Image of Samira Hotel & Apartments

Samira Hotel & Apartments

6 of 8 hotels in Kalkan

3 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
Mentese Mahallesi, Sehitler Caddesi, Kalkan 07960, Turkey

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lyn Bennett
Loved it!
10 years 1 month ago
My Husband and I loved this Hotel/Apartments. The grounds, pool area, bar and restaurants were extremely clean and well cared for, with the friendly staff not being able to do enough for you.

Clean towels and linen were regularly provided, with the rooms being spacious and comfortable. In the week we were there, the only entertainment was a Turkish evening on the Saturday of our arrival. Although we only caught the end of it, it appeared very good, and people told us it had been a great night.

The breakfast was very basic, with any extras, including orange juice, having to be paid for. However, the restaurant and snack bar provided very tasty food, at reasonable prices.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
Hotel is beautiful, cleaned daily, bedding/towels changed
every two days, nothing too much trouble. The whole place smelled lovely ... absolute pleasure to walk in to.
All the staff went out of their way to be helpful and were very friendly.
We ate at the hotel on a couple of occasions and the food was okay, snacks at lunch time were fine but evening meals were mediocre but handy if you couldn't be bothered dragging into the village. The Turkish evening was brilliant, great dancers, lots of food choice and good value for money.
For me the only down side was the location, the hotel is high on the hill, getting down not too bad but the journey back was horrendous. The courtesy bus runs 4 times a day but returns in the evening at 22.30 which is a little too early. Taxi fares very expensive especially as the Kas road is under construction so the taxis have to go long way round adding to the cost.
I think the hotel is far superior to other 3*, it really is deluxe and was a pleasure to stay in, I'd recommend to anyone who wasn't fazed by the location.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cooke

Recommended
Suzie
11 years 2 months ago
The Samira hotel in Kalkan is very clean, well presented and good value for money. Staff are efficient, a certain few have a tendancy to be pushy constantly trying to get you to eat there, also pushing you to purchase extras at breakfast and making you feel bad if yuo choose not to.

Very noisy in the evenings (up to midnight)particulary for rooms by the pool, early nights are not an option due to the music penetrating the bedrooms. For this reason only, I would personally not return, but for someone that enjoys lively evenings in the bar, this would be perfect.

The manager is extremely professional and obliging and the staff are on the whole friendly and fun and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Heath
11 years 4 months ago
The Samira Deluxe is beautiful. Set high on the hill side overlooking Kalkan the hotel was clean and very pretty. We had unlimited sun beds and the service of all staff was first class. Having had a problamatic 5 hour transfer with Yesil Dalyan it was wonderful to get to such a beautiful hotel. The return transfer never appeared despite the hotel receptionist and Manageress phoning and faxing for two days but they arranged a taxi for us and were mortified that we had been let down so badly. The cleanliness of the rooms was wonderful and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Jetline Travel

Recommended
Pat And George
14 years ago
This our 4th time here. Staff the same and a few new ones we did'nt know, Ali and Isman (I called him Happy as he was always smiling). Urgun, the manager is as always a man of many talents and knowledgeable too.

We had a room overlooking Pool which was nice, one drawback if you are a light sleeper is that the music is played very loudly, which didn't bother us too much, but should be lowered down a bit.

It is a very clean hotel and well maintained. Our a/c worked a treat (too cold for my hubby though!!!!!) shower was okay too, water quite hot too, so be careful (my friend scolded herself).

The Breakfast was typical Turkish and plentiful (bread is delicious) but be aware, they charge for extras now (breakfast bloke shouts out and asks if you want Fresh Orange Juice, Eggs and Bacon. Full English, but he does not tell you you have to pay for it!!!!!!.) a few people got caught out with that. The view from the breakfast rooftop is magnificent though.

The Pool area is a nice place to sunbathe and they have Bean Bags in the shade if you want to sit and have a rest from the hot sun. We did find it hard to do that this holiday as some people were using them to sit in the sun all day with even though there were free beds available!!!!!. Not fair really. The pool bar is very nice and Gunay (bar manager) keeps it shipshape.

All in all great hotel to stay in and very well positioned at top of Kalkan, being about a ten minute walk down to town. They have a restaurant at hotel called Bosphorous, which they push you to eat in on a daily basis (have already eaten there in past visit) which we found off putting, which we did tell Urgan and Gunay. We did eat at their other restaurant (Kosk) for our 25th Anniversary with our friends. It was a fantastic night and I must say that Urgan did us proud and the staff at Kosk too. They gave us wine and champagne on the house and we had fireworks and other customers eating there had sparklers and wished us a happy anniversary. Our friends who joint us for our second week got us a lovely cake which had a big candle cake on it which was more like a firework and our other friend had Gunay make us cocktail drinks for us. We had a fantastic time and we will never forget what these people and our friends did for us.

Kalkan is a lovely place to visit and we shall return in the near future.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
J Freeman
14 years ago
Weve been to Kalkan numerous times.

Hotel cleanliness superb. Location superb,attitude of bar staff[leaves a lot to be desired]ask them to take a drink,and they,ll take the the dearest drink available].

Visited in September lovely clean hotel [would we return ?]
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
14 years 3 months ago
Samira Hotel is a medium sized hotel which comprises around 30 hotel rooms and 20 self catering apartments. It is listed as 3 stars but far exceeds this, in my opinion. We stayed self catering, though we didn't cook anything. Our accommodation was large and airy, air conditioning unit in the main living area (would have been useful in the bedroom but we didn't find it too hot to sleep). Double bed, spacious wardrobe and two small drawers, clean and I think freshly painted for this season. Living area had two sofas, table and chairs, kitchen area with limited cooking utensils (only one pan), kettle, huge fridge. Small balcony which we didn't use as it attracted the sun all day and was a bit hot, was facing side road rather than pool area.

The staff were excellent, they really couldn't do enough for you. The main reception guy, Ergun, was most definitely in charge of everything. There was no need for a rep as he could help you with anything you needed to know. Bar and restaurant guys constantly checking you were okay, did you want a drink, is your sunbed in the right place, can I play you at table tennis? Pool area was lovely, lots of plants and fruit trees around the area, shaded seating areas and marvellous comfy leather bean bags if you wanted to keep out of the sun. There was also pool, table football and table tennis if you wanted it. The owners live there and are around but leave the staff to it. Nice lunctime menu with everything you could want from burgers and toasties to traditional turkish and a choice of pastas.

Nice lounge areas in the main reception and the hotel block with large screen television which was wheeled to the bar area for England footie matches.

It really was a beautiful place with the most perfect location. Just a stroll from the town centre.

We joined in the turkish night which was an absolute bargain at
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Blue Cruise

Recommended
Nwilson
15 years ago
This was a fantastic hotel. The hotel staff were fantastic, especially Guni the head bar man. He was forever doing card tricks with my son. All the staff can't do enough for you.

The hotel was always clean. At the bar as soon as you had finished your drink it was taken away, and they always had clean ashtrays.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
Ian & Tricia
15 years 4 months ago
Lovely grounds, views over the sea, and hotel, and helpful friendly staff. It's just a pity that it's almost at the top of the steep hill from the town, although the free shuttle bus is a help, when you can find the driver!
Our apartment was spacious enough I suppose, the living area was anyway, but the bedroom could have been laid out better. We could only open one of the wardrobe doors - the other door had a bedside cabinet jammed against it!
One downside of the apartment was that there was a nasty smell that you noticed when the windows were kept shut (when we went out). Once you opened them, it soon disappeared.
Oh yes, and the shower cubicle was on the small side. It was difficult to wash your feet!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Pa And George
16 years ago
This was our 3rd time at this hotel, we went with friends and had a great time.

This hotel is fantastic and would recommend it to anyone. It is in agood location and when you go upto the breakfast roof terrace, you have a wonderful view of the harbour and sea.

The pool area is a very relaxing place to be. The staff are very attentive and cannot do enough for you. Gooney is a great bloke and very good at his job and very funny too.!!!!! Urgan is also a great bloke and he too is good at his job. The big leather bean bags are a nice place to sit out of the sun and have a drink and read a good book.

The two restaurants that are owned by the hotel are both worth a visit, food very good. There are alot of good places to eat in Kalkan and there are too many to mention, b ut I will mwntion my most favourites, ODAKS, OZALPS, ADAM, PAMCAKE LADY,SOUP KITCHEN.

The Moonlight Bar is okay for a drink. Kalkan is a lovely little village with plenty of shops to browse around. The harbour is lovely day and night. It is quiet during the day, but it does come to life at night.

We are going back this Septemeber with two of our friends to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we cannot wait.

You will not be disappointed if you go here, we were'nt.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.