next day then another the day after.... no problems there they were very very helpful. mum & dad got their room which had a great view of the pool, ours the next day still wasn't what we liked so they gave us another one with out any problem what so ever.... fantastic staff.....

food was good but i have to admit we did go out for a few meals only because dad didn't like all the food...

entertainment, the turkish night was good ...
we did a boat trip organised by the holiday rep and this was absolutely brilliant and well worth it .....
ortakent it's self is beautiful and we will go back
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hotelsforyou

Recommended
Jo Heath
13 years 10 months ago
Me and a friend (we are both 20) went out to Ortakent because we wanted a holiday that was near to the nightlife of Bodrum and Gumbet, but wasn't in the centre as it can be quite loud there. We loved every minute of the holiday, especially the Good Morning Medisun greeting we got around the pool every morning.

Food was great, and I had read that if you don't get there early there wont be any food left but that is absolute rubbish. We got to breakfast every day about 9.30, as we were usually not in til about 2am, and there was plenty of food left. They continually bought out fresh plates / platters of the food avaliable. Lunch was good as there was a different hot selection to chose from every day, as well as loads of nice salads, hams, cheeses etc and nice hot soup. Dinner was lovely, I can be qute fussy with food but I tried a bit of everything most nights and loved nearly all of it. There is also a snack bar during the day if your more into plain english chips and burgers, which all seemed nice but we didnt try those.

The area itself is nice and quiet, although there are bars along the beach (which is about a 2 minute walk form the hotel) if you want some more nightlife. The beach itself was also nice, with sunbeds and umbrellas provided for free. Not sure how it is in the height of the season as it may be busier but we easily got a sunbed when we wanted one.

Overall, I would say I would go back here again most definatly. Was a great place, great staff (as long as you make it clear you're not like some of the other english girls they are used to) and amazing food. Would recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Right Holidays

Recommended
Scott
13 years 11 months ago

We stayed for 2 weeks. (2 adults & 2 children). It was our first All Inclusive holiday and therefore not able to compare to any others.

THE STAFF... (apart from the animation team) were brilliant and could not have been more kind and were extremely helpful. The guys on reception spoke fairly good English. A couple of the waiters spoke English (Sedat and Savas) and treated us well. They were always getting our drinks at mealtimes and joking around with our two children.

ROOM...Our 1st room overlooked another balcony and so we asked to change. We were given a choice of two others and we moved to one overlooking fields. It was attended to by cleaners every day. ie sheets made into patterns on our beds, clean towels, loo rolls etc. It was difficult to say if they actually did "clean" the room though! All the rooms have balconies or terraces.

ANIMATION TEAM... eeeek! This was the worst part of the holiday for us. They let the hotel down big time. Russell is a total waste of space. I would even go as far as saying that he is unfriendly and he doesnt enjoy his job. Aqua gym is a joke. I did it on the first day then not again. Darts..the board fell apart! Water polo..no apparent rules, Russell just blows his whistle every now again!!
The animation team girl wanders around and I only ever saw her with young Turkish children. I guess she is supposed to be a kids club person but who knows??
With a couple of good enertainment people there could be a good kids club and there are the facilities for the children to actually do something. Our children (8 & 7) had to amuse themselves as there was nothing laid on for kids whatsoever...shame. (apart from the 9.30 kids disco which was awful and perhaps more suitable for 5 yr olds)

MUSIC... Too loud all day around the pool!

FACILITIES... Great pool. Its deep. Small kids pool. Theres an unused pool bar attached to the pool. They should make that into a spa pool as at the moment its just an empty hole! Dodgey table tennis table, tennis court, dart board, gym and turkish bath (never saw or used either)
There is plenty of space around the pool and so the hotel should really provide more sun beds and parasols as not enough for everyone.

EVENING ENTERTAINMENT...Turkish Night was ok with a good belly dancer.
Snake night as it was 5 liras each we didnt go. We were also told it wasnt worth it for 10 mins and Russell taking photos to sell to you!

FOOD...Breakfast wasnt too great. plenty of boiled eggs (3 min & 5 min) but the 3 min ones were still hard boiled!! Other than that we found the food was great. Loads to choose from and lovely puddings! Our children tried everything and enjoyed it too.
Chips, burgers, pizzas etc at the snack bar.

OTHER...Dedeman Aquapark very good. We found it was cheaper to go through rep than direct. 33lira for adults 23lira for children.
Day boat trip very good.

Overall a plesant time was had and I would recommend this hotel. We wont go back purely on the basis that there are many other places to visit around the world to keep on returning to the same place.

Enjoy your holiday!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: bookable holidays

Recommended
Mike
14 years 2 months ago
We planned a short break at this hotel prior to visiting our normal resort of Bitez. Had we been aware how good the hotel was, we would probably have stayed the full 10 nights there. The staff were excellent, no query or enquiry was too much trouble, and was attended to very quickly. Reception staff, bar staff and restaurant staff were friendly and obliging.

The hotel rooms are a good size, with twin beds, kept clean on a daily basis, Linen and towels were changed regularly (twice in the 4 days we were there)Again, a request for cover sheets and extra pillows was attended to immediately.

As my partner has mobility problems, she had difficulty getting into the bath/shower, A step was made available to her by reception staff. One word of caution, the beds are very firm, as are the pillows, and the beds have a wooden lip at the bottom, which are very easy to bump into.
The food was typically Turkish. Salads, meats, cheeses, and specialist salad mixes and mezes were plentiful, and fresh and tasty.

The soups (as almost always in Turkey)were excellent and hot, and the fresh bread each day was, as usual, lovely. The hot dishes ( 2 or 3 choices per meal) were hot and tasty, by and large, but would not appeal to anyone wanting steak and kidney pie or other typically English food.Overall the standard of the food was very good.

There were snack options by the pool bar in the afternoons, though we did not try them.

The pool was quite large, kept very clean, but quite cool (very refreshing in the hotter months)
The bar drinks (served from 10.00am until 23.00) were plentiful, and served in proper glasses, not the plastic beakers often found in AI hotels. Overall the bar was a pleasant experience.

We are unable to comment on the entertainment, as we were only there for a short stay, but the staff and Turkish nights were recommended to us. Unfortunately they were not on while we were there. Russell, however, did his best to encourage dancing and enjoyment in the bar in the evenings.
The hotel has been undergoing an update and refurbishment of the buildings, with the addition of balconies for upper floor rooms, and a fenced patio area for ground floor rooms, and there was still some alterations at the back of the hotel being carried out. These did not intrude too much on our stay.

The hotel is rated as a 4 star hotel. It would probably achieve a 3 star rating at present, although the improvements being carried out will do much to address this.

Overall, we found the hotel to be very clean and pleasant. It would be very suitable for holidaymakers wanting a fairly quiet location, although within easy reach of the bars and restaurants at the beach front.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum
Popular hotels in Ortakent

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.