Image of Lizo Pension Hotel

Lizo Pension Hotel

5 of 8 hotels in Kalkan

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
2 stars
Milli Egemenlik Cadesi | Kalamar Yolu, Kalkan 07960, Turkey
The Lizo Pension is owned by husband and wife, Mehmet and Gulsen and they have been working with British guests for the past 11 years. The cosy atmosphere here is what attracts the majority of guests, it is easy to feel at home.

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kevin And Julie
Great friendly clean hotel. Excellent all round
7 years 1 month ago
We have stayed at the Lizo Pension Hotel several times now and could not recommend it enough. It is very clean, friendly and you feel like part of the family. The food is excellent and it is great value for money. We always see people who are returning. We have meet loads of friends at Lizo.

Well done Ali, Sarah and family. You make your own entertainment. They have three special menu nights a week which are excellent. The management go the extra mile to make your holiday special.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel In The Crown

Hotel tip: Most rooms have excellent views and are very clean. Food is excellent, we have never had a bad meal in all the time we have been going.

Recommended
A
12 years 11 months ago
room we stayed in not the one shown in brouchure when we booked. A grotty little room that backed onto the minute swimming pool.Could not have door open when in room as all round pool loooked straight into room. The shower you had to hold in your hand as it was not fixed on the wall while you washed, and you had to stand in the shower tray which was in front of the sink and stand in it to use the toilet which was at the other side.No shower curtain, so everything was soaking wet, even the toilet roll and door. We asked for another room but was told it was full up, yet people left day after but we got no room change. We were not the only ones here that were not very happy.On the back of door is a sign saying no food or drink to be brought in from outside, so for a week we had to hide our water which we bought from down the road as it was half the price Ali charged. If your face fits here you will be alright. Liked Kalkan but would definitely not return to the Lizo Pension.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Alan
12 years 11 months ago
This is a small family ownwed business run 24hrs a day by the family and their dedicated staff. If you are looking for large rooms forget it. The rooms are basic but adequate and are kept very clean. The Lizo is situated about 10/15 minutes stroll from the village and is on a slight incline so some may find the walk back a little too much but a taxi from the village is a just couple of quid. The food is fantastic and the views from the roof top restaurant (and breakfast area) are superb. Restaurant prices are competative. Some may find prices for bottled drinks ect a little more expensive than local shops. They are but so what you're on holiday. You couldnt wish to meet a nicer family. They do all they can to help you enjoy your holiday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Jewel

Recommended
13 years 10 months ago
a basic pension not quite what the brochure described. small rooms with hardly any wardrobe or draw space.it was kept clean but the bed linen left a little to be desired. we found the breakfast was good and plentiful.we only had one evening meal and we where not impressed with it.the lizo is situated at the top of a very steep hill we got a taxi every day back from the beach and every night after we had eaten costing around four pounds each time.the staff where ok but not easily found when you needed them. the only entertainment to be found was in kalkan its self . we liked the restaurants and bars in kalkan but if you are looking for a cheep or reasonable priced holiday i cant recommend either the lizo or kalkan .we would not visit kalkan again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: jewel in the crown

Adelle And Odette
13 years 11 months ago
Nice friendly hotel, lovely people. Do not recommend the day trip to Meis - nothing to do there. Stay at the hotel instead and enjoy Ali's special cocktail or be more traditional and have a raki or two!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Jewel in the Crown

Recommended
Tilley
14 years 2 months ago
This is a family run hotel with a pool and roof terrace dining area.

A basic Turkish breakfast is served each morning (Jams Honey Olives Bread Cheese Tomatoes Cucumber) with the odd treat thrown in eggy bread boreks etc. The owner Ali is an excellent host who is concerned that his guests have a good time & he is very helpful if you have questions about places to go.

His mum does the cooking but don't be put off by that because everything she produced was excellent. The hotel has 3 theme nights a week barbecue, mezes & fish. We only went to the mezes night and the fayre was plentiful & good value for money. Other guests who attended the other nights were equally complimentary about what they received.

There is a small bar where the drinks are of similar price to the town bars.

All in all this is a fabulous place to go where a great time will be had!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in the Crown

Recommended
Tamsin & Graham
14 years 11 months ago
Great litle hotel with the friendliest staff in Kalkan
Ali- Sarah we'll be back again this August!
Typical Turkish breakfasts, great snacks and the bar is always a nice place to start the evening.
Nothing is too much trouble for the team and there is a really family feel.
BBQ night is fantastic
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in the Crown

Recommended
15 years 1 month ago
The Lizo is effectively run by Ali and his English girlfriend Sarah, although Ali's parents are still around in the kitchen and general housekeeping. Ali's English is excellent and he and Sarah are good company.

The rooms at the Lizo are fairly basic but very clean. I think the double rooms (as opposed to the twin rooms) have better views of Kalkan. There is a small pool which is good to use at the end of a hot day. The hotel is small with its restaurant and bar on the roof - breakfasts are also taken there. This contributes to the friendliness of the place as people mix over breakfast and over a drink at the end of the night.

Kalkan is a very hilly resort and the Lizo is at the top of a hill about 20 minutes walk from the centre. It can be a bit of a trawl, especially in the heat, but we never resorted to a taxi in the two weeks we were there so it can't be that bad! Taxis from the centre are around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Jewel in the Crown

Recommended
Julia
15 years 10 months ago
We stayed at the Lizo pension having booked with Jewel in the Crown in July. We believe we got a great deal and were very happy with the accommodation. We could have spent more and stayed in one of the other hotels but I don't beleive we would have had a better time.

The room was small but clean with individual modern air con (no of that old rattly stuff) There were extra pillows and always hot water available not like big hotels where it runs out if you have a late shower.

The pool was clean and welcoming after a day out, there was always a choice of sunbeds.

The best thing about the Lizo is the friendly atmosphere, more like staying with friends than a hotel. Ali and Sarah couldn't do enough for us and the other guests. Thanks to Kirsti the Jewel in the Crown rep who was also lovely.

The only down side was the hill back to the hotel after eating a huge meal in the town. We walked may times and it was ok but we decided when we return next year we will use the taxis more often when it is very hot as they only charge 5 lira.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jewel in the Crown

Recommended
16 years ago
Yet another lovely holiday with Ali,Sarah,Memmet,Gulsen and Medine.
This lovely hotel is only a 2 star but it's standards are very high. The accomodation is arranged in three small blocks around a pool with the rooms having views either over the pool or down the hill over Kalkan town and the harbour(beautiful)
The rooms are keep amazingly tidy by Medine, who is always whizzing around doing something.

The food is excellent, it is really a strain to pull yourself away to eat in Kalkan (but with 130+ places to eat we had to try)Thank you Gulsen

You are made to feel very welcome from the minute you arrive and nothing is too much trouble.

We definately going back again next year, for the third time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.